Exeter Hotel
Room 215
Traveller (280)
Room & Suite (129)
Exeter Hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

AU$300
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#5 of 60 hotels in Reykjavik
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Exeter Hotel is a modern independent lifestyle hotel situated in downtown Reykjavik, by the old Harbor area with all the best activities close by. The hotel offers an in-house restaurant and a bakery, as well as a sauna and fitness room. Each room at Exeter Hotel is designed with industrial décor, modern furnishings and wooden floors. Every room has a smart TV, refrigerator and coffee machine.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Paid public parking nearby
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Danish, Icelandic

Location

Tryggvagata 12, Reykjavik 101 Iceland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Reykjavik Domestic Airport
Keflavik Intl Airport
38.7 km
See all flights
821Reviews21Q+A66Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 601
  • 176
  • 30
  • 13
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Richard wrote a review Nov 2023
Fairford, United Kingdom6 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything was great at the Exeter Hotel.

Room - excellent, clean, great shower & amenities.
Breakfast - full choice of hot and cold items.
Staff - all friendly and helpful.
Location - ideal.
Atmosphere - a very chilled place to stay and hang around for a coffee, beer, beigel, live music; whatever you fancy.

We were a small group between 29-60 years old and we all felt the same and loved the hotel.

Highly recommend and I'll definitely return when I next visit Iceland.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Front Desk, Guest Services / Front Office at Exeter Hotel
Responded 20 Nov 2023
Dear Beloved Guest , Thank you for such a good review. we are glad that you liked your stay in our hotel and the service was up to your expectations . Hopefully , we will see you very soon. Youssef
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosie B wrote a review Feb 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom15 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are just finishing up our 5 day stay at the Exeter Hotel and feel sad to be leaving this amazing place (both the hotel and this beautiful country!).

We paid for a deluxe room with a harbour view, having read some of the reviews about the size of rooms, so can’t comment on the standard room (although I understand the amenities are exactly the same). The room is absolutely stunning - the decor is gorgeous and totally up our street. The bed is one of THE comfiest we’ve ever slept in and of course there are blackout curtains, which I understand are standard in Iceland due to the long summers, but really helped us sleep well.
There is a nespresso machine which comes in very handy when you are getting up early for one of the tours! The closest bus stop for the tours (number 4) is also just across the street.

The toiletries are really lovely quality Icelandic toiletries that feel like luxury, and you’re not limited to those annoying tiny hotel bottles you usually find in hotels. The shower is walk in, with a rain shower.
We learnt during one of our tours that all of the hot water in the city is geothermally heated and all the cold water is fresh from the source and all cold tap water in Iceland is therefore drinkable. Because of the natural heat source, we learnt that heating is often not turned off, which might be why some of the reviews comment on the rooms being warm. We just opened our window a little to let in some lovely fresh air.

We used the sauna a couple of times, which is beautifully clean and feels like you’re in a luxury spa. The gym is also very well equipped - cardio machines on the first floor and then weights equipment on the lower floor down a set of stairs.
There is a huge selection for breakfast. The bread was delicious!

We bought bagels and donuts from Deig bakery which were all delicious - highly recommend the creme brûlée donut!

We really won’t hesitate in booking this hotel again if we (hopefully!) come back to Reykjavík.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah A wrote a review Feb 2020
26 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Exeter hotel for 2 nights in January, and found the stay to be pretty good. The location of the hotel is excellent but the reason for the 4 stars rather than a 5 star rating is below:

- Parking: We arrived quite late in the day on Friday (about 8pm) and unfortunately there was no parking left in the underground car park. I had already read many reviews about the car park being small and having to arrive early to get a spot and so I can tell you this is indeed true! It’s not the hotels fault but it was incredibly busy around this area on a Friday night and so we ended up having to park quite far away from the hotel to find a space. The next day however, we did manage to move the car and get a space in the car park and this was around 1pm so it is possible. The car park is very tight to get out of so if you have a large car you’d need to be very careful!

- Room: When we got back to the hotel after parking up we got our key etc and went up to the room and as soon as we entered there was an awful smell of drains. I’m not normally one to change rooms, but this was so bad and considering the price of the hotel wasn’t really fair. We went to speak to reception and they managed to find us another suitable room which thankfully was much better with no smell! The new room was spacious and contemporary with a industrial chic vibe.

- Breakfast: breakfast is included in the price of the hotel but I wouldn’t say it’s fantastic since it’s all cold food such as cold boiled eggs, cereal, yoghurts. It can definitely still fill you up but I just found it a bit boring.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike M wrote a review Jan 2020
Oxford, United Kingdom58 contributions66 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is very close to the Old Harbour. On the plus side, the rooms and the rest of the hotel are very clean, and the beds extra comfortable. The walk in shower is an attractive feature, as is the underfloor heating in the bathroom. The staff are friendly and helpful,

On the minus side, the room we stayed in was very small indeed, with hardly enough room to swing a kitten, never mind a cat. The buffet breakfast is very extensive but not really a patch on others I've had in hotels with the same classification. The restaurant/bar is actually very expensive to eat or drink in, apart from breakfast. There is no guide to the facilities of the room.

When we visited, there was a problem with the doors, which are opened using a magnetic key. One day, the corridor door was inaccessible, and wasn't fixed for the duration of our stay. The door to our room had to be absolutely slammed to close it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MrsNash wrote a review Feb 2020
11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came for 5 days for our honeymoon and were thrilled with our room. It over looked the harbour and the view was spectacular. Room had great facilities, particularly liked the shower which was big enough for 2
Bed was super comfy and huge. The room got too hot at times but we just opened the balcony door for a bit to cool down.
The hotel is decorated in an industrial way which we loved.
The sauna was lovely and all very clean.
The breakfast was plentiful with some traditional Icelandic dishes on offer - I’ll be honest I stuck to the fruit and toast but there was a good variety of other foods. The plates and bowls are all enamel which fitted in with the feel of the place and I found it quite charming.
The restaurant served the most amazing burgers with potatoes that are delicious- I now need to try to recreate these at home for my husband!
Staff were friendly and helpful at all times
The location is perfect and we were able to explore the area easily as it was so central
Favourite part of the stay was watching storm Denis batter the harbour from our room - it was an amazing sight
All in all it was a perfect base for our honeymoon and we are just gutted that our airline wouldn’t let us stay here while we waited for our cancelled flight to be rescheduled
We would highly recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlym666 wrote a review Jan 2020
Mansfield, United Kingdom77 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here 02/01/20 to 05/02/2020 on our first trip to Iceland, it’s an amazing hotel in a great location by the harbour. The staff are really friendly and speak perfect English, they were efficient and welcoming.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and warm, the decor modern, the beds are super comfy and you have the benefit of a coffee maker, fridge, tv and safe. The bathroom was lovely and had underfloor heating which was lovely when you’d come in from being out in the cold all day.

Breakfast is severed in the burger bar which is part of the hotel (Le Kock) between 7 and 10am. We enjoyed fresh porridge and toast each morning but there were continental meats and cheese as well as cereals, fruit and boiled eggs. Coffee, hot chocolate, juice and water were all available, it was totally self service but you could order freshly cooked food if you wanted to but these were chargeable. During the day and into the evening Le Kock operates as an awarding winning burger bar and boy do they deserve that accolade, the burgers were amazing!

Also attached to the hotel is a bakery called Deig, do sample the lovely donuts and also the filled bagels that they sell. Everything is made on site each morning and you have full visibility of the bakers at work. Personal recommendations; the cinnamon ring donut and the smoked salmon bagel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Watsons A wrote a review Jan 2020
Heathfield, United Kingdom19 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here over New Year. Perfect location, within easy walking distance of the town and collection points for the tours. Rooms take a little getting used to, concrete walls and dark furniture is rather reminiscent of a prison cell and the dull lighting doesn't help but they were clean with tv, wifi, coffee facilities, comfy beds, good size bathroom (opening window, a godsend as the rooms were quite warm) and a good size bathroom with Icelandic toiletries. Even had two suitcase stands (almost unheard of anywhere else). Good choice at breakfast as I like cheeses and meats although my husband thought there should be hot food served in a 4* hotel without having to pay extra. Watch out for the 'discount in Le Kock for residents', this doesn't apply to everything as we later found out! Reception and cleaning staff very helpful and friendly although staff at breakfast left a lot to be desired, slow at clearing tables, no smiles etc. Overall we would stay again as it was so well located.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Liz J wrote a review Mar 2020
Rotherham, United Kingdom36 contributions34 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of February, for husbands 60th birthday, I did tell the receptionist this on checking in but we weren’t offered any special treats on the actual birthday date 29th Feb, would have been nice especially as he only has a birthday once every 4 years. Stayed in room 213, very small and cramped in the eves so banged our heads a few times, and a cold breeze blowing in from the window/radiator area so did not enjoy that part. The bed was comfy and the shower hot, would have preferred a kettle in the room rather than the Nespresso machine, but the tv, small fridge and sage were much appreciated. Breakfast was a cold continental style but there was plenty of choice and very much enjoyed. The one complaint was our transfer to airport on the final morning of our trip left before we breakfast opened so we missed it and when enquiring about a takeaway breakfast they said we would have to pay even though we had booked 4 nights bed and breakfast so that was not good at all especially as we had to go without breakfast for the long trip to the airport and my husband is diabetic! The bakery at the entrance to the hotel is very good, lovely creme brûlée doughnuts. Location is perfect for exploring the city and close to the marina. All in all the Exeter is an ok industrial styled hotel, but I would prefer a better room and service if we were to return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beate J wrote a review Jan 2022
Baar, Switzerland710 contributions224 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked 5 nights in this central located hotel in front of the harbour and the art Museum.
Grey Concrete and modern place. Rooms are small/fonctional, nearly space for 2 persons with 2 pieces of luggage, besides of the modernity. No wardrobe, an iron bar is what you get with 6 hangers, safe located below bett-side table. an important lack of lighting in room. Bathroom the opposite, lights white and spacious. Distribution of Room could be better!
Breakfast was masditribution place, tight, spare and poor presented buffet. One toaster for over 50 guests, set on plates with a lack of pasión.
Service overturned by clients, and the worst of all email Fischerinsel, plantes bowls split, not only a an eye destroyer but also does not acomplish the basics in sanitation and hygiene…
Actually the hotel is over priced for the service and standards
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Óskar Vignisson, General Manager at Exeter Hotel
Responded 1 Mar 2022
Dear BeateJ, I am truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you didn't feel that our hotel, the services were not for your taste and that you didn't feel it was a good value. Our modern and industrial interior design is certainly not for everyone's taste which we respect and try to be up front about with our guests, which we then try to make up with our fun, warm and personal service. I hope that you will visit Reykjavík again in the future and if so, please get in touch with me so I will be able to ensure that you will get the experience that you truly deserve. Warmest regards, Óskar
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
missdeedee2017 wrote a review Jan 2020
Dublin, Ireland2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful stay in Iceland. The hotel is in a perfect location for all the main sites and the bus stop for day excursions away form the city is literally across the road. Staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious and you could eat as much as you liked. Bed is exceptionally comfortable and the room has all amenities you need. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other couples, groups or families
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Norman K asked a question Mar 2023
North Kingstown, Rhode Island2 contributions
Are the rooms too hot? Can you regulate the temperature?
Edinburgh, United Kingdom18 contributions2 helpful votes
The rooms are not too hot and the windows they have you can open wide which does cool the room down quickly too.
Norman K asked a question Mar 2023
North Kingstown, Rhode Island2 contributions
Do you recommend Exeter Hotel for a 5 night stay?
Edinburgh, United Kingdom18 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes would recommend- I stayed for four nights and would go back
Answer from Lynn M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom23 contributions8 helpful votes
Breakfast starts at 7am
Answer from Juliet L
Bristol, United Kingdom161 contributions107 helpful votes
Bus stop #4. Right opposite the hotel (across the road). Really handy!
Drew213 asked a question Nov 2021
Bristol, England695 contributions142 helpful votes
Does this hotel offer any gluten free bread at breakfast?
kathbrisbane wrote a tip Yesterday
Shailer Park, Australia206 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Maybe worth getting a harbour view room."
Read full review
Rick M wrote a tip Apr 2024
Delray Beach15 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great little bakery and restaurant are located on the property. Definitely try the sauna."
Read full review
Tans80 wrote a tip Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking outside is limited to 3 hours but you can park for free over the road. Breakfast is really good."
Read full review
Joshua M wrote a tip Mar 2024
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get through the heat on your first night No windows in the room, only french doors (we slept with this open) "
Read full review
KevChesters wrote a tip Mar 2024
London, UK240 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good for breakfast."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Reykjavik area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$210 - AU$432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Exeter Hotel by Keahotels
LOCATION
IcelandCapital RegionReykjavikMiðborg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
106
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EXETER HOTEL (AU$210): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Reykjavik, Iceland) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Exeter Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Exeter Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hidden People Iceland (0.09 km), The Icelandic Punk Museum (0.5 km), and The settlement exhibition (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Exeter Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Exeter Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Exeter Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Exeter Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Exeter Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Himalayan Spice, Deig, and Kasbah Cafe Reykjavik.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Exeter Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is Exeter Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Reykjavik.
Are any cleaning services offered at Exeter Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Exeter Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Danish, and Icelandic.
Are there any historical sites close to Exeter Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Einar Jonsson Sculpture Museum (Listasafn Einars Jonssonar) (1.1 km), The settlement exhibition (0.3 km), and Videy Island (4.5 km).
All Reykjavik HotelsReykjavik Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ReykjavikHotels near Exeter Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars