We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Exeter Hotel

Save
Share
Tryggvagata 12, Reykjavik 101 Iceland
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
USD 181
View deal
eDreams
Expedia.comUSD 186
travelup.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (142)
Room & Suite (89)
Dining (17)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#18 of 61 hotels in Reykjavik
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Exeter Hotel is a modern and cool boutique hotel, ideally situated in downtown Reykjavik, by the Old Harbor area with all the best activities close by. The hotel offers an in-house restaurant and a bakery, as well as a sauna and fitness room. Each room at Exeter Hotel is designed with industrial décor, modern furnishings and wooden floors. Every room has a smart TV, refrigerator and Nespresso coffee machine. Some rooms also feature a sea/mountain, or city and/or garden view.
Read more
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Icelandic
344Reviews17Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 228
  • 88
  • 20
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Angela Keene wrote a review Nov 2021
Trumbull, Connecticut2 contributions
The pictures on booking.com were accurate- this hotel has a really cool vibe! Industrial-chic, clean, modern, and artsy. My room has a stunning view of the Old Harbor and Mount Esja from a glass-paned door that I could open to let in fresh air. There is also a gym here, which is a huge plus to me. And breakfast was more than I expected as well, with plenty of options. As for location, this hotel is walking distance to the main shopping stretch and there are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby! And last but not least, the staff are friendly and helped me extend my stay for a discounted price! Special thanks to Kinga and Van!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
fruitylolo wrote a review Nov 2021
London64 contributions35 helpful votes
We just returned from our stay and we absolutely loved it. The hotel is quirky and funky, with an amazing bakery that sells donuts and fresh bagels daily. We loved our room, the industrial decor and the shower was huge! We also had a stunning mountain view. Only thing to note is there is no wardrobe which was a bit odd but we didn’t care too much, there was a hanging rail. I thought the included breakfast was really yummy and fresh. If I had a suggestion it would be to include more hot options, as all you can really have is cereal, yogurt or toast. Also, there was only peanut butter and jam to have every day on toast which did get boring but the peanut butter was absolutely delicious so not too much of an issue - we still enjoyed it! I would definitely recommend staying here. Such a great location, you can walk into the main part of Reykjavik in 5 mins!!! Also, the rooms are so quiet and the beds are so comfy I slept like a baby. Also the additions of the smart tv and the speaker is such a great and modern idea - really well thought through. We really enjoyed using the speaker!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Leslie T wrote a review Nov 2021
Spokane, Washington4 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I had a terrific stay at the Exeter - twice actually. We stayed there both at the beginning of our trip, left Reykjavik to tour up in the North, then came back and stayed a few more days before heading home. Accommodations top notch both times - different rooms and different views - both great! The Exeter is centrally located for exploring the beautiful city of Reykjavik, great offerings for breakfast, and the staff were warm, welcoming and so helpful! I almost stumped one of them asking about any local bars that might offer mead (my new favorite adult beverage) and they went over and above trying to locate a spot that offered it. We will definitely be back – regardless of the availability of mead 😊
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Lara Kaaber, General Manager at Exeter Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Itoel thank you for choosing to stay wit us - twice! And for taking the time to post your feedback. I am delighted to read your review and I will make sure to pass your lovely comments on to my excellent team. We look forward to welcoming you back, and who knows..we might find you some more mead :) All the best Lara Hotel Manager
Read more
hel wrote a review Oct 2021
Reykjavik, Iceland1 contribution
hotel manager is crap, she was very rude to us. Love the place but the hotel mananger was rude to us and she didn’t even talk to us she was just straight rude and mean to customers. we were just enjoying drinks at le cock and she out of nowhere gave us attitude
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Lara Kaaber, General Manager at Exeter Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Compass11053507974 Thank you for posting your review, or perhaps rather; your opinion of me. When purchasing refreshments from a restaurant or a bar, that is attached to a hotel that you are not staying at; it is rather common knowledge that you consume the purchased beverages in the same vicinity you purchase them from - and not in the hotel lobby on the upper floor. Prior to my arrival at this particular scene, you were informed by a front desk staff member that you were not allowed to sit there with your beverages, you chose to ignore this information. My number one priority is always my hotel guests experience and comfort. And you, along with your large group were a disturbance to that comfort and were therefore asked to move back to the bar where you purchased your beverages from, and where bar guests are indeed intended to sit. If by this I offended you, then all I can tell you is - being offended is your choice. But hopefully you will think again before bringing a group of people, consuming alcoholic drinks to a very small and quiet hotel lobby – a lobby that is intended for hotel guests to sit down and await their check in, book tours, read, wait for their tour pickup, or simply hang out. I wish you all the best
Read more
Logan wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
The hotel is located perfectly, and has an amazing design--a combo of raw materials and cozy feel. The staff was all pleasant. Having a restauraunt, bar, and bakery in the building was a plus. Only downside is the restauraunt had a limited menu. Our room was small, next time we would stay with a larger room or suite. Some parts of our room were dusty, but nothing terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Window that overhands the street, and allows better views of the harbor from 401-415
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Lara Kaaber, General Manager at Exeter Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you dear 489logan, for posting your pleasant review. Lovely to hear you liked the facilities and had an enjoyable stay with us. The small dusty part has been analyzed and addressed by housekeeping. All the best to you Team Exeter!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 87 - USD 283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Exeter Hotel by Keahotels
LOCATION
IcelandCapital RegionReykjavikMiðborg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
106
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Exeter Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Exeter Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hidden People Iceland (0.09 km), Skuli Craft Bar (0.3 km), and Aurora Reykjavik (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Exeter Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Exeter Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Exeter Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Exeter Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Matarkjallarinn - Foodcellar, BioBorgari, and Fish&Co.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Exeter Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is Exeter Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Reykjavik.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Exeter Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Icelandic.
Are there any historical sites close to Exeter Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Einar Jonsson Museum (Listasafn Einars Jonssonar) (1.1 km), The Settlement Exhibition (0.3 km), and Videy Island (4.5 km).
Is Exeter Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.