22 Hill Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

22 Hill Hotel

The hotel and their parking ground nearby.
Traveller (458)
Panorama at the 22 Hill Hotel
360
Panoramas (10)
Looking northwest across Faxa Bay from our room
Room & Suite (358)

View prices for your travel dates

AU$276
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#44 of 60 hotels in Reykjavik
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
22 Hill Hotel is a privately owned hotel that opened in January 2015. It is located close to the main shopping street Laugavegur, only 15 – 20 minutes’ walking distance from the vibrant downtown Reykjavik. This is the perfect location for those who both want to be close to the city center, and enjoy a good quiet night’s sleep. Most of our staff have been with us for years, and we all pride ourselves on our excellent customer service, cleanliness, and value!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Icelandic

Location

Brautarholt 22, Reykjavik 105 Iceland
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 80 out of 100
80
Reykjavik Domestic Airport
Keflavik Intl Airport
39.9 km
See all flights
1,353Review30Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 461
  • 637
  • 197
  • 33
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Julie Flett wrote a review Feb 2020
Aberdeen, United Kingdom7 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very clean hotel, within walking distance of the town. Perfect for a few nights stay. Beds were very comfortable, staff very nice and helpful. Breakfast was a bit scarce BUT was fine for what it was. Coffee machine on each floor (proper coffee) no noise from the city, rooms were very warm too x
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MorleyTom wrote a review Feb 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom9 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room appeared to be a fire exit (sign above door and also sign above window inside) which I thought was odd.

Keycard would not allow us in our room on our return from our first day out. Notified reception staff who were friendly but seemed strangely out of their depth trying to resolve the issue. The staff member asked me to follow him back upto my room where he tried the card which again did not work. After calling his manager and obtaining a skeleton key he asked me to go back upto the room with him where he still had no luck opening the door. He told me to wait whilst he ran downstairs. I waited 15 mins to no avail, so walked back down to reception where I told staff that my partner and I were going for a drink in the restaurant. After waiting 40 minutes they told us that food and drinks were on the house 👍

Electric went off in our room on second morning. We mentioned it to staff and it was resolved on our return from a day in Reykjavík 👍

3rd night we noticed that a big draft of cold air was blowing through the large window in our room (the window which had a fire exit sign above it), which no matter how hard I tried, could not be securely closed. I went to ask if we could change rooms but the young girl on reception said there were no rooms available and continually questioned whether I had put the latch on to close the window. She went on to explain that it is normal for windows to have a draft of air blowing through when shut !?!?

I asked her not to insult my intelligence and to please just move us to a room where the windows could be securely closed to enable the room to be insulated from the cold air of Iceland (not much to ask I thought).

Eventually we were moved to a bigger room which the young female staff member tried to tell me had a double bed, when clearly before my eyes I could see it was a twin room. I was tired so just said (ok, thanks) and accepted the situation.

The day after the hotel manager explained that we could stay in the bigger for the rest of our stay which allowed us to relax a bit more and enjoy our holiday.

If these 3 issues had been resolved quicker and with a bit more customer empathy from reception staff then I would have had little to complain about. The young girl on reception really insulted my intelligence however which made me feel frustrated and annoyed (not really how you want to feel on your holidays).

Breakfast buffet was 👍 however...

I wouldn’t stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrea G wrote a review Jan 2020
Bolton, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband & I stayed for 3 nights 15-18 Jan 2020. We arrived 2 hours before check in, but the staff went out of their way to allocate a room immediately. The room was clean, comfortable and much more spacious than I expected. Throughout our stay the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, and the food was plentiful and fresh, setting us up for the day. The takeaway pack breakfast was very handy for early check out, and saved having to find something at the airport.
As the hotel is in a nice quiet area, we were able to sleep well without the disturbances you get on city breaks some times.
With 2 supermarkets only a couple of minutes walk away for snacks, and about 10-15 mins walk to the 'main area'of Reykjavik, we found this a perfect location.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Go797249, Front Office Manager at 22 Hill Hotel
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear ALG1983, Nothing makes us happier than learning that our guests leave our hotel with great memories of their stay with us. Thank you so much for this lovely review, and we hope to see you again soon! :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kl L wrote a review Feb 2022
Hamburg, Germany16 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our 5 night stay at 22 Hill. Our room (3rd floor) was warm, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was big, and we had a view of the mountains (when the weather was clear enough!) the communal areas of the hotel are a bit smarter than the rooms themselves, but it’s still a pleasant place to stay. Breakfast was a bit basic, but there was plenty of it so you can fill up - important for long day trips and given the price of food in Iceland! Lots of people also made (basic) sandwiches to take with them too.
The restaurant connected to the hotel also did good food, not bad price wise either (for Iceland!) with the 10% discount for hotel guests.
Location-wise, we really liked it too; a short walk from the water front, a supermarket nearby and the walk into town wasn’t long. It’s close to the amazing food hall too, which I thoroughly recommend for great food. In winter the location is even better, as tour companies pick you up right from the hotel, meaning you can wait in the warm reception, rather than freeze/get wet for ages at one of the bus stops for the more central hotels! Also, we were usually dropped off first in an evening, which after a long day out, was welcome as it meant we could get food quicker!
All in all I’d definitely recommend it for anyone who is going to be out making the most of Iceland all day and needs a decent, well located place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TinaHH123 wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom530 contributions309 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I'd stayed here before 7years ago, its basic hotel about a 15-20 min walk into the heart of Reykjavik. The rooms are large and clean, bed was comfy, there is no fridge in the room but I just put cold drinks next to the open window and they stayed cool enough. The shower in the bathroom was a small square with a shower curtain, unfortunately the curtain constantly sticks to you whilst showering, would benefit from a bathroom upgrade.
Breakfast was ample, nice bread and the usual continental breakfast staples. You can park outside, definitely a good cheaper option hotel
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Go797249, Front Office Manager at 22 Hill Hotel
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Dear TinaHH123, Thank you very much for your kind review, it's always lovely when former guests choose to stay at our hotel again. I know which bathroom you're referring to. We had a leakage there, which was immediately fixed. However, we're still trying to find a shower cabin that fits into such a small space like this. Renovating older buildings can be a real challenge but rest assured we're working on this now! So, thank you for staying with us again, and we hope to see you again within the next seven years. :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kaye N wrote a review Sept 2022
Provo, Utah2,165 contributions300 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed three nights at this hotel and we were so pleased with the service, the room, the location and the breakfast. From beginning to end the staff was attentive and kind, helping us with information about the area, restaurants, parking, etc. Parking is on the street in front of the hotel - not in the alley behind. Staff will tell you where to park and there were open spots every time we returned.

The room was small but fit us well since we travel light. The bathroom was well stocked and situated so that the light didn't shine on us if someone got up in the night. Our windows looked out towards the bay of Reykjavik. There are room darkening blinds that shut out the light since the sun went down at 11:30 p.m. and came up at 3:30 a.m.! You can take an elevator but we chose to take the stairs since we were on the second floor.

The breakfast selection was wonderful!! There were selections of bread, yogurt, cereal, vegetables, cheese, meats, fruits, drinks, eggs and jams. The dining area is the adjacent restaurant with a linking hallway. There was plenty of room for many to eat at once and the staff kept foods filled. Breakfast starts early so you can get an early start on your day.

We will stay at 22 Hill Hotel again if we ever return to Iceland!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael F wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very quiet, clean comfortable hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant attached to the hotel was good too and very convenient the first night we arrived late evening and so we didn’t have to go and explore for somewhere to eat. Breakfast is served here which is a simple but tasty continental offering and they have proper English breakfast tea.. essential for folks like us from Yorkshire.
The hotel is a 15 to 20 minute walk to most of the cities central attractions and also the BSI bus terminal. If you don’t want to walk the nearest bus stop is 2 minutes away.
Probably would have rated the hotel 4 circles except on booking hotel n the anything else section we’d entered On Honeymoon and on arrival there was bottle of something bubbly on ice waiting for us in our room... so they get 5**
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cpursehouse wrote a review Jan 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom45 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came to Iceland for my Husband's birthday as a family 5 adults. We booked with TUI. I have to say I did request 2 rooms next to each other or opposite however we landed 2.30hrs early and half of the coach were staying at our hotel. At arriving at the hotel at 9.30 the rooms weren't ready but they gave us what they had this was unfortunately on separate floors. Couldn't really blame the hotel for the flight being early. Anyway the rooms were lovely clean and tidy and each floor they had a free coffee/tea machine. A continental Breakfast was available next morning in the joining restaurant. Very nice and plenty of choice. The hotel is situated about 10-15 mins walk from the main shops. It's a really nice stroll to the shops or the harbour. Couldn't fault the hotel or staff we had a really lovely stay. Rooms cleaned and fresh towels daily. This is a fabulous little hotel, if we ever go back to Iceland wouldn't hesitate to book it again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Go797249, Front Office Manager at 22 Hill Hotel
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Dear cpursehouse, I'm delighted to see you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much. We always allow our guests to check in early if we have available rooms on their arrival, and in your case, we did, even though they were not on the same floor. Thank you so much for this lovely review, and we look forward to seeing you again real soon! :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChathamDez wrote a review Feb 2020
Chatham, United Kingdom150 contributions25 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good size rooms, comfortable with friendly staff. Restaurant attached which offers happy hour between 15:00 and 18:00 and good food at 10% off for hotel residents. It's about 30 minutes walk from the old town and harbour, taxi is between 2000 and 3000 Krona.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lyn h wrote a review Dec 2021
Bury, United Kingdom253 contributions170 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great hotel about 25 minutes east of downtown Reykjavik. The rooms and communal areas are clean and the rooms are quite big. Tea and coffee supplied on each floor. Beds and bedding very comfortable. There is good Wi-Fi. We arrived late so after a quick change went to the restaurant next door. Staff didn’t let us know that hotel guests are entitled to a 10% discount. With food prices so high this would have been a saving of about £10 between two of us. The restaurant couldn’t apply discount retrospectively. When I pointed this out reception staff said that guest are informed if they book through an agency e.g. booking.com but as we were part of a tour we didn’t know. We later found the information in the room, but it was too late. Otherwise a nice and reasonable hotel. Breakfast is in the restaurant next door too and this was quite nice with good choice of continental food.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: 10% discount on restaurant food for guests
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tab B asked a question Oct 2022
Brooklyn, New York1,064 contribution80 helpful votes
Does this accommodation include shampoo and conditioner?
Answer from edmanaila
Romania11 contributions29 helpful votes
only shampoo, bad quality.
Answer from Go797249
Hello jackk T98, We're open 24/7, so no need to worry about being too late. If you like, you can send an email to info@22hillhotel.is to tell them to expect late arrival, and they'd add that info to your reservation. I hope this helps! :)
Answer from Go797249
Hello Damien, yes all our Superior rooms have mountain views, and it's best for you to send an email to info@22hillhotel.is to book a particular room.
sdspacey asked a question Sept 2018
London, United Kingdom1 contribution6 helpful votes
What time does breakfast begin and finish?
Answer from minniemae
Florida629 contributions268 helpful votes
continental breakfast until 10 am
travelfan2727 asked a question Sept 2018
scotland263 contributions48 helpful votes
Hi heading here in Dec. Are there toiletries supplied and, if so, which ones. Thanks
Answer from travelfan2727
scotland263 contributions48 helpful votes
Thanks Helena
mininani wrote a tip Apr 2024
Madrid, Spain827 contributions231 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look for another hotel"
Read full review
Lauren D wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the code to enter the hotel once you’ve landed! "
Read full review
Martin B wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check your room before accepting"
Read full review
Linziwb wrote a tip Mar 2024
Doncaster, United Kingdom172 contributions114 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t book this hotel"
Read full review
Traveler49546042259 wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Potentially ask ahead of time about services you will be offered "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Reykjavik area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$144 - AU$213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Bjork
LOCATION
IcelandCapital RegionReykjavik
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

22 HILL HOTEL (AU$144): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Reykjavik, Iceland) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about 22 Hill Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to 22 Hill Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Háteigskirkja Church (0.4 km), Quest - Hair, Beer & Whisky Saloon (0.4 km), and Hring Eftir Hring (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at 22 Hill Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at 22 Hill Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a pool view.
What food & drink options are available at 22 Hill Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at 22 Hill Hotel?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking on-site, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 22 Hill Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Potturinn og Pannan, Hamborgarafabrikkan, and Bjorgardurinn.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at 22 Hill Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Icelandic.
Are there any historical sites close to 22 Hill Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Einar Jonsson Sculpture Museum (Listasafn Einars Jonssonar) (1.2 km), The settlement exhibition (2.0 km), and Videy Island (3.4 km).
Does 22 Hill Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is 22 Hill Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Reykjavik HotelsReykjavik Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ReykjavikHotels near 22 Hill Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars