We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Viking Village Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Viking Village Hotel
Viking Village Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Viking Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 251: English reviews
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Viking style...check, apparently clean...check. And from here we go down hill. The place is full of clutter that hasn't been moved in years, u can smell the dust, and despite the place is reasonably clean in surface if moving something or looking deeper you are in for a nasty surprise. The room was clean but kept on creating condensation every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexBM23
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I've done the whole golden circle tour of Iceland, and stayed at a lot of different types of hotels - big and small, in cities and in rural Iceland. My stay at Hotel Viking was the literal bottom of the barrel of my trip to Iceland. When my family and I checked in, we received very rude and poor treatment....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hfsarah
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed 20 October 2016

A cosy and a warm place to stay with great staff with warm attitude. In the restaurant you can eat almost anything from burgers to a real icelandic old food (and it's very special. I really recommend everyone to try it)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EinarAgust
Ester Ellen N, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hi EinarAgust, Thank you for your kind words. We're so happy that you find yourself at home here with us and recommend us so well! All the best!

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My wife and I visited Viking Village Hotel for her 50th birthday in February. It is a fantastic place to stay, the food is excellent and the staff superb, I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. . . . If you do visit please say Hi to the two hard working sisters that do a fantastic job of running the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth-Michelle-S
Ester Ellen N, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gareth-Michelle-S, Thank you so much for your kind review -and for allowing our family to pamper yours. We do hope you'll come back and celebrate some more with us!

Wales
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The staff were friendly, the food was really good and the accommodation was clean and practical. The wooden cabins were perfect for pupils to stay in. The best accommodation that we have stayed in during our eight years of visiting Iceland with 60 teenage pupils. Will definitely return. Location perfect as a base for visiting the country.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taffy73
Ester Ellen N, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Taffy73, Thank you thank you for your kind words! We're thrilled that your school group enjoyed us so much and do hope to see you again soon.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Loved the viking theme, everything was really well decorated and very cool to walk around and take a bunch of pictures. Restaurant was decent too, if a little pricey. Did have an issue with our bed, below the matress seemed to be missing some supports along the head board. If we laid down, the mattress would sag so much we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nworock
Ester Ellen N, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nworock, Thank you for staying with us and for writing about your experience. We're not happy to hear about the bed or the shower, but we will check this out and make sure they're fixed :) You'll be happy to note that the light for outside has been replaced (somehow, even though it starts getting dark every year this...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Recently returned from an awesome trip to Iceland and we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel was located about a 45 minutes drive from Keflavik airport and about 15 minutes drive to Reykjavik. It was a lovely location with lots of shops and restaurants all around the area, a bus stop right over the road and parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jen13062016
Ester Ellen N, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jen13062016, We love that you loved your stay with us and thank you kindly for writing about it! We'll forward your feedback to our staff --always makes their day bright to hear such positives. We look forward to welcoming you back some day! All the best!

Vernon, Connecticut
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We stayed for three nights, and had a room for three. It had good amount of space. The parking right at the hotel is not much, but plenty on the other side of the restaurant. WiFi in our room didn't work so well, but a walk down to the common room on the first floor, or a small sitting area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eugene F
Ester Ellen N, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Eugene F, Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Viking -and for taking time to write about your experience. We're glad you enjoyed it and welcome you back any time!

Barnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

My wife and I chose this hotel for our honeymoon, and we were not disappointed. All through the booking process at home, check-in, our stay, and check-out the staff bent over backwards to ensure our stay was great. We paid a little premium per night to ensure we had a larger room, while not massive, was plenty big for 2...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Dozeydustman
Ester Ellen N, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dozeydustman, You two were an absolute delight to have -thank you for chosing to celebrate your honeymoon with us and allow us to pamper you! And thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We genuinely appreciate all of the feedback we receive. We hope you will both come back and visit...

Attleborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Interesting! Would not stay here again but the room was relatively clean - it is just a bed for the night is how best to describe it. Some of staff were very helpful and others not so much! Further away from Reykjavik than we first thought. Best advice is to stay in the centre of Reykjavik were all the amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Inga H
Ester Ellen N, Public Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Inga H, We're glad you gave us a try! :)

564 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (290)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Cabin (46)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (30)
Viewed
Family Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (79)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)
Viewed
Triple Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
16.8 km away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
969 reviews
8.1 km away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
229 reviews
8.9 km away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 52 in Reykjavik
915 reviews
9.5 km away
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
4.8 km away
Hotel Smari
Hotel Smari
#2 of 2 in Kopavogur
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Viking has 56 well furnished and cozy rooms including shower, WC and television. The décor of the rooms on the first floor is Viking style and on the second floor it is a West Nordic theme. When you enter the Hotel, you are greeted with fine art and crafts from these three countries, Iceland, Greenland and the Faroe Islands. We have access to wireless Internet and free parking just outside the hotel. In our geothermal hot tub and sauna you can recuperate and freshen up and relax after a long day of excitement.Our guests are welcomed to our Fjörukráin,the Viking Restaurant, which is open for dinner from 18.00 every day.The style is Viking whereby during these famous feasts there is never a dull moment and the guests can expect various treats and surprises offered by our singing Valkyries and Vikings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Viking Village Hotel

Address: Strandgata 55, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Price Range: $172 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viking Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Viking Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Viking Village Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Viking Village Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room at the front with great views of the Harbour, we stayed in Room 2.”
 of 5 bubbles karent654, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“top floor rooms are great room 33 was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles alexanderd626, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the log cabins as hotel looks dull”
 of 5 bubbles paulthompson01, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms are on the higher floors and I would recommend though not large.”
 of 5 bubbles mil0d0g1, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try 2 or 3”
 of 5 bubbles johnsutton3, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay