We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Hellsten

Show Prices
#39 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Hellsten
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

949 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hellsten
See the most recent reviews
Showing 559: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We had originally booked to stay at the Rex Hotel across the road, however on arrival we had been upgraded to the Hellsten. The hotel is a good base for exploring Stockholm on foot - the main shopping streets are approximately 15 minutes away and the old town about 25 minutes away. There is also a metro stop just around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chaela104
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We were upgraded to this hotel from the hotel Rex.Lovely hotel,great buffet breakfast,plus free coffee and tea available all day.Rooms were good,staff very helpful.Great location for the sights of Stockholm and easy access to Metro station.Had a lovely time,would visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue9653
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Sue9653, Thank you so much for writing this review, what a nice one to receive. I am very glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, good location, rooms and the helpful staff. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again many times in the future! Kind regards, Per Hellsten Owner

Bucks
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Good sized, clean rooms, comfortable beds, very quiet. Tea and coffee freely available. Free wifi with a strong signal. Reception staff very helpful. Good breakfast. Great location in walking distance of Old Town and a Metro stop jus taround the corner.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Logistical
Anacortes, WA
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 for a couple of days while sight-seeing in Stockholm. It is very centrally located and close to a Metro station. Lots of restaurants all around. It is on a side street and very quiet. Our room was good-sized and clean. Good bathroom. Great bed. The breakfast buffet was ample. Excellent service. Would stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kajsa
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2012

First and foremost, the location (close to tube, easy access to central shopping/old town - two stops on tube or 20/30 min walk - with much already on door step) was surperb, welcome and atmosphere of hotel lovely and quality of room/ bathroom as expected. One disappointment was the actual feeling of the room - had booked 'single grand lit'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mademoiselle M
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Mademoiselle M, Thank you for your kind words! We are very glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, welcome and nice atmosphere. I am sorry that the room you got did not fulfill your expectations. Our rooms are all unique and vary in size as well as in furniture and design. Since the rooms are so different we do...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I really enjoyed my 4 nts stay at the hotel - was even upgraded and check in went smoothly; the hotel is located in a quiet area hence a good night sleep is ensured; great breakfast display and free Wifi access whic are big pluses .Unfortunately on check out the 2 receptionists on duty kept insisting that I used the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank csant
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Csant, Thank you for taking your time to write this very important review. It seems like you enjoyed most parts of your stay and I am glad to read your kind words about our location and breakfast. However, I am very concerned about what happened on your check-out; this is not the way that we want to treat our...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 19 October 2012

My husband, our 2 year old and I stayed at the Hellsten for 5 nights in September. We were communicating with the hotel via email prior to the trip and a lady named Matilda was very efficient in answering promptly which we appreciated. The location is very convenient with public transport within easy reach, plenty of restaurants nearby and an...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rahanna
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Rahanna, Thank you for taking your time to write this important review. I am of course very concerned reading about the service we failed to give you. We do take your complaints very seriously and our hotel manager did answer your email the first time it was sent. When you contacted us a few weeks later and told us...

Vasteras, Sweden
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

Not a 4-star hotel as stated. Some rooms are special, but still simple. We stayed in a small room with a tiny bathroom. The room had a special atmosphere and was situated under the ceiling. Bathroom had nowhere to put your things. The wooden floor was creaking everytime you moved.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdTrosa
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Adtrosa, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay. Feedback from our guests is important for us. Hotel Hellsten has been assigned with four stars by the Swedish hotel classification system that is included in the Hotelstars Union, a common classification system for European countries. The hotel is located in a rebuilt old family...

Marbella, Spain
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We have stayed in quite a few 4 Star Hotels but had better quality than in this. We dont know whether other rooms than the one we had are better. Ours was basic with a very small cupboard and as a couple you would find it hard to hang all your clothes if you intended to stay more than 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caplawerne
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Caplawerne, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay! Hotel Hellsten is located in a rebuilt old family house which was formerly private flats, why all of our rooms vary a lot in size. Some of the rooms are smaller and some of them have small bathrooms, while many again are bigger. Since all...

Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I’ve got mixed feelings about this hotel. I’ll try to sum up the pros and cons. Pro: - Location near underground station (Tunnelbana) just two stops from the city center - Friendly staff - Quiet area of town - Enough restaurants within walking distance - Standard room was adequate in size for a city hotel Con: - Extremely small bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelo1975
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review

Dear Angelo, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. I appreciate constructive feedback since this is the way to be advised on how to improve my hotel and its services. Hotel Hellsten is located in a rebuilt old family house which was formerly private flats, why all of our rooms vary a lot in style and size....

370 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (343)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
#17 of 157 in Stockholm
659 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 157 in Stockholm
1,101 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#25 of 157 in Stockholm
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#53 of 157 in Stockholm
597 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#51 of 157 in Stockholm
1,325 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#36 of 157 in Stockholm
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Vasastan

Neighbourhood Profile
Vasastan
Vasastan is one of those neighborhoods that almost looks too good to be true. It has the winning combination of a central location, tranquility, and beautiful buildings – housing sophisticated bars and eateries – that makes this neighborhood Stockholm’s most sought-after place to live. If walking through this area makes you feel like walking through a fairy tale or picture book it’s no surprise, as it’s actually the film set of the famous Swedish children story Karlsson-on-the-Roof. No matter what season, Vasastan manages to impress in the sunshine, covered in snow and won’t even lose its charm when soaked in rain.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A unique hotel in the centre of Stockholm. Close to everything with quiet and intriguing rooms. Hotel Hellsten attracts exciting guests from all parts of the world. We who work here want to ensure that your stay in Stockholm is both successful and memorable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Hellsten

Address: 68 Luntmakargatan, Stockholm 113 51, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Price Range: $157 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hellsten 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hellsten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Hotel Stockholm
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Hellsten staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hellsten staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms on the front are a little bit noisy”
koenp525, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“My room was on the top level which is floor 3...Windows opened well and a very quiet location!”
travelingCgal, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I was told later that you should try to book some specially decorated room.”
LPekkala, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter.”
902serrat, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great location”
daisysa2014, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5