We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

674 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Showing 603: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Nice clean suite. Good and comfortable beds. Room is tended daily. Courteous staff. Clean towels every day and good supply of handwash and shower gel. Wi-fi is available. Cons are: (1) no lifts and no porter on standby to assist with luggage up the stairs (2) noise level from other guests outside the room was very disturbing and made it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline O
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline O, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to see your positive comments on the cleanliness, amenities and valued staff. We noted your valuable comments where we need to improve. We hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Pleasantly surprised by this Holiday Inn Express after reading some of the reviews. Hotel is clean, parking ample, wifi free and good, breakfast very good, free coffee or tea 24 hours. Staff were nice, room was fine, again clean, warm, flat screen TV, good shower, the only downside was the bed was not very comfortable - wish I had taken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravelAgent
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear LondonTravelAgent, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and had a good stay. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing that you will return to our hotel.

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Stayed here for two nights Fri-Sun. The room was very clean and bed was amazing! View from the room was horrible (garbage) but luckily we didn't care. The breakfast was basic; variety of cereal, yogurt, scrambled eggs, beans, sausages, toast etc. Nothing extraordinary but tasty. All in all I felt we got value for our money and nothing to complain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henna J
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Henna J, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are truly happy to see that you had a relaxing holiday which you were looking for. Our location is just close enough for attractions but a few miles from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation. We hope to see you again on your next...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We were attending a service in Canterbury Cathedral on Wednesday morning and it's a long way from Worcestershire where we live so we wanted a room for two nights - Tuesday and Wednesday. We have used Holiday Inns before both the full Holiday Inn and the Express version, and we know that you get a decent room at a reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear John W, Thank you for the feedback. We have noted your comments and already sent you a private email explaining all your concerns. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Stayed here on a Saturday night, first problem went past it as it is hidden behind a BP petrol station, The room we were put in eas at the back and a 3 day camel ride to reception. View of a muddy Bank. Drinks £12.50 for a pint of Lager and a glass of wine!!! Breakfast next morning was rediculous,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dale c
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear dale c, Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It is unfortunate to hear that your experience with us was not satisfactory. Sorry for any inconvenience may have caused. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to we hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and...

Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

I don't usually do reviews, however in a job where I find myself occasionally having to travel I have built an experience and level of expectation and familiarity with 'stop gap' or 'on the road' accommodation. It was at the Holiday Inn Express in Canterbury that compelled me to write a review. So let's start with the positives and get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4mySins
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 4mySins, Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate to hear that your experience with us was not satisfactory. Sorry for any inconvenience may have caused. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. Just to mention our Hot Breakfast is always...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Pleasantly surprised with the quality and comfort of the room and especially happy to see a full size fan which might appeal to "women of a certain age" Beds were very comfortable and the bathroom spotless with high quality fittings. As it was a very wet and windy night we decided to eat in the restaurant and again not disappointed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pogson
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear pogson, Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted see you had a comfortable stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you again.

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

We had difficulty locating the access to this hotel, but once we had found it, a positive experience awaited us. There are two negatives to mention first: the hotel is very close to the A2, which would undoubtedly be a problem if you are a light sleeper. Luckily we are not, so the traffic noise did not bother us. Secondly,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kittyginger
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear kittyginger, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are glad to see your positive comments on our valued staff and food. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Look forward to welcoming you again.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

A very short stay in the area so was happy to chose cheap and cheerful. Unfortunately I am writing this from room 226 at 2am listening to a boiler/pump mechanism with little chance of any sleep! Reception reckoned it would stop after 5 minutes but clearly not. I can cope with the traffic noise but not this...might as well be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ewelsh2016
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear ewelsh2016, Thank you for staying with us. Please allow us to apologise for any inconvenience may have caused. Please contact us directly on 01227 865000 to discuss this further.

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Couldn't get booked in anywhere in the town so booked this hotel. I didn't pay very much so I do think it was for me value for money. I had a twin room and had to ask for an extra duvet as the one on the bed was very thin. There was an electric heater which I really didn't like,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pioneer_roofing
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear pioneer_roofing, Thank you for you feedback. We are pleased to see you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast (continental items and 3 hot items such as baked beans, scrambled eggs and sausage) which is always included in the room rate. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience...

316 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (236)
Viewed
Accessible Room (42)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Double Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)
Viewed
Twin Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
4.9 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
394 reviews
5.8 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
4.8 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
3.6 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
370 reviews
4.4 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Price Range: $81 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Canterbury staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
unitedkingdom
over a year ago
9 months ago
over a year ago
Cambridge, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Canterbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If problems with stairs say so as no lift!”
 of 5 bubbles 455Douglas1948, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the upper floor, less noise from above!”
 of 5 bubbles jacquit293, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are more likely to be shielded from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles JaneS550, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No lift, so if you cannot manage stairs ask for a downstairs room.”
 of 5 bubbles knottih, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 367dalec, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5