We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

32 Tungata

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
32 Tungata
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Leeuwarden
Level Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an apartment build in a garage, one room, kitchen and bathroom. I was surprised how warm was inside, I never had the feeling that once that place was a garage. It was clean, we could find any kind of menage, plates, cooking pans, glases... We never got to know the owner, but everything went perfect. Also we could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pepusina
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The apartment is on a quiet street a short walk (10 min) to harbor but longer walk to the old town area (we found a wonderful café for breakfast along the Harbor. See my separate review I will post for the Café Haiti). Very large apartment. We had the one in the basement which has windows facing the street (not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg B
Jon J, Owner at 32 Tungata, responded to this review

Thank your taking time to review my apartment. I value guests reviews as well as them letting me know if something is wrong in the apartment and always respond immediately. In your case on the day you left I received info from you via email about the shower drain not functioning and immediately went to the apartment and made sure... More 

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Have always stayed in hotels before,but this apartment is excellent for location (but be aware that,like us,you have to push a manual wheelchair,the property is on a hill! It's my fault-I should have Google-Earthed it!). It is minimally furnished in a retro style (we loved it!),but has everything you need. Excellent well-equipped kitchen,plenty of heating if you need it and,most... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
Jon J, Owner at 32 Tungata, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review my apartment. I value this and do take notice of all critic good or bad. More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

Loved out stay at 32 Tungata. We stayed in a two bedroom basement apartment. It was very cozy. It almost felt like a cabin in the woods but located just a few blocks from the city center. The manager was supper nice and even met us in the early morning to let us leave our bags. Great place, great location.

Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
Jon J, Owner at 32 Tungata, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review my apartment. I value this and do take notice of all critic good or bad. More 

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

We stay in tungata apartment over a year ago and still now thinking it was our best Holliday!very nice and comfy accommodation near by to Centrum! We did loads of trips and all of them where fantastic! we saw northen lights even from our apartment but you must be lucky to see them!I will be happy to come back!!Thank you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miki M
Jon J, Owner at 32 Tungata, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review my apartment. I value this and do take notice of all critic good or bad. More 

Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We stayed a 32 Tungata in October 2015. This was a great location, especially if you take advantage of the tours. I am pretty particular about beds and this one was vey comfortable. We have a king size at home, but found this to be more than adequate, It was great of have a place to cook, as eating out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mitzi60
Jon J, Owner at 32 Tungata, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review my apartment. I value this and do take notice of all critic good or bad. More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2015

The appartment has a great location and you can reach most of the attractions in Reykjavik by foot from it. It's very basic, but works well. Beds were good. Baththub was so dirty we didn't dare to use it, and the bathroom wasn't that clean, but it served it's purpose for our stay. Would stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank Aerona72
Jon J, Owner at 32 Tungata, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of my place. It is always helpful to read them. Im sorry to read that you found the bathroom dirty as we scrub it from ceiling to floor between every guest. As we write in our welcome letter left for our guests, we do know that the old bathtub may look dirty due to limestone... More 

Kenilworth
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We stayed for a week in the converted garage. Communications were good and we felt expected and welcome. The apartment has everything you need for a self catering visit with lots of nice touches. If I was being picky then the bathroom is a little tired, but this is made up for by the massive availability of hot water. Tungata... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
Jon J, Owner at 32 Tungata, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review my apartment. I value this and do take notice of all critic good or bad. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2015

This was our second visit to Iceland and we loved it as much this time as we did 2 years ago. It is so easy to get to from the east coast of the US. So even though we were just there for the weekend, because it was over the summer solstice and having the 24 hour sun, it felt... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank smurfette700
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We stayed in the main house apartment of 32 Tungata. (This house has three separate units for rent: the garage, the basement, and the main house.) The house is a GREAT location - very walkable to most attractions in town - and has free parking on the street. The main floor has two VERY large bedrooms with a king bed... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank canuckinboulder

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Arcturus Guesthouse Reykjavik
#31 of 115 in Reykjavik
28 reviews
Embassy Luxury Apartments
#6 of 115 in Reykjavik
232 reviews
Kerno Apartments
#12 of 95 in Reykjavik
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Captain Reykjavik Guesthouse
#3 of 115 in Reykjavik
205 reviews
Lighthouse Apartments
#37 of 95 in Reykjavik
42 reviews
Miõborg
Brattagata Guesthouse
Brattagata Guesthouse
#23 of 95 in Reykjavik
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about 32 Tungata

Address: Tungata 32, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Price Range: $147 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 32 Tungata 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 32 Tungata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 32 Tungata staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from 32 Tungata staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good deal for price.”
 of 5 bubbles Mitzi60, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“There are only two appartments. We had the one in the basement, not sure where the other one is.”
 of 5 bubbles Aerona72, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Converted garage is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterG121, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We had the independent apartment around the back of the property.....very private...very quiet. Loved it!”
 of 5 bubbles 631CharlesM631, 2 Mar 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay