We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Stobo Castle

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Stobo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stobo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Stobo Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,018 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Stobo Castle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,018: English reviews
Fife
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There is nowhere like Stobo. If you want to know what it really feels like to relax you need to stay the night here, or preferable two! I've been coming every year for 10 years with my sister-in-law, usually for one night but this year was even more delicious; two nights! We stayed in Oriental suite this time. The decoration...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbmum
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your very informative review! I fully take on board all your points - the decoration of the Oriental Suite is being reconsidered, however I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the bathroom! Apologies for the inconsiderate behaviour of other guests in the Relaxation Suite and the temporary closure of the hot...

Carluke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the moment of check-in with courteous, friendly staff the stay was perfect. We were there for our annual pre Christmas overnight and weren't disappointed. The Kailzie room in the castle lodge is stunning and both of us had the best night sleep ever! The spa was its usual comfortable, relaxing space and the top to toe sugar glow left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, So pleased to hear how much you enjoyed all aspects of your recent Stobo experience. I fully take on board your comment regarding the relaxation room and apologise for the inconsiderate behaviour of other guests in this area. Looking forward to seeing you again soon - in the meantime, we all send you our best wishes for over...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There is nothing like driving through the gates of Stobo Castle because you know for the next few days it's "me time". You immediately have a sense of calm, away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. I've been coming to Stobo for 21 years and seen it's transformation but it's never lost it's principle function- to provide...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bobili16
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Love your review - especially the heading!! Your custom over all these years is hugely appreciated and I was delighted to hear you enjoy your time with us now as much as you did 20 years ago! Merry Christmas!

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Attended here on a Friday in mid December, quite busy but not to the point that it ruined our day. Atmosphere is lovely &a relaxed. Facilities are second to none, staff are fantastic and attentative this is seen in every aspect of the hotel they all work extremely hard. Food and drink delicious and it's all the little touches that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank offmc17
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were all delighted to read such a positive review of your recent spa day at Stobo. Hope you had a pleasant drive back to Glasgow and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle for a longer visit next time around. Kind regards,

Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely, relaxing 2 day stay. I have been once before and was keen to return again, this time with my mum. As we were celebrating our birthdays we treated ourselves to a stay in the Cashmere Suite and wow, the pictures do not do it justice, it looks even better in real life, it really is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rooroocat
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was so pleased you enjoyed your second visit to Stobo, this time in the iconic Cashmere Suite, however I must apologise unreservedly for the uncomfortable experience you encountered in the hot tub area. Unfortunately, the workmen concerned had taken it upon themselves to be on-site outwith the hours that we had pre-arranged precisely to avoid the situation...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Visited at the beginning of November with my wife who had booked a spa day with her sister. Because we live in Manchester, we also decided to book a two night stay at the castle. Such is the popularity of the hotel, there was only one room left in the Castle Lodge when we booked. Overall, the castle is beautifully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R55DRG
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your very balanced review of your time spent at Stobo. I fully take on board your comments regarding the location and outside appearance of Castle Lodge, however I hope you will agree that these rooms are priced accordingly and you received great value for money. It is possible to book a residential stay and add...

glasgow
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Just checked in . Poor check in. Had to ask about facilities / tour/ where to find things. In the new oriental suite. Room size lovely and spacious. Decor not to my taste and not relaxing. The paper is enough to give you a migraine. Anyway moving on. Arrive in spa. Jacuzzi jets not working. Move to outside hot tub...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank susiemac5
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, From the outset, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the various issues you encountered on your first day at Stobo. Unfortunately, the workmen in the hot tub area had taken it upon themselves to be on-site outwith the hours that we had pre-arranged precisely to avoid the situation you have detailed. Strong action has been...

Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Booked a 3 night getaway with the gf to So Stobo Castle for her birthday. I had mixed feelings for So Stobo at the end. I have made a list of the positive and negatives below. Positive: - Food: lunch and dinner was very well prepared and quick to come out. Breakfast was the same every day; I would have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Erik I
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Stobo. In truth, our female guests enjoy only three more facilities than gentlemen, the Laconium, the ice fountain and the Aromatic Steam room, in contrast to the number of mixed facilities available: Steam Room, Sauna, Pool, Hydrospa, three outdoor Hot Tubs, Relaxation Suite and Gymnasium etc....

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Came for a 2 night stay with my girl friends and had an amazing time! Everything is so luxurious and high quality, from the decor to the toiletries to the food and drink. The only minor complaint we had from our stay was a rude staff member in the coffee shop; spoke down to me and tried to make a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruthy21
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Stobo, in particular your kind comments about James, he certainly is well-loved by all our guests and his colleagues! Huge apologies for the attitude of one particular member of staff - this is entirely unacceptable and the appropriate manager has been informed. Delighted to hear you...

Herts
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

From the moment I arrived i felt like I was the only guest. Service, manners, ambience, quality, accommodation, food......everything was perfect. So unusual to be tripping over staff who always greet you with eye contact and a smile and are there to genuinely help. No need to ever try and find a staff member! I felt truly waited upon. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMMHerts
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were all so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us at Stobo - we really do have a great team here who genuinely care about the guest experience. Although we don't have a bonus scheme at the moment, we do offer reduced rates at certain times of the year, e.g. selected dates in...

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (272)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (133)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stobo
9.8 km away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#8 of 8 in Peebles
1,726 reviews
9.0 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
10.1 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
9.3 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
355 reviews
30.8 km away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled among the beautiful Scottish Borders countryside, Stobo Castle offers excellent service, fine food, elegantly trained staff and above all, the ability to find peace in a frenetic world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stobo Castle

Address: Stobo Castle Stobo, Stobo EH45 8NY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Stobo
Price Range: $177 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Stobo Castle Hotel Stobo
Castle Stobo
Stobo Castle Peebles
Stobo Castle Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stobo Castle staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
UK
over a year ago
8 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Stobo Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room in main buiding”
 of 5 bubbles 331annec, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay for high end rooms if you can”
 of 5 bubbles 332janeym, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We always stay in the castle lodge which is a short walk away from the castle but please don't let that put you off as it is wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles A3858VUscottg, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Hydropool jets are as good as a massage!”
 of 5 bubbles elainemZ466MZ, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the main castle”
 of 5 bubbles Supershirl, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5