We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Scandic Hotel Opalen

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Scandic Hotel Opalen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

878 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scandic Hotel Opalen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 246: English reviews
Sweden
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel is located almost opposite the Swedish Exhibition and Congress Centre in Gothenburg, which makes it a good alternative when visiting an exhibition. The room is quite ordinary, the bathroom has damages on the floor tiles and there was a lack of towels when we arrived. The breakfast is quite poor and it seems like nobody works in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nasim52
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we could not quite live up to the expectations you had. We will certainly look over our routines and I will forward your comments to our housekeeping manager the same goes for the breakfast. I hope that you...

Orange, California
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel is in a great location with plenty around. Lots of things to do, restaurants and shops near by. Their breakfast was decent but was a complete mad house on the weekends. And I did have one hotel worker trying to clean an area during breakfast physically pull me backwards and then push me out of her way. Just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travel_work_love
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very glad to hear that you had a good time in our beautiful city. I am very sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience in our breakfast. I am definently going to let the breafast manager know about this so...

Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I could not have asked for better service, this was a perfect stay. • Early morning calls from a real person, not a machine • Special dietary needs for breakfast (I am diabetic) provided with a smile and after the first morning without me having to ask • Cheese plate for the evening meal rather than a sweet dessert although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snigel1962
Malin W, Guest relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Dear Nigel, Thank you very much for your kind words and wonderful review I am so happy and overwhelmed you have truly made not only my day but my year, or even our year. I hope to see you soon! Malin W

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel one weekend. The standard room was quite small with two beds (140 cm) together. The carpet in the hallway was filthy and has probably not been changed since this hotel was built some 30 years ago. The first room I got had a TV with no sound, when I called the reception about this I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lordshivaya
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very sorry that we couldn't live up to the expectations you had. Thank you also for your constructiv criticism, it is very important for us to get feedback so we know what we have to work on. I hope that...

Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel was well located for seeing the central parts of Gothenburg, Liseberg, Universeum, Avenyn by taking public transports or a longer walk. We had a good view of Ullevi that is close by. The economy room was small for two people but enough for a few nights. Breakfast was good and we might stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank resenar_SE
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you had a nice stay. I do hope that you will come back to Gothenburg and visit us again. Have a wonderful week! Malin W

Waldorf, MD
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed in one of the smallest (Economy) rooms. For one person, it was absolutely plenty of room. For 2, it wouldn't work. (Only a twin bed.) location was good, easy walking distance to everything. Good food in the area (Jameson's Pub has great food and lots of beer to choose from! Swedish and otherwise.) breakfast is good, but be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjbsn1
Malin W, Guest relation at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to first of all thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and hints about where to go eat in our neighbourhood. I am glad you liked our breakfast eventhough it was without pancakes this time. Please don't be a stranger when and...

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I loved this hotel. I had a single room, that was quite spacious. The location was great to get to Ullevi for a concert. It is close the public transport and in walking distance to Avenyn (shop, restaurants). The room was clean and very nice. Breakfast was good and overall I really enjoyed to stay at this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl131313
Malin W, Guest relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hi, thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. It means a lot! I am so very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a good time in Gothenburg. I hope you will come back to Gotheburg and visit us again, please don't be...

Sweden
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I had a really nice stay at Opalen with my family, two nights in august. Well located, easy access to parking, Liseberg, Universeum, avenyn and other sites. The room was not perfectly cleaned, dust under the bed, on the vent in the bathroom etc. I like the breakfast at Scandic- generally, but the scrambled eggs, seriously, is it really made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennieralen
Malin W, Guest relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to write a response about your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that the breakfast wasn't as good as you would have hoped it to be. I will let the breakfast staff know about your comments. I am glad to hear that you were happy about your...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Nothing like spending $180.00 US for a hostel-like room that only has a single bed and a pull-out couch. The room was not entirely clean, a used wet towel left in the room, along with a dirty glass. Seems that we got bumped because of the handball tournament, although we had booked and payed for a double room 6 months...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Guy O
Malin W, Guest relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as good as you had hoped it to be. I am especially sorry that your room was not clean. I will certainly pass this on to both our...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed at the Scandic Hotel Opalen for a weekend this July. The location is excellent with Liseberg, Ullevi and Avenyn within walking distance. The room was quite small but nice and the bed was really comfortable, the only negative thing about the room was that the trash bin hadn't been cleaned for a while by the looks of it. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomas J
Malin W, Guest relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hello and thank you very much for your response and kind words. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am so sorry about the bin, I will tell our housekeeping department to pay extra attention to the bins so they won't forget them. I hope your summer is good and hope to see...

191 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 km away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#29 of 68 in Gothenburg
796 reviews
0.8 km away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#35 of 68 in Gothenburg
814 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#45 of 68 in Gothenburg
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#20 of 68 in Gothenburg
783 reviews
0.5 km away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#14 of 68 in Gothenburg
3,675 reviews
1.1 km away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#36 of 68 in Gothenburg
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range: $134 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Hotel Opalen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Toledo, Ohio
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Hotel Opalen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Premium/VIP rooms are not much more expensive and get you a room on the top floor with bigger windows.”
  • View from 13th floor room (north)
  • View from 13th floor room (north)
 of 5 bubbles dhmacher, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The higher up the better views you get”
 of 5 bubbles jockeh2015, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on floors 9-13 are new and have panoramic views.”
  • Panoramic view from room 1226
  • Panoramic view from room 1226
  • Gothenburg by night
 of 5 bubbles Marek79, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not near elevators”
 of 5 bubbles Miketapio, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I go for higher rooms for peace and quiet but no other advantages”
 of 5 bubbles madhatterWales, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay