We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,235: English reviews
East Kilbride
Reviewed 1 August 2016

My wife and I and another 4 couples stayed at the Barony for two nights on 17th & 18th July '16. Dinner, on the first night, and breakfasts included in the price of £139 per couple. This hotel was an unexpected delight as we weren't expecting an historical trip. The hotel and it's grounds are steeped in Scottish history and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RaymondoEastKilbride
BaronyManagement, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RaymondoEastKilbride, thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that your stay at Barony Castly was truly enjoyable. It is nice to hear our guests appreciate the hard work we put in trying to provide excellent service and exceed their expectations. A lot of guests are surpised that such a place even exists and quite offen they...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Very disappointed with this Mercure hotel. Not to the standard we would expect. (Said to be under going refurbishment but still very tired looking and carpets appeared badly stained and unclean. Not as presented in the hotel photo's) We had travelled (200 miles) with our small Bichon dog and were advised that we would be allocated an appropriate room, however...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bw409845
Haddington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Couldn't fault a thing. Lovely location. Pleasant staff. Good atmosphere. Seems a popular hotel. Lots of people coming and going. Food was excellent and sweet treats were out of this world, all seemed homemade. Would recommend eating here. Already planning a return visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoJoGirlygirl
BaronyManagement, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JoJoGirlygirl, thank you for your short but lovely review. It has been a real pleasure to read. Our deserts are in fact all home made by our pastry Chef Douglas who is an absolute master when it comes to making deserts. I personally enjoy everyone of them! I am happy to hear you have decided to rebook in the...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2016

This hotel has beautiful grounds and walks but the room and bathroom are looking a little tired and in need of an upgrade. Had dinner in the restaurant and food very good and overall the service good also .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BaronyManagement, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your review. I am happy to hear that apart from a few niggles you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure you have noticed that the Hotel is going through refurbishment process. We understand that to bring this old lady to its former glory we need to invest more in TLC. Our...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

The staff were very nice and the room was fine but smaller than in the picture when I booked. The location is not in walking distance to anywhere, therefore we used the car more than expected. We were disappointed that the pool was closed for the first two of our six days as it was the reason for our choice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magjam7
BaronyManagement, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Magjam7, thank you for taking time in writing your review. It is a pleasure to hear our hard work is being appreciated. Nothing encourages us more than positive feedback. I do apologise for inconvenience you had experienced with regards to the pool closure. Leisure area was under planned refurbishment at that time. We have communicated the information via various...

Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely staff nice and clean, had a lovely meal and pud with a glass of wine but you do need sat nav to find your room was a bit of a hike...lamas on the drive on the way up to the hotel..oh try the trio of puds you wI'll not be disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bucksrob01
BaronyManagement, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bucksrob01, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Hotel looks very attractive from the outside and is very pleasant inside also. Stayed on B&B but also had an evening meal which was very good. Breakfast selection was also very good indeed. Very nice grounds to have a walk in including a large relief of Scotland in the process of restoration.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
BaronyManagement, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian L, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. It might be interesting for you to know that this Septemeber we are planning to install the viewing platform which will allow everyone to look at the Scottish map from high above....

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Very interesting place. We got it for location: we wanted to explore Rosslyn Chapel before flying out of Edinburgh. This old castle (now hotel) more than killed two birds with one stone. My wife is Polish, so that added to the romance. This place has a curious connection to Polish History and WWII.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rlspoet3
BaronyManagement, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rlSpoet 3, thank you for your lovely review. Barony Castle has a very long and interesting history which is closely connected to Poland. During the WWII, Polish troops who fled the country via sea routes in September 1939, arrived to Great Britain and some of them were stationed in the Borders area. The Polish general at that time Mr...

Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The room was good and welcoming. The resturant was not good is time, infact its was poor ! I had low land lamb - it was supposed to be pink my was over cooked and all fat, when the plate of food arrived the spainish waiter banged the plate on the table and the meat went all over the place....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rodneywebb
BaronyManagement, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rodneywebb, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear this time your visit was below your expectations. I have noted down your comments and will personally discuss this further with our Head Chef. The Lowland lamb is actually an award-winning dish created by our Head Chef Mr Thompson who became famous because of this dish. Also, we...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Have stayed at the Hotel on 3 occasions - relatives birthday and 2 weekends. The Hotel is very much in need of re-vamp. The charge for our small dog we felt too high as nothing was given. It certainly wasn't for 'deep cleaning' the room as we were told, as my daughter cleaned several marks from the walls - possibly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pbowler4
BaronyManagement, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pbowler4, thank you for your review and I do apologise for any inconvenience you had experienced. Your observations are very fair and to the point. We are obliged to deep clean the room after a pet was staying in due to dog / cat allegies some guests might have. We understand the risk is low, but if possible it...

388 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (355)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (99)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (128)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
7.2 km away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#8 of 8 in Peebles
1,688 reviews
7.0 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
2.7 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
347 reviews
38.6 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
807 reviews
6.9 km away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eddleston
Price Range: $70 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Scotland/Eddleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top level at back was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles marylX5669HF, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we were in 301 the room was well positioned so you had no noise from function/restraunt/spa end best bed ever best sleep for a long time”
 of 5 bubbles carolmG839HG, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms may cause difficulty in accessing”
 of 5 bubbles gcmackay, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room would be fine”
 of 5 bubbles sheila197, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front or near stair are very noisy not sure about rest of hotel but other people complained about noise in other rooms.”
  • Damp patch
  • Damp patch
  • Broken leg on chair
  • Broken bath panel
 of 5 bubbles Tracie71, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay