We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Reykjavik
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,148: English reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Wonderful hotel! 100% recommended! New and modern decoration. The standard rooms are quite big and fully equipped. Food was lovely, wide selection for breakfast, and the food in the bar was also really nice. Great value for money! Only one inconvenient... Not great location, but the hotel provides free transfers to city centre. I would come back to this hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alrula84
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and our services mentioning our breakfast, bar and our free shuttle service. We are looking forward welcoming you again in our hotel. Yours Sincerely, Stefan Juliusson Assistant Hotel Manager

Brandon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Stayed here with a large group (30 from UK) in March 2016. It's quite a large hotel, with a large number of rooms that have no natural daylight or access to fresh air. Those rooms were very warm, even with heating turned off, and the air conditioning was very noisy which meant folk couldn't have it on all night to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L13B
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your extensive review. I do hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we do have atrium view rooms which are our standard room category. The sunlight shines into those rooms through our glass roof and is supplied with fresh air through an a/c unit. A bed board is available and I do not...

Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewed 31 March 2016

The staff were very friendly and accommodating to all of our needs! This hotel was always clean and very prompt to clean our room. I felt at home and comfortable during our entire stay and I highly, highly, highly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Casey P
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you highly recommend us. It confirms that we are doing something right and want to even do better in the future. Yours Sincerely, Stefan Juliusson Assistant Hotel Manager

Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights on a city break. Kind of glad we didn't stay for any more. On arrival we waited over 2 hours to get into our room because it was not ready, which really messed around with a schedule for the trip (as we had excursions booked for as soon as we got there). Dinner in hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josie S
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Iceland. You do not mention when you arrived at the hotel, but we do our best to give all our guests a room when they check in. It is also possible to store your luggage in our luggage room if you are going on...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Stayed at this hotel on two separate nights - in two separate rooms. First night on level 5 was lovely and quiet. Other night on level one was a little bit noisy probably due to machinery in the basement - but not so disturbing as to require a room change. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 48Ashu
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that you had a lovely stay. We are working on providing excellent service and we are happy that you enjoyed it. The "Cheerios" are really Cheerios. We are always reevaluating our breakfast options and you comment is really appreciated. Thank you again for your review and we do hope that...

Reviewed 30 March 2016

The hotel was impressive and clean. The staff were helpful and polite. Breakfast was buffet style with a wide selection. For lunch and dinner there was a restaurant and food could also be ordered at the bar. I didn't try the restaurant but did order food from the bar which was good, though more than once the chips weren't hot....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HolidaySpoon
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you for your extensive review. We are happy that you mention our helpful and polite staff. We are located in the city of Reykjavik just next to the city center and there is more around the hotel than a petrol station. There is a larger outdoor area, Laugardalur, with a large swimming pool. There are also a few restaurants...

Faringdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for work at the beginning of the month. The room was clean and warm. Breakfast was substantial with a good gluten-free section too. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the sea front. From there it's easy to get to the Opera House and town centre. The staff were very polite and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarrieBBD
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and our gluten-free section and our polite and helpful staff. Thank you again for your review. Yours Sincerely, Stefan Juliusson Assistant Hotel Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2016

This is a great hotel. Very modern and clean. We stayed for 3 nights in mid March. I chose this hotel because it had free parking and we hired a car for our stay (something I would recommend in Iceland). It is out of the city a bit but only takes about 5 mins drive to get to the harbour....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank April M
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and in Iceland. We are in the process of maintaining our AC units in our Atrium rooms and we should be finished with that in the next few days. We are happy that you mentioned that our hotel is clean and modern....

Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

We are a couple aged 24 and 34 and went to Iceland 10th-14th February. We booked this hotel through Thomson travel agents as they offered the northern lights and golden circle trip within the package deal. The first thing I will say is that I HIGHLY recommend you book this trip with Thomson as they did an outstanding job from...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hannah W
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely and extensive review. It is great that you enjoyed your trip to Iceland. We always want to do our best to please our guests and make the stay a memorable one. We are looking forward welcoming you next time you visit Iceland. Yours Sincerely, Stefan Juliusson Assistant Hotel Manager

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2016

The staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food in both the restraunt and the bar area was good. We did make good use of the happy hour for cocktails which is 17:00 to 19:00 each night. Slightly out of town but a great base, plenty of parking and all the bus trips pickup from...

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank roslynf93
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us and our happy hour. We are looking forward welcoming you again in our hotel next time you visit Iceland. Yours Sincerely, Stefan Juliusson Assistant Hotel Manager

670 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (543)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (154)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (218)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (127)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,259 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#24 of 52 in Reykjavik
992 reviews
Hotel Holt
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Price Range: $207 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Reykjavik staff and other travellers.
58 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (58)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Reykjavik staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Junior Suite was great. South view was stellar.”
 of 5 bubbles KandJ_Alaska, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“12th floor was quiet and had great views.”
 of 5 bubbles katherinej372, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't be on the inner courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles Frequentfisher, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on level 8 or above. Better views.”
 of 5 bubbles jasonmiller0910, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are better”
 of 5 bubbles 570janinew, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay