We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Riverton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Riverton
Hotel Riverton
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

556 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riverton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 259: English reviews
London
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Room, breakfast, staff were all fantastic. Location was also spot on, as it was close to Haga, the more interesting side of town. The roof bar was really nice. Staff was also friendly and approachable.

Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
Thank Christopherchewie
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi Christopherchewie, Thank you for the lovely words, it makes us very proud! People are important and we love our amazing staff. And what could be better than a stroll in Haga to then go up for something to drink in our View Skybar & Restaurant? I can really recommend the Christmas market in Haga when it is snowing as... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016

If you arrive to Gothenburg by plane, you will probably take an airport link-bus (cca 10 Eur//USD//CHF) to the city. Exit on a bus stop one before the "Central" (main station). This will make your journey to the Riverton a bit shorter. From that point, you will need to walk 10-15 to reach the hotel. You'll see cute shops and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dudekica
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi Dudekica, Thanks for the very thorough description and for your nice feedback regarding our staff in reception and the restaurant. It is always nice to hear that they are so friendly and helpful. I am sorry that you didn´t feel that the we met your expectations on a four-star hotel but am happy to let you know that we... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We had a junior suite for three adults. The first room (511) was so poorly configured, we asked to be switched to another room. Room 401, was better, but had a day bed, which wasn't overly comfortable. The room was very hot and we could not regulate the temperature. The maid did not replenish our toiletries so we ran out... More 

Helpful?
Thank dragonfly727
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi dragonfly727, It is lovely to hear that you found our staff outstanding, that is amazing and makes us really proud! We always want to do all we can to give our guests a nice stay and I am happy to hear that the second room worked better for you. Regarding the sofa beds, we have already ordered new ones... More 

Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Hotel's homepage was more promising than reality. We had booked 2 superior rooms, one of them was a suite. Rooms were outdated and screaming for repairs, no way they'd be entitled to 4 stars. Seems like renovations were done in the hallway, ceiling was off and wires seen. We never saw promised Rituals toiletries, hand soap was only thing available,... More 

Helpful?
Thank KristaE70
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi KristaE70, I am sorry that we didn´t live up to your expectations at this time. Is it possible that you looked at our Premium rooms when booking? They are more luxurious than the Superior rooms and at that time were the only room category with products from Rituals, something that we now have in all rooms. We were installing... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016

As it was quite warm in June, 2016, it was obvious that the hotel was missing air conditioning. BUT, it's now being installed and should soon be ready. Rooms are nice and clean. the hotel restaurant can be very busy and a reservation is really needed.

Helpful?
Thank Danny S
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi Danny S, Yes, you are right, we now have aircondition in all rooms and it is great to have for the warmer weeks during summer. I am happy to see that you enjoyed the room as well as our restaurant and hope we will see you here again! Best regards, Rebecka, Guest Relations Riverton More 

Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Went here in the summer of 2015. Really nice hotel and it's very modern. Good beds and fresh rooms. The only disappointing thing was that there were construction work outside around the hotel area, a bit noisy and confusing finding the way. But this was no problem.

Helpful?
Thank emmalainen
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi emmalainen, Thank you for the nice review. A lot has happened here since 2015 and the outside area has developed to a very nice and exciting place with a tram line, ferry and nice sidewalks with treas and greenery. Very welcome back to see the progress! Kind regards, Rebecka, Guest relations Riverton More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Booked one night and got a really nice room with comfortable size. The view from our window was the only lack, due to the fact that it was another non interesting building outside. The bar at the top was pleasant, with a nice view!

Helpful?
Thank zibrzibr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

The service was awful, as we had to wait an hour past our check in time to get into our rooms. The bathroom sink was right in the room next to our beds, but the toilet and shower were in rooms. Who puts a sink in a room? Most unhygienic hotel we've ever visited. A simple curtain to separate the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank fatima a
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

It's really very good. Position is very central, you could early take a walk around the city, not far from opera House or shopping senter. clean hotel, Staff is very helpful. Food is good. I have been 3 times every time for one night, and this will Be most likely the hotel I will choose every time I go to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamad H
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2016

A very nice, friendly smart hotel with helpful staff, clean rooms, lots of space and good food for breakfast. I'd say it was good value. Stayed in late Feb 2016. Its a little bit of a walk from some sights but we were advised by the staff to get the 3day travel card and you can hop on / off... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PansyUK

550 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (158)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (348)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Premium Junior Suite (31)
Viewed
Premium Junior Suite with River View (39)
Viewed
Premium Queen Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Single Room (27)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (27)
Viewed
Superior Junior Suite (51)
Viewed
Superior Twin Queen Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.4 km away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#12 of 68 in Gothenburg
581 reviews
0.9 km away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#20 of 68 in Gothenburg
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#64 of 68 in Gothenburg
154 reviews
0.7 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 68 in Gothenburg
838 reviews
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
View Skybar & Restaurant
View Skybar & Restaurant
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Scandinavian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Gothenburg and Hotel Riverton! Hotel Riverton is an independently run four star hotel located in central Gothenburg a stones throw away from the River Gota Alv and the harbour. Just a short walk from us, you can find the bustling shopping streets Kungsgatan and Magasingatan, many of Gothenburg main attractions, and also the historic Haga district bursting with independent boutiques and cosy cafes. Don't forget to visit our restaurant View & Skybar on the 12th floor with spectacular views of the city and harbour. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Riverton

Address: 26 Stora Badhusgatan, Gothenburg 411 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range: $137 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riverton 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Riverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverton Hotel Gothenburg
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Riverton staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Riverton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room close to the water”
 of 5 bubbles Annbe20, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with view to the river”
 of 5 bubbles Matti_matkustaja, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go to the top floor restaurant/bar for the views at night”
 of 5 bubbles alexjayrice, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book premium rooms to get the quality.”
 of 5 bubbles KristaE70, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Apparently there are rooms with harbour views but for a long weekend you are more likely to want to visit the views than stay inside.”
 of 5 bubbles PansyUK, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay