We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clarion Hotel Post

CancelonUSD 156*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 189*
USD 156*
Great Deal
USD 166*
USD 166*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel Post
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,934 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 786: English reviews
Start your review of Clarion Hotel Post
 Click to rate
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed here many times, But this was my last time, The hotel has gone downhill, Seems more like a budget hotel but with 5 star prices, There are much better hotels in Gothenberg The check in was a disgrace, 30 People trying to check in and one person on reception.When i finally was checked in the girl said...

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidpeterchambers
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location in center of town. Nicely renovated from old post office building. Gym very loaded and pretty small. Swimming pool on roof top looks nice. Restaurant is the best part of this hotel, great meals and nice atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 110erkkip
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

it is a big hotel with a lot of people. There are to many clients for breakfast and also to little room in the bar. Bar staff could be more friendly, but there is a nice gang working the front desk. Hotel is very central, but there is no garage if you come by car. I would look for a...

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjell magne n
Reviewed 1 week ago

Awful hotel to stay in if you wish to sleep at all if you want a party then book a room. Music has been playing for over 4hoursbooming bass, called reception at 12:30am and nothing happened. This is awful no regard for guests from the staff especially considering I have an early flight and have gotten no sleep. Very expensive...

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank charltonlaurence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very small venue at breakfast and long waiting time to the reception during checkin and checkout. However, if you're not in a rush or demand a long quiet breakfast this hotel with its rooms are very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lennie L
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review

Lennie, Many thanks for your review words following your recent stay at The Clarion Hotel Post. I was very pleased that you enjoyed our room . We apologize that we did not totally meet your service expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Post. Your views and thoughts are vital to us, and will be presented to the management...

Odessa, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an elegant hotel with a great bar and restaurant. We were traveling with friends who were buying a car from the Volvo factory in Gothenburg. This is the hotel chosen by Volvo for their customers. The service and the drinks in the bar were very good. The bartender was happy to make drinks he had never heard of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review at Tripadvisor. Happy to read about a good bar, dinner experience and that everybody in your group were happy with there stay. It is our ultimate ambition to provide our guests with a first class service so please do not hesitate to contact me should you pass by the Clarion post again, Best regards,...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellently located and modern hotel. We ate at the upstairs restaurant and the food was wonderful. Breakfast was good although completely self service (including the coffee) and the number of people was a little overwhelming but I think this is simply how people tend to dine informally in Sweden. Would definitely seek this hotel out to stay again. Very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Undertheoaks
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback posted on tripadvisor. We especially like your comment with regards to the wonderful service. Your views and thoughts insights are vital and important to us. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Lars.Olemyr@choice.se

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not nice cleaning of room. But pleasant staff after complaining. A bit too late after having hung up all my clothes. So hassle to change room. Nice location by the railway station. Gøteborg is a nice city with lot of shopping.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans3006
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review

Hans, Thank you for your feedback posted on tripadvisor. We especially like your comment with regards to our staff. But we would also apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Post. Your views and thoughts are vital to us, and will be presented to the management at Post in order to improve...

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 3 times over the last 3 years and never been disappointed. Great atmosphere in the bar and restaurant . Staff are very professional and the breakfasts are VAST. Rooms are spotless and whether its for 1 night or a week you always feel at home here .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilBM68
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review

Phil, Thank you for another 5 star review. Thoughts like yours are important to us in order to continuously change and improve our service. It is our ultimate goal to always satisfy our customers with the highest quality of food and an outstanding service experience. Happy to hear that you liked our service, atmosphere, bar and restaurant. We hope to...

Essex,England.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice hotel which is nicely decorated, plenty of choice at breakfast. Check in was very quick, downside about the hotel is just how busy it is, there was some hair event going on when we was there and it was too much to be honest, could not hear any noise once in the room though. Would not go back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merritt72
Lars O, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post, responded to this review

Merritt, Thank you very much for your warm review following your recent stay at legendary Clarion Post. As you mention we put a lot of effort providing personalized service and a huge breakfast. I am glad to hear that you appreciated the dedication of the team. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again, Warm regards, lars.olemyr@choice.se

487 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (453)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (105)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (223)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,506 reviews
0.6 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
973 reviews
1.5 km away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
1.5 km away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
727 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
vRA
vRA
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Norda Bar & Grill
Norda Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American, European, Swedish, Scandinavian, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Post

Address: 10 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range: $191 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#3 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Hotel Post staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel Post staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The old part is closer to the lobby”
410humbertor, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“A room overlooking the square in front of the central station is very interesting”
785amitj, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room as far away from the lobby/entrance as possible to avoid noise.”
traveljeffOslo, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They have an old wing and a new wing. We stayed in the old wing, but the inside of the room was completely modern.”
jenniferrN452WS, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the historical section”
KatCon1, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
USD 156* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 166
Expedia.comUSD 166
Booking.comUSD 189
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates