We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stobo Castle

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Stobo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stobo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Stobo Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,004 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,004: English reviews
Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned from a lovely, relaxing 2 day stay. I have been once before and was keen to return again, this time with my mum. As we were celebrating our birthdays we treated ourselves to a stay in the Cashmere Suite and wow, the pictures do not do it justice, it looks even better in real life, it really is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rooroocat
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was so pleased you enjoyed your second visit to Stobo, this time in the iconic Cashmere Suite, however I must apologise unreservedly for the uncomfortable experience you encountered in the hot tub area. Unfortunately, the workmen concerned had taken it upon themselves to be on-site outwith the hours that we had pre-arranged precisely to avoid the situation...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited at the beginning of November with my wife who had booked a spa day with her sister. Because we live in Manchester, we also decided to book a two night stay at the castle. Such is the popularity of the hotel, there was only one room left in the Castle Lodge when we booked. Overall, the castle is beautifully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R55DRG
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your very balanced review of your time spent at Stobo. I fully take on board your comments regarding the location and outside appearance of Castle Lodge, however I hope you will agree that these rooms are priced accordingly and you received great value for money. It is possible to book a residential stay and add...

glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just checked in . Poor check in. Had to ask about facilities / tour/ where to find things. In the new oriental suite. Room size lovely and spacious. Decor not to my taste and not relaxing. The paper is enough to give you a migraine. Anyway moving on. Arrive in spa. Jacuzzi jets not working. Move to outside hot tub...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank susiemac5
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, From the outset, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the various issues you encountered on your first day at Stobo. Unfortunately, the workmen in the hot tub area had taken it upon themselves to be on-site outwith the hours that we had pre-arranged precisely to avoid the situation you have detailed. Strong action has been...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a 3 night getaway with the gf to So Stobo Castle for her birthday. I had mixed feelings for So Stobo at the end. I have made a list of the positive and negatives below. Positive: - Food: lunch and dinner was very well prepared and quick to come out. Breakfast was the same every day; I would have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erik I
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Stobo. In truth, our female guests enjoy only three more facilities than gentlemen, the Laconium, the ice fountain and the Aromatic Steam room, in contrast to the number of mixed facilities available: Steam Room, Sauna, Pool, Hydrospa, three outdoor Hot Tubs, Relaxation Suite and Gymnasium etc....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came for a 2 night stay with my girl friends and had an amazing time! Everything is so luxurious and high quality, from the decor to the toiletries to the food and drink. The only minor complaint we had from our stay was a rude staff member in the coffee shop; spoke down to me and tried to make a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruthy21
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Stobo, in particular your kind comments about James, he certainly is well-loved by all our guests and his colleagues! Huge apologies for the attitude of one particular member of staff - this is entirely unacceptable and the appropriate manager has been informed. Delighted to hear you...

Herts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment I arrived i felt like I was the only guest. Service, manners, ambience, quality, accommodation, food......everything was perfect. So unusual to be tripping over staff who always greet you with eye contact and a smile and are there to genuinely help. No need to ever try and find a staff member! I felt truly waited upon. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMMHerts
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were all so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us at Stobo - we really do have a great team here who genuinely care about the guest experience. Although we don't have a bonus scheme at the moment, we do offer reduced rates at certain times of the year, e.g. selected dates in...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 November 2016

It takes about an hour from Edinburgh to get to Stobo Castle. They only accept anyone from16 years and upwards. Delectable food served here: three courses for lunch and dinner, not forgetting full English breakfast or your choice of continental. Healthy food option available. Desserts are to die for. All around the castle, are extensive well kept grounds. It’s always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aster_palms
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your glowing review is very much appreciated! We were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of the "Stobo Experience" - just one small point, the minimum age at Stobo is 14, not 16, but only if accompanied by an adult! Looking forward to the pleasure of your company again soon.

Reviewed 3 November 2016

My wife and I have just returned from a two night stay at Stobo Castle. It was a fantastic couple of days. The staff were all very friendly and keen to provide their very best. The food was amazing, well prepared and presented. We had a room in Castle lodge and previous reviews indicated that it was small. Yes it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gordon M
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Mr Muir, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Stobo Castle. I was delighted to read your very kind comments, in particular your high praise of David - he really is a true professional and always goes the extra mile for our guests! Do hope you had a safe journey home and...

Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Got a voucher for my birthday. Overnight stay and 2 treatments. Not overwhelmed with so called 'luxury' place. Never been before, so was totally thrown by the fact that most rooms are in 'lodges' in the grounds. This is ok, have spent nights in similar rooms in other hotels before, except that having the word luxury attached raised better expectations....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susba19
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm so sorry your visit did not live up to your expectations however I would like to make a couple of points: Most rooms are actually within the main castle building. Our rates are set to reflect the fact that Castle Lodge is a 200 yard outside walk from the castle and this would have been stated in...

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We booked Stobo as a last minute treat booking on the day of arrival, we booked dinner bed and breakfast. On arrival we were excited the view of the castle was magnificent along with the grand entrance... it all goes a bit down hill from here. When checking in the receptionist informed us she was upgrading us to one of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RhiannaScotland
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your trip to Stobo Castle. As you can imagine, I was very concerned to hear of your disappointment with your room - in a building of this nature, our guest bedrooms are all different shapes and sizes and individually designed, so it is a matter of personal choice which you...

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (258)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stobo
Peebles Hydro
#8 of 8 in Peebles
1,689 reviews
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,214 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled among the beautiful Scottish Borders countryside, Stobo Castle offers excellent service, fine food, elegantly trained staff and above all, the ability to find peace in a frenetic world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stobo Castle

Address: Stobo Castle Stobo, Stobo EH45 8NY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Stobo
Price Range: $185 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Stobo Castle Hotel Stobo
Castle Stobo
Stobo Castle Peebles
Stobo Castle Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stobo Castle staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
UK
over a year ago
7 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Stobo Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hydropool jets are as good as a massage!”
 of 5 bubbles elainemZ466MZ, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the main castle”
 of 5 bubbles Supershirl, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“avoid Meldrum room more of a single room rather than a double basic in comparison to the other rooms in for the same price”
 of 5 bubbles gill502016, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“It's very hot at Stobo so travel light!!”
 of 5 bubbles 548juliam, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is luxury but the special offers make it affordable.”
 of 5 bubbles KayM129, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5