We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,311: English reviews
Scotland
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Went on a two day bed and breakfast trip. Room lovely. Pool and facilities very good. The scenery and the grounds lovely.defintely would go again. Breakfast and bar meals could not fault. Lovely conservatory to sit and enjoy the sunshine.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eltajaje
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear eltajaje, thank you for your lovely review. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much. I do hope that you will recommend Hotel to your relatives and friends and hopefully visit us again in future. Kind regards, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lxybe1
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Pencaitland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed this small hotel after completing an enduring trail run with my sister we decided to make the most of it and stay in a spa for nice wine and food too. This place didn't disappoint although it's my really anything spectacular but that's why it is 3 stars. The spa was nice and clean and the pool was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Clareannmcshane
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ClareAnnMcShane, thank you for your taking time in reviewing your recent visit. I am happy to hear that your family catch-up went well and you have enjoyed your stay overall. Just to note, the Hotel is constantly being renovated and updated. We have 2 full time professionals working both in rooms and public areas to improve the overall condition...

Inverurie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We stayed for one night at this Hotel in July 2016 with our dog. On arriving at the Hotel we were shown to a small, shabby and dull double room with a very small window. The room itself was very warm which made our dog very uncomfortable. On opening the window we found our view to be of another window...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 059linda
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 059Linda, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had experienced during your stay. Barony Castle is a pet friendly Hotel, but we do not allow pets to be kept in the restaurant or bar area with an exception of guide dogs. First and foremost reason is the security of everyone's best interest....

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Stayed in one of the superior rooms and this was lovely. Big room and big bed which was very comfortable. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Food was lovely. We had dinner was really nice and good selection of food.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jankA7961BQ
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janka7961BQ, thank you for you short and lovely review. I am happy to hear your stay was truly hassle-free. I do hope that you will not hesitate to share your experience with your family and friends and hopefully visit us again in the near future. Kind regards, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

Reviewed 28 September 2016

Currently staying at this beautiful hotel! To start with visually it is amazing... very modern as well having some amazing old fashioned feature's. The food is lovely and the wine is extraordinary! The staff are very helpful and lovely also very funny. The rooms are very lovely and everything works as it should. Couldn't of asked for a better place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Courtney T
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Courtney T, thank you for your lovely review. It is a pleasure for me to hear that your stay with us was truly enjoyable. We work very hard to deliver exceptional level of service to our guests and being publicly appreciated for our efforts is very important to us. I do hope that you will not hesitate to recommend...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Check in was the indicator. Rosa was taking a telephone booking whilst the queue I was waiting in got busier and stressful....check-in by her was abrupt and too fast as they were understaffed and she was under pressure. Next we discover our room is located on the top floor and then advised that the lift is out of order.....this was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Louiebeth
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louiebeth, thank you for your honest review. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had experienced. This is not the level of service we are known for and your disappointment is understandable. I will make sure your feedback is discussed with the rest of the team and where necessary actions are taken to prevent similar issues from...

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My Son and I had an overnight at Barony Castle on 25th Sept. On arrival we were told the lift was out of order, luckily we were only there for one night and didn't have much luggage, our room 219 was upstairs along corridors and up more stairs. On arrival in the room I was disappointed by the size, a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eunice C
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eunice C, thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Barony Castle Hotel. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had experienced. Whilst the Hotel is undergoing refurbishment it is important to note that as any other independent Company we operate on limited resources. This means we can only invest what we make as well as prioritize...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Arrived on Friday, only one person on reception, which was not sufficient as a queue built up very quickly. It was disappointing that the lift was out of order (all weekend) as one of our party said beforehand that she had mobility issues, even with a room on 1st floor it was a long walk. The rooms don't have a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pkanello
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pkanello, thank you for your honest and fair review of recent visit to our Hotel. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had experienced. I will make sure your feedback is heard and shared with the rest of the management team. We always aim to meet and exceed our guests' expectations and your feedback is important. It...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

After some time apart the family reunited for a lovely night away at this hotel. First impressions were good ... the grounds are stunning and the hotel itself looks very traditional and picturesque. We were greeted by a very busy receptionist who was very helpful. I feel that the hotel could have had someone on reception to help her out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Feeks
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Feeks, thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that apart from a few niggles you have enjoyed your stay with us. We understand that as a business we are always facing certain challenges and only the level of preparation enables us to deal with them accordingly. The Hotel, whilst old and perhaps in need of TLC...

413 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (378)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (107)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
7.2 km away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,807 reviews
7.0 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
7.1 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
708 reviews
38.6 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
858 reviews
6.9 km away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eddleston
Price Range: $80 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Scotland/Eddleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay”
 of 5 bubbles alanmcintyre2016, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms at the back are closer to the pool”
 of 5 bubbles busterbroon, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask or a room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles Kittywanders, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for best room available”
 of 5 bubbles _lindascott1965, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Suites are also available”
 of 5 bubbles mrsalbertz, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5