We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Reykjavik
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,073: English reviews
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

We visited this hotel as a stop over at the start and end of a tour booked on Secret Escapes. Good hotel generally. Sound location. Decent breakfast buffet with a hot and continental selection. Complained after night 1 as there was an odd smell in the room we'd been given. On our return visit I guess our complaint paid off... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo F
Stefan J, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us, both times. It may be that it was not because of your complaint that you got a junior suite, but because you are lovely guests. We are happy that you did not get a heart attack in our lobby when you received your... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Greeted by a large atrium which spanned far beyond our heads into a glass ceiling, the hotel itself is lovely and exactly like the pictures. Myself and my partner had booked a five night holiday to Iceland to explore the geothermal spa's, do the golden circle tour and see another Scandinavian country. The hotel staff are a bit standoffish. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David L
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do our best to fulfill all requests we receive from our guests. Sometimes, regrettably, it is not possible. A double bed can only be requested when making a reservation for a double room in our hotel so I can not see how a double bed was reserved. All your comments made here will be... More 

1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

A smooth and uneventful stay. Centrally located and easy access to the town centre. Lack of food options, especially given the room rates. Hotel overcharged golden circle tour excursion by two and a half times to our bill and not an apology when this was pointed out. Such mistakes shouldn't really happen.

Helpful?
Thank Anurag G
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We are very happy that you stay was smooth and uneventful. We do have various food options, a restaurant and two bars. Room service is available as well. There is no problem in adding more food options on our menus but this will hurt the quality of the food we serve. Lowering the quality of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

My fiance and I visited Iceland the beginning of Feb this year. It was a trip to hopefully see the northern lights and visit the blue lagoon. We booked on Expedia website and it showed us a list of hotels. Loved the look of the Grand Hotel in Rekyavik so we booked it. When we arrived we weren't disappointed at... More 

Helpful?
Thank djsammy05
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We thank you for your lovely words when you describe our hotel, spa and staff. I do hope that you were able to see the northern lights and visit the Blue lagoon. Thank you again for your review and we are looking forward welcoming you again in our hotel. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Reykjavik. It was a very nice hotel, with clean well decorated rooms and lobby. The staff at reception was very helpful. Daily breakfast was included in our stay, and the breakfast was good. Had lots of choices and tasty food. One day I was able to see the Northern lights from my bed in... More 

Helpful?
Thank GaiaT20
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review. Wow, it is wonderful that you were able to see the northern lights from your bed. We have heard that a few times that other guests have also seen them from their rooms. We are very happy that your stay was great and it would be great to have the chance to... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

The Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a nice hotel located a short taxi ride away from the centre of Reykjavik. A taxi ride can cost anywhere between 1,800 ISK to 2,600 ISK or between £9 to £14 depending on the taxi company and route taken. The hotel itself looks very modern inside and the rooms are of a satisfactory standard, nothing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas641
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I would like to thank you for a good description of the hotel but I would like to make two corrections so not to disorientate our future guests. The hotel is not out of town and the free shuttle bus is not driving to Reykjavik because the hotel is in Reykjavik. For a... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff are very helpful. Kevin went beyond his role... Many thanks to him. Hotel was a bit further out, although there were 3 free shuttle services each day to the centre. Also meant we were the first to be dropped off after the trips. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It is great that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you liked our breakfast. We are thankful that you recommend us and look forward welcoming you again in our hotel when you visit Iceland again. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner recently stayed here (10th-13th Feb) and we couldn't fault anything. From the super friendly staff to the food served at breakfast we enjoyed our entire stay. Although breakfast was yummy for the price we paid we would have expected a little more variety. I enjoyed it and there was plenty for me to choose from but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alicehenry1991
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It is obvious that you had a great stay in our hotel as well as in Iceland. The view from our executive view rooms, is very beautiful and we are glad that you like the room. We are happy that you want to stay with us again and we are looking forward welcoming you... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Easy check in, nice, spacious room, albeit on the ground floor with very little to see out of the window. We didn't eat at the restaurant, very expensive and to be honest, nothing on the menu particularly grabbed us. Ate a couple of evenings in the bar, nice food, still quite expensive at around £35 for something like a burger... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathryn L
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you liked the food in our bar. Due to state taxation, alcoholic beverages are very expensive in Iceland and the bill for food and drink can be a bit high compared to other countries. We do have hair dryers available and you should have been given one. I will... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Can't praise this hotel enough. From the moment we arrived, the staff were helpful and friendly. We were rushing to get to our northern lights tour and were unsure if we had missed our pick up, so they called the company for us and arranged for them to come and pick us up. The rooms are a lovely decent size,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeLouise58
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy that we were able to make your stay in Iceland enjoyable. It is great that you were able to see the northern lights on your way to the hotel. When you come back to Iceland we look forward welcoming you in our hotel. More 

637 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (509)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (146)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (200)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (128)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 59 in Reykjavik
3,150 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#24 of 59 in Reykjavik
882 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Price Range: $180 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Reykjavik staff and other travellers.
47 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (47)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Reykjavik staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on high level if given an atrium view”
 of 5 bubbles travel123003, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“personally i'd ask for a room with an outside view”
 of 5 bubbles hayleyj953, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for 5th floor or higher”
 of 5 bubbles reinaldk2016, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors quieter and roomy .”
 of 5 bubbles pattieuk, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be careful of noise from the bar ..so maybe go a bit higher ?”
 of 5 bubbles mcallistern, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay