We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Loft Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Loft Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 279: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Recently stayed at Loft with my now fiance. We came to Iceland after a week trip in France/Holland and figured this would be a low key spot to celebrate. The three stars are for the rooms, really no complaints there. Much like another reviewer below, the staff was incredibly rude. From the moment I got there it wasn't the friendliest... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I tried both Kex and Loft hostels. Wow, you can't even compare them. Loft is a fantastic hostel! Central location (caveat: do bring earphones and an iPod to drown out late-night partyers), comfortable and clean beds, bathrooms for every room, a cozy lounge with great local beer for sale, a fully usable kitchen, good live music, and the cheap prices... More 

Helpful?
Thank spatzenbrett
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Brett, Thank you so much for this great review, your kind words and hostel analyses! We're extremely happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at Loft in all aspects! We'll for sure see you when you return to Reykjavík and we can't wait to welcome you back! Best wishes, The Loft Team More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good location staff as friendly as a kick in the face !!! Very rude looked like they didn't won't to be there, on Sunday when they have yoga in the Main reception I got told to shhhhh in a very rude way as I only asked for a plug to rent!!! Why have yoga in the main bit of reception.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hburns195
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and bringing your experience to our attention. First of all I would like to like to apologize about the unfriendliness of our staff, I'm very sorry to hear. Having the free Sunday yoga once a week in the lounge, is something that many guests and locals enjoy and appreciate. However no one should be shhsss-ed... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Totally recommended !! It's super clean, the bed is confy and there is a toilet inside each room !! The rooftop bar is nice and social and the location is great !! You just need to walk 300m from the stop of the airport shuttle bus to the hostel and you can find everything you need in walking distance. when... More 

Helpful?
Thank marcusviniciusrabha
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Marcus, Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we loved having you. See you next time you are in Iceland ;) Kind regards, The Loft Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here in an eight bed dorm and we were very comfortable. We checked in at 1.30 am which wasn't a problem as the reception is staffed 24/7. The staff were friendly and had lots of knowledge about tours and things to do. The building itself is situated on one of the main streets, surrounded by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Re3809
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your good experience with us! We're always happy when our guests seem to enjoy their stay to the fullest. Hopefully you'll come back some other day, we'd love to welcome the both of you back! Best wishes, The Loft Team More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights. I checked in at 2am, which is pretty late. But they have a 24hr person working. This guy made a gigantic mistake, nonetheless. He checked me in, charged me twice, gave me the wrong room, despite it be reasonably ok to stay; but forced to move to another room the next morning. He said... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yen K
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Yen, Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with us. I'm terribly sorry to hear about your check-in, usually our check ins are smoothly working and what you experienced definetly shouldn't happen. Thank you so much for your cooperation and understanding. However I'm happy to see that you liked the hostel facilities in general and that your... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

As a property, it is top notch (4-5 starts). Loved the vibe, the staff were friendly and it was good. I take it down 1 star however because on weekend nights, the street outside transforms into party central (at least in summer/fall). For several hours a steady bass beat resonated through the property, not ideal for the jet lagged. Raucous... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank anderezd
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Anderez, Thank you for leaving a review and thank you for your kind words! We know that the weekends can be a bit lively but however we hope that the location makes up for it. We hope to welcome you again sometime Best wishes, The Loft Team More 

Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Traveled w/ my boyfriend, we are 35-37. This was our 1st Hostel experience & I loved it! Met many people from different places. Everyone speaks English & was respectful. Incredible location, right downtown Reykjavik! Walking everywhere is perfect. Friendly, knowledgeable & helpful staff. Clean rooms. Stayed in a 8 bedroom(bunk beds), on the 3rd floor. Felt very safe here. Didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura H
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Laura, Thank you for your positive review! It seems like you had great time in Reykjavík and that's awesome :) Hopefully we'll see you again some other day, we'd love to welcome you back! Best wishes, The Loft Team More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Loft Hostel is located right in the city center and is affordable with a friendly staff. We got a private room for 4 with a private bathroom, and it smelled terrible like mildew and body odor, or the smell of a men's locker room. The windows did not open and there was not good ventilation. I really wanted to love... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Lauren, Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear about your experience. I'm afraid that we might have had some ventilation problems during your stay. We are aware of the fact that the windows don't open (the ones facing the street) to prevent street noise getting in, however the ventilation is designed to be well functioning with... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Loft hostel is right in downtown, so everything we wanted to see was walk-able. My friends and i had private rooms both nights. The halls were quiet and we slept great. The bathroom wasn't as clean as I'd like, but that is pretty much standard for a hostel of this size. I would definitely stay here again. The staff booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
SigridurOla, Manager at Loft Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara, Thank you for this good and helpful feedback! First of all, I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at Loft and that you had good times in Reykjavík! I'm sorry to read about lack of cleanliness in your bathroom, but we'll use your review as chance for us to improve! Hoping you come back some other... More 

373 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (221)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (36)
Viewed
Eight Bed Dorm (45)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 59 in Reykjavik
888 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 59 in Reykjavik
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 59 in Reykjavik
431 reviews
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Loft, recently voted by guests as the best HI hostel worldwide for 2014. Loft is located downtown Reykjavik, on city's main street, next door to all the major attractions and buzzing nightlife. Loft boasts one of the finest views in town with its large top floor balcony cafe overlooking the center - a great spot to people watch or catch a glimpse of the northern lights in winter. Loft Cafe & Bar offers top quality Cemex coffee, beer from local breweries as well as some homemade sweet and savory treats. The famous (often vegetarian/vegan) Coocoo's Soup is served Mon-Fri from lunch. Fast and free WiFi throughout all areas. Facilities include guest kitchen with BBQ terrace. Free luggage storage during stay. Free Computer access. Board Games. Book Exchange. Children's Corner. Selections of great rooms! All rooms have complementary linen. All rooms are en suite. All 4-8 bedded rooms have lockers for valuables (bring your own lock or buy at the reception). Spacious 6 - 8 bedded dormitories (mixed / female only). Private 4-5 bedded rooms. Deluxe Double or budget Twin/Double rooms. Loft is an ECO certified HI Hostel. Inspiring events every week: live music, DJ's, movie nights, markets, art collaborations and unmissable hostel events featuring the best local talents. Foosball tournaments. Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe & Bar is open 24 hours a day. We are there to help you out with anything; give you the local scoop on bars, restaurants, music-scene, the way out of town - and more. We arrange all excursions with complimentary pickup & drop off. Loft Team awaits you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Loft Hostel

Address: Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Price Range: $56 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Loft Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Loft Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Loft Hostel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Loft Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask that you have the "RIGHT" room, and ensure they don't overcharged you!”
 of 5 bubbles 86yk, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get earplugs if you don't like a little noise. People are constantly going in and out or snoring.”
  • This is 1 pic of a view from our room. Don't let the graffit scare you. This is a great location
 of 5 bubbles laurahW5581OO, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor rooms facing away from the main street are quieter and have windows that open.”
 of 5 bubbles 511SylviaL, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If your sensitive to noise, this is not the place to stay. The doors always close loudly with a thud.”
  • The charming building directly across from the Loft Hostel
  • a longer walk up the street will take you to a more affordable grocery store
  • Just up this street is a Subway and Dunkin Donuts for more affordable foods. Food is expensive
 of 5 bubbles MarchingAnts, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“avoid rooms that face the main street----midnight sun means midnight partying!”
 of 5 bubbles wvwebby, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay