We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

660 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 590: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband and 3 year old. Family room was a decent size, fold out bed for kids is great and our bed was comfy as well. Couldn't hear the motorway at all. Reception staff were helpful and even carried our suitcase up for us as there is no lift. Breakfast was tasty and filling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amita C
Salisbury
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here for one night as part of a short business trip. The hotel is easily accessible as you near Canterbury and there was plenty of parking available. The staff were exceptionally friendly and both check in and check out were quick and without issues. The room was very clean and the standard you would expect for a Holiday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SalisburyAlice
Barrow in Furness
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting friends in the area. The rooms were very comfortable and despite the closeness of the A2 Dover road were very quiet. The breakfast was included in the room price and although the hot choice was limited to scrambled egg, sausage and beans there was plenty of other things to fill up on....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jickmoe
Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our 3rd year at the holliday inn express for Christmas. Great value excellent staff Mr Melwwyn Felizardo Senior Guest Service Manager is excellent. He us so helpful and always does his best to make your stay good happy and comfortable, nothing is too much to ask. He always comes to your table to ask if everything is OK,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maureen M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We didn't know what to expect,we could not fault any thing about our Christmas break.we have been to various hotels for Christmas but this hotel was excellent.the hotel is an easy drive in to town .we could not hear any road noise

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 76ian
Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter and I recently stayed here for one night in order to visit the Christmas Markets in Canterbury. We arrived after a long journey and, as we were too early for check in, asked for a cup of coffee. The receptionist told us that she was on her own and would do it shortly. We sat waiting for a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathy C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Cathy C, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding cleanliness and customer service. We will address these concerns. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Nice clean suite. Good and comfortable beds. Room is tended daily. Courteous staff. Clean towels every day and good supply of handwash and shower gel. Wi-fi is available. Cons are: (1) no lifts and no porter on standby to assist with luggage up the stairs (2) noise level from other guests outside the room was very disturbing and made it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline O
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline O, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to see your positive comments on the cleanliness, amenities and valued staff. We noted your valuable comments where we need to improve. We hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Pleasantly surprised by this Holiday Inn Express after reading some of the reviews. Hotel is clean, parking ample, wifi free and good, breakfast very good, free coffee or tea 24 hours. Staff were nice, room was fine, again clean, warm, flat screen TV, good shower, the only downside was the bed was not very comfortable - wish I had taken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravelAgent
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear LondonTravelAgent, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and had a good stay. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing that you will return to our hotel.

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Stayed here for two nights Fri-Sun. The room was very clean and bed was amazing! View from the room was horrible (garbage) but luckily we didn't care. The breakfast was basic; variety of cereal, yogurt, scrambled eggs, beans, sausages, toast etc. Nothing extraordinary but tasty. All in all I felt we got value for our money and nothing to complain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henna J
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Henna J, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are truly happy to see that you had a relaxing holiday which you were looking for. Our location is just close enough for attractions but a few miles from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation. We hope to see you again on your next...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We were attending a service in Canterbury Cathedral on Wednesday morning and it's a long way from Worcestershire where we live so we wanted a room for two nights - Tuesday and Wednesday. We have used Holiday Inns before both the full Holiday Inn and the Express version, and we know that you get a decent room at a reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear John W, Thank you for the feedback. We have noted your comments and already sent you a private email explaining all your concerns. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

316 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (236)
Viewed
Accessible Room (42)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Double Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)
Viewed
Twin Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
5.8 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
5.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
4.8 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
381 reviews
4.4 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
246 reviews
5.0 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Price Range: $67 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Canterbury staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
unitedkingdom
over a year ago
7 months ago
10 months ago
Cambridge, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Canterbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 367dalec, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are a light sleeper, as for a room away from the A2”
 of 5 bubbles kittyginger, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For a good room - choose another hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles stephy0035, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles The2OfUs_10, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are fine”
 of 5 bubbles royandwendy503838, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay