We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

673 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 602: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
 Click to rate
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Being a small express, I didn't expect much but was disappointed. I had booked a double room but as we checked in they said they had fully booked and was given a twin single bed room. The tv in the room had plenty of channels but to change channel it took a life time and the guide only showed you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abbsss93
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear abbsss93, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy the stay as it should be. Please allow us to explain some of your concerns. You had booked a standard room which will allocate on arrival depending on the availability as per terms for standard room bookings, NOT a double room. In-Room TV is...

Wall Hexham
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights over the new year. Room was spotlessly clean and comfortable , breakfast included in the price was very good. Small but we'll stocked bar and a good menu in the restaurant for evening meals, hotel is well situated for many destinations! Would definitely use it again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kylecurt
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear kylecurt, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Thank you for postie comments on cleanliness, comfortableness and amenities. There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing you will return on your next visit!

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked to stay for two nights under a special offer that included a set three course meal on the first night. This was through a special offer company. What was immediately surprising was no lift to the first floor! As its a fairly new place we had imagined it was a prerequisite. As my wife has trouble with stairs this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 455Douglas1948
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 455Douglas1948, Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to see in your comments that you did not enjoy the special and heavily discounted package you bought from a third party company. If you get a minute please refer to below feedback from a very recent family stayed with us. This may help to understand the situation better. The review heading...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perfect location for staying en-route to Paris. Room is better than expected and breakfast is a wonderful bonus. I'm not sure what people expect for £45 for a family room. As for people moaning about breakfast... It's not advertised as a Full English... READ THE SMALLPRINT PEOPLE!! Good job holiday inn express a perfect solution!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antony W
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Antony W, Thank you very much for your eye-opening feedback. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay! We hope to see you again on your next trip.

Cley Next the Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this hotel as it seemed convenient for Canterbury's Park and Ride however the reality was different. There is no slip road from the A2 to the nearest P&R site (Wincheap) so you either have to go into Canterbury & out again or drive further to the other P&R site (New Dover Road). Don't use your satnav to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui T
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Jacqui T, Thank you for taking the time to write an elaborate review. We are happy to see you had a reasonable stay with us. Please accept our apologies if you had any inconvenience because of the student group we had. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in January for business. Room was clean and bed comfortable and I was lucky enough no to be near the road so that didn't keep me awake. Breakfast was basic but edible. Main downside for me was it being on a duel carriage way at services - also didn't quite realise how far out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jlv86
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Jlv86, Thank you for staying with us and writing us a review. Glad to see you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfortableness of the room. We are just 3.5miles away from the Canterbury City Centre and neither advertised nor inform guests we are at walking distance to the city. Further, you may always request a very quiet room if you...

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here on Wednesday 18th January. We were given an 'accessible' room on the ground floor, though we are not disabled. The room had an enormous shower and two emergency pull cords. The breakfast comprised fruit juice, fruit, cold options including yogurt and a toaster and hot options with pastries and unlimited tea/coffee. Despite being near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Jane S, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We are glad to learn that you had a good and comfortable stay. We hope we will have the pleasure of greeting you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for two night with friends as we were visiting Canterbury for Christmas shopping. The hotel is a little bit out of the way but there is a bus route withing 15 minutes walk. Breakfast was good. Wifi OK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blackcat180
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Blackcat180, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Canterbury. Look forward to welcoming you again.

Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We book this hotel purely for it;s price and location to canturbury. We were driving back from Europe and decided to stop over in canterbury. This is a very large and busy hotel but has a great ambience. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was spaious and clean. Very suprised to have a restraunt and bar on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pcourtneyjan
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear pcourtneyjan, Thank you for taking your valuable time to review our hotel. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and had comfortable stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Canterbury.

romford
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very enjoyable overnight stay at this hotel. We were on the ground floor at the back of the hotel and found it to be fairly quiet although the walls were quite thin. Room was clean and warm even though it was freezing outside. We had booked the set three course meal and thought that it was great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edies-girl
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear edies-girl, We are so glad to see you had a great stay with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! Look forward to welcoming you again.

316 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (236)
Viewed
Accessible Room (42)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Double Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)
Viewed
Twin Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
5.8 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
4.8 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
1,711 reviews
4.9 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
3.6 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
369 reviews
4.4 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Price Range: $80 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Canterbury staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
unitedkingdom
over a year ago
9 months ago
11 months ago
Cambridge, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Canterbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If problems with stairs say so as no lift!”
 of 5 bubbles 455Douglas1948, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the upper floor, less noise from above!”
 of 5 bubbles jacquit293, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are more likely to be shielded from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles JaneS550, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No lift, so if you cannot manage stairs ask for a downstairs room.”
 of 5 bubbles knottih, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 367dalec, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5