We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Hotels.comUSD 240*
View Deal
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,032 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
See the most recent reviews
Showing 551: English reviews
Helsinki
Reviewed 18 April 2017

I stayed in Sokos Hotel Helsinki for one night with my partner for to celebrate our anniversary! For a student budget Standard room paid partly by Finnair Points was a very good experience with bath tap and wide bed. Thanks!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 589elinay
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear 589elinay I am pleased to hear that we were able to be part of making your anniversary special. Our receptionists try to find the best room for our customers. I am glad to see that we have succeeded in this. Thank for your taking time to review our hotel. You are most welcome again in Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki....

Rovaniemi, Finland
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Yet another good Sokos hotel experience: good location and really nice staff. However bad things were our room's poor sound proofing and really dry indoor air. Breakfast was pretty average, organic porridge and carelian pies were nice but coffee was not.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 256esaa
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear 256esaa Our breakfast is a large buffet where can be found hot and cold dishes. Our breakfast is usually very much liked due to the fact that we take seriously all the feedback that we get and improve it based on that. That is why I want to thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am...

Mikkeli
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Nice small room, quiet. The bed was not good for the spine. The spine makes an U-shape while sleeping. The breakfast was good. The location was perfect for our purpose. There was nice way to show the history of the hotel, collage on the floors.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 363juhanik
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear 363juhanik, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that your stay with us has been good. Normally we got good feedback about our beds. We really appreciate if you could e-mail us which room you stayed so we can fix the bed. Our e-mail is: hotelhelsinki.helsinki@sokoshotels.fi I am warmly welcoming you back on your next visit...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Very good Hotel and the location is great. Superior room wasn't as good as we hoped, though we got the bathtub as we asked for. The building and the rooms were old which was nice, but just very ordinary. Breakfast and the service was very good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaanis331
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear jaanis331, Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that the superior room did not please you. We do have superior rooms with different room layouts and views. Our receptionists are happy help to find a room that feels perfect. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and...

Kokkola
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Okey stay at this hotel, good location. Good place to stay if you are going shopping, out to eat, sightseeing or to a bar at night. Rooms a bit outdated, especially the bathrooms. Noice from pedestrians could be heard well in to the rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank toimitusjohtaja
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear toimitusjohtaja, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and for your great review. Best restaurants, shops, museums and main attractions are just around the corner from our hotel. I am glad to see that you had a great visit with us. I hope to see you soon again in our hotel. Best regards, Elina Riipinen Service Manager

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2017

This hotel offers a large number of real single rooms, which is great if you don't want to share and also don't want to pay for a double/twin room as a single person. The room was spacious and clean and I slept very well on the comfortable bed. Breakfast was superb and the staff were all really friendly and helpful....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank liselotte_e2017
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear liselotte_e2017, We indeed we have different size rooms in three room categories: standard, superior and suite. Our receptionists ask during the check if there are any in special needs or requests for the room. Our hotel rooms are very spacious. For example, in our family rooms can be accommodate up to two adults and four children. Thank you so...

Reviewed 7 April 2017

We had a great stay at this hotel. Staff were very attentive and friendly and the hotel was nice and clean. It is located very centrally only a short walk to/from the train station and airport bus also close to great shopping and the historic area including Helsinki Cathedral. The hotel has a great sauna in the top level which...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leigh A
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear Leigh A, Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel and your excellent review. I couldn´t be happier to read your review. We want our customers to have a memorable and fantastic visit in Helsinki and in our hotel. I am pleased to see that we have succeeded in this. You are most welcome again in...

Mikkeli, Finland
Reviewed 3 April 2017

I had a special request for our stay since it was our anniversary. I preordered champagne to our room. I sent an e-mail hoping to have the champagne ready in the room when we arrive. My special request was to have a card or a paper where it would say happy anniversary. They promised to do their best. When we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 257hs459
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear 257hs459 Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel and your kind words. It is our pleasure to make our customers visits memorable. I am happy to see that we have succeeded in this. You are most welcome again in Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki. Best Regards, Elina Riipinen Service Manager

Lahti, Finland
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Excellent location, easy to reach many places in city center. Delicious breakfast (as in all Sokos hotels), friendly staff and clean room. We have used this hotel many times and no disappointments. I warmly recommend this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank markku884
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear markku884 Thank you so much for your kind review. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Helsinki and especially in our hotel. You are most welcome again. Best Regards, Elina Riipinen Service Manager

Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Location is great and staff is always helpful and makes you feel welcome every time. Rooms are clean and breakfast is delicious. Great value for your money! I can sincerely recommend this hotel to any traveller.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank heli l
Hotel_Helsinki, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review

Dear heli l, I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had a great visit in Helsinki and we were able to be part of making your visit excellent. Thank you for your fantastic review and you are most welcome again in our hotel Original Sokos hotel Helsinki. Best Regards, Elina Riipinen Service Manager

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (192)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 63 in Helsinki
899 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#32 of 63 in Helsinki
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern and cosy Sokos Hotel Helsinki is located in the heart of Helsinki, between Ateneum (the Museum of Finnish Art), and the Senate Square. The hotel is located next to the major shopping streets and it is only 300 meters from Helsinki Central Station. All the hotel rooms are designed with fresh, Scandinavian style and have hardwood floors, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a private sauna. There is a complimentary internet point with three computers in the lobby area. The hotel also houses two great restaurants: Fransmanni and Memphis. Fransmanni offers French-inspired cuisine and the hotel’s rich breakfast buffet is served there every morning. Memphis is a more upbeat restaurant with tasty burgers and cool drinks. The hotel is also a great venue for small-scale meetings, and offers two meeting rooms for a maximum of 30 persons. The sauna department is located at the top floor and can also be rented for private use. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Address: Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Price Range: $177 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helsinki Sokos Hotel
Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i was fifth wloor”
villu164, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“My roomwas lateral roomand it was quite and good for sleep”
G6663BCmarym, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“May ask for a room away from the tram noise.”
Ally6277, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For quiet room avoid street side and chose high floor?”
ReneV882, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The room on the Kluuvikatu side seemed quieter.”
unlovedgirl, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 240* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 240
Orbitz.comUSD 239
TravelocityUSD 240
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates