We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Reykjavik
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,149: English reviews
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Lovely lobby, we had 2 jr suites on the 13 th floor- P on elevator. Large simple room and huge bath. Not much clutter , huge closets. Flowers and wine in room on arrival. Robe & slippers. Good wifi, amazing views from almost the top of the place. Very decent breakfast buffet. BUT....we asked the clerk on the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hafkiwi
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The front desk clerk did contact me straight after reading your review. She claimed that she did the reservation and remembers it very well. Perhaps there is a possibility that some one else lost the reservation at the other side of...

Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

A good hotel just on the outskirts of town. Decent sized rooms. Shower reasonable not not very powerful. Shower gel and soap is via a dispenser so not great if you've not bought your own. The walk to the centre is about 20 mins and is easy to get to. The walk west along the coast - 1.5 miles to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BurleyBoy-XLondoner
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thankful that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of us are working hard so that our guests can have a memorable and enjoyable stay. I thank you for your points that you mentioned and will use them to improve our service and amenities for our future guests. If you come back...

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

I've nothing bad to say about our stay at the grand, our room was comfortable, clean and warm, the staff were friendly and really helpful in helping us with advise on where to visit and when. The breakfast buffet probably expanded my waist by about 4 inches, lots of choice and something for everyone and bar area was a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Blutoagain
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your advice is really helpful to our future guests. Thank you again for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you again. Yours Sincerely, Stefan Juliusson Assistant Hotel Manager

Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff very willing to help. Good size room and modern decor. Free car parking and wifi. Breakfast was delicious with option of organic food. The mini bar in the room wasn't working and we found hair from previous guest in the shower, but overall I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Reykjavik.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vivian O
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We thank you for your kind words regarding your stay in our hotel. It is wonderful that you enjoyed our organic breakfast. We are very proud of being the only hotel in Reykjavik that has certified organic breakfast selection. Not so wonderful are the two other items you mentioned. Housekeeping has been advised to be...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2016

4 couples staying on the 5th floor for 3 nights. The rooms were all really spotless. No issues with noise. The bathrooms were also spotless and towels replaced daily. The breakfast was the usual mix of hot/cold foods. We never booked the breakfast online but paid each morning with cash and/or card. you could also charge the breakfast to your...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cmoresons
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that all of you enjoyed your stay with us in which you especially mention our spotless rooms and bathrooms. Thank you again for your wonderful review. Yours Sincerely, Stefan Juliusson Assistant Hotel Manager

Reviewed 15 May 2016

This hotel was the most uncomfortably hot place we have ever stayed. I'm talking about an outside temperature of 9 degrees centigrade, and an in room temperature approaching 28. The hallways were even worse! This has been noted in several other reviews, and true to form, the reception staff feigned ignorance when asked why the room was so hot, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TSJW
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always our mission to make our guests feel comfortable with good memories. We have received complaints about that some rooms are too warm but until now only in our atrium rooms. As soon as I read your review, it made a priority to fix as we regard a good nights sleep as a...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

This hotel is great if you want to stay right in the heart of Reykjavik. Super easy to get to, and ample parking for guests is really nice. Most of the staff is spectacular!! For a quick place to stay, this place is perfect. And the lobby is very cool as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlyingPiglet2
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are very happy to hear that we are sometimes doing a good job. Should you ever be in Reykjavik again, then we look forward welcoming you again in our hotel. Yours Sincerely, Stefan Juliusson Assistant Hotel Manager

Reykjavík
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We were told we would have a single king/queen bed but had two twin beds. The concierge was completely rude and unhelpful in resolving this problem. The porter did not offer to take our bags up to our room and the shower smelled like rotten eggs. Would strongly recommend all visitors to NOT stay at this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank matthewmM1198SG
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do remember your stay with us. We did receive your reservation through a third party which means that there were at least 2 other parties involved between both of us. I researched that myself. On the reservation we received, there is no request for double beds. We did handle all requests on this day...

Lakeland, Florida
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. We had a great experience and loved the hotel. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is the distance from downtown. They have a shuttle that runs 3x per day (a taxi the pay for) but the latest it runs is 5:30pm and if you're on an excursion...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BennyandSam
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us and "loved" us. We appreciate your warm words about our hotel and the breakfast. We can understand that you would have wanted to be staying closer to your places of interest as many of our other guests do when they choose us. Thank...

Romsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Second visit to this relaxing, peaceful hotel, near our favourite pool at L.augardalur (5minute walk). Easy parking, good views if lucky, comfortable beds and excellent buffet breakfast. Staff very friendly. Fine dinning in the evening, but difficult to book as for second time running our booking was mislaid, but we had superb meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spinone2013
Stefan J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It makes us all very happy to hear that you are enjoying your stay with us for the second time. We always do our best to be friendly to our guests and to offer good service as well as good food in our fine dining restaurant. We are are also very happy that...

670 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (543)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (154)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (218)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (127)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,261 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#24 of 52 in Reykjavik
997 reviews
Hotel Holt
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Price Range: $208 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Reykjavik staff and other travellers.
58 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (58)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Reykjavik staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a higher floor - you wont regret it!”
 of 5 bubbles 86ashleyb, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Junior Suite was great. South view was stellar.”
 of 5 bubbles KandJ_Alaska, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“12th floor was quiet and had great views.”
 of 5 bubbles katherinej372, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't be on the inner courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles Frequentfisher, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on level 8 or above. Better views.”
 of 5 bubbles jasonmiller0910, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay