We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Cabin

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,011 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,685: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Cabin
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Bad food. Small rooms. Thin walls, so you can forget about a good night sleep here. Half of the rooms has a "window" to the corridor. They are probably the worst rooms! We where sent here by our airline after a cancellation of flight. Not impressed!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andreas E
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There's not much to say about this hotel. It's a budget hotel and you get what you pay for, small rooms. Since I had a room for myself I had enough space to put my suitcase down, but there wasn't a actual closet. Breakfast and dinner is okay, nothing special, good for salads but only 1 warm meal. Beds are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katrin G
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear Katrin G, Thank you for the review of your recent stay at hotel Cabin. Regarding the rooms, we are aware that they are small. The standard rooms are our cheapest accommodation and you do get smaller rooms, but you do also pay budget price. You do have the option of booking a superior/deluxe room if you prefer larger rooms....

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent a night in this hotel because of an unforeseen stop-over due to a delay in a flight from Paris with Icelandair. I don't know how much the airline s charged for this overnight stay but don't expect anything beyond the basic. The room was so small that I could barely put my suitcase without obstructing the way.. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 28970Patrick
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear 28970Patrick, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not quite meet your expectations. It is our policy to offer good accommodation for a reasonable price. The standard rooms are small but comfortable. They are ideal for those who wish to spend less on accommodation. For...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed her for 3 nights in March and the hotel was booked for us as part of Intrepid Iceland tour. The reception area is manned with helpful staff and the licenced lounge was busy and atmospheric. Our standard room for 2 was indeed tiny and although this is well documented we were still surprised by its basic compact size....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank il0vemarrakech
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear il0vemarrakech, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the nice and clean rooms, the sufficient breakfast and the reasonable location which indeed has a lovely view. As you mentioned, you do have the opportunity to upgrade to a superior room if you prefer larger rooms. Regarding the minimal space in...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well is actually ok. Not outstanding, not poor. Just enough to be value for money. Rooms clean & tidy. Warm.restaurant buffet was a little ordinary for choice. Not a bad location. Easy access to domestic airport. Would I stay again. Yes.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aussiejashank
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear aussiejashank, Thank you for your review and for your stay. We are glad to know that your stay was almost what you expected :) Hotel Cabin is a budget hotel and it is our policy to offer good accommodation for a reasonable price. Great to read that you thought we are a value for the money. Thank you for...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Like previous commentator I have also just returned from Reykjavik with a (small) group of students. Fortunately we were on the first floor as there was a lot of noise from students on floors above. There were often five large school groups making up majority of guests. I did feel sorry for other guests and would be concerned at staying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PLJ_11
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear PLJ_11, Thank you for your review and for your recent stay with us. We really appreciate that you shared your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve our services. We do have some school groups coming to us, most of them are well behaved kids with a presentable and respectful teacher. Great to know that you liked...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good location. Rooms very small and basic. Hotel clean enough. Rammed with school groups (including ours). Not all teachers controlling behaviour as pupils spread across hotel which meant many running around corridors till well into the night. Small inadequate communal spaces for pupils. Food buffets very limited and pack lunches only just edible. Vegetarians not catered for on two days....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloe J
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear Chloe J, Thank you for your review and for your stay at hotel Cabin. We are sorry that your stay was not what you expected. We do have some school groups coming to us and most of them are well behaved kids with a presentable and respectable teacher - we try to address all noise complaints as they occur....

battle Lake, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love this hotel! The rooms are very adequate with good storage. Full bath with tub and shower. I like the top floor as one has a great view of the sea. Cleaned daily, the staff is wonderful, the buffet is quite nice. There is a bar, a small gift shop, a lift, It is great!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon033
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear sharon033, Thank you so much for your review and for your stay at hotel Cabin. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very much so looking forward having you as our guest again in the near future! :) Best wishes, hotel Cabin crew

Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For a terrific three-night stay in Reykjavik, Hotel Cabin is a great economy hotel, with friendly helpful service, a clean, spacious restaurant serving a buffet three times a day, and a licensed lounge. The food is simple, delicious and priced right, the beer is reasonably priced, and Cabin is within a 15 minute walk from "101", central Reykjavik, and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vince c
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear vince c, Thank you so much for your review and for your stay at hotel Cabin, we are so pleased to know that your 3-night stay was an excellent one :) We are also happy to know that you enjoyed the great customer service, the comfy rooms, the free wi-fi, the pricing, the hot water and the amazing view...

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a week in April 2017. We loved this hotel - it was exactly what we needed. Yes, the rooms are tiny (especially if you are not used to European hotel rooms), but we expected this going in, and hardly spent any time in the hotel room anyway (who sits inside when you are in ICELAND?). The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahlyn4
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear sarahlyn4, Thank you so much for your review and for your stay at hotel Cabin. We are so pleased to know that your stay was exactly what you needed! We are also happy to know that you liked the clean and comfortable rooms, the amazing view, the helpful staff and the lobby cat :) He comes by now and...

713 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (536)
Viewed
Room/Suite (125)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
View from Room (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (104)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (182)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Standard Room (28)
Viewed
Superior Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
365 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#41 of 52 in Reykjavik
517 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
469 reviews
Hotel Klettur
#30 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,531 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Price Range: $159 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Cabin staff and other travellers.
74 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (74)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Cabin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If space is important consider upgrading.”
il0vemarrakech, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check your room has a proper window, not one opening on to corridor.”
PLJ_11, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the north side facing the street.”
458vincec, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“the top rooms were apparently the best”
jersey95, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you want a view, ask for a room on the entrance side”
vacationdrmr, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5