We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copenhagen Island Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,999 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copenhagen Island Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,223: English reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent two nights at Copenhagen Island Hotel. We found it very comfortable, clean and we were very impressed by the silence in all places. It is located next to the S-train station, but renting a bike is the best way to reach every part of the city (16€ per day). All the people working in the hotel were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valentina M
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for all your positive comments on your hotel stay. We do offer to bring a bed board if our guests find the beds to soft. Thank you for trying our restaurant, we really appreciate all your wonderful comments. We hope to welcome you back again. Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Reviewed 15 April 2014

A modern hotel, close to a train station (only one station from Copenhagen Central station away) but a bit overprized. It would be okay but there are some things which I didn't like at all. • The room was really small which means that also the bed was tiny. Worst part: it was too soft, the pillows instead where very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristy Z
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not sleep well in our beds. All our pillows are brand new and standard Danish size. If breakfast is not included in your room rate, we charge DKK 150.00 per person per day for breakfast. We hope to welcome you back Again. Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Tilburg, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Copenhagen Island Hotel is located on a 20+ minute walk from the very Copenhagen centre. It is a nice modern and well maintained hotel. Not really cosy, sort of clean. The staff is friendly and service quick and smooth. The rooms are small but nice, well maintained and clean. Modern. The bed is very small! Just too short. However...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik M
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Copenhagen Island for your hotel stay and thank you for your review. All our beds are 2 metres long. We are glad that you found our staff friendly and that you were happy with room, minibar, wifi and our breakfast buffet. It is correct that we charge a small fee for credit card payments. Hope to...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Within walkable distance to conference venue, I chose this hotel because of its good value and the fact that it has a fitness center (and a very good one with floor to ceiling windows that open out). Very close to the train station and easy access to the boat bus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geekytourist
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your excellent review of your stay with us. Thank you so much for giving us a top score! We hope to welcome you back. Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Singapore
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Conveniently location 10min walk from central station. Slight away from downtown. Clean modern hotel with good breakfast. The Fisketorvet shopping mall next to the hotel, makes it good for lazy days. And lots of good restaurants are within 20mins walk on Vesterbrogade, without going into town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KNOMIS
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings. We hope to welcome you back. Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Denver
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Despite what others might say, this is a great location. A major tram station is just across the bridge, about a 3-minute walk. From there, Central Station is the next station up, in the Tivoli district. Easy to get anywhere. The staff was remarkably friendly and helpful. The only problem we had was with parking. Slots dedicated to the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank davemelbella
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for all your nice comments on your stay with us. Parking is a bit expensive in Copenhagen. We charge DKK 125.00 for 24 hours. The closer you are to the centre of the city, the more you pay in parking fees. Thank you very much for recommending our hotel! We hope to welcome you back. Anne Louise Poulsen,...

Ahvaz, Iran
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The location is very good and hotel staff are friendly. Cleanness of hotel is excellent and just beside hotel, there is a shopping center with very good resturants. Overall it worth to stay at this hotel. The wi Fi is also excellant. Space of rooms are enough.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pezhman123
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are most welcome to stay here again. Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

Frome, Somerset
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I was based here for a week whilst on a course in Copenhagen. The staff were very pleasant, with that dry Danish sense of humour! It is located one stop from Copenhagen central station, though you can walk to Tivoli Gardens in about 20 minutes. Its location may not be in the prettiest area of the city, but it was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CAFCDarren
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments on your hotel stay. Since you were a long staying guest, you really got to know our hotel well during your stay. We are glad that you also tried our restaurant and restaurant vouchers! If you had asked the reception for tea/coffee making facilities, we would have brought you a set. These sets are...

Toronto, ON
Reviewed 26 March 2014

First the good. Professional staff, clean and functional rooms, and close to a big shopping centre with a multiplex cinema. Probably great for business travelers. The not so good. Area reminds me of Canary Wharf in the UK -- a little quiet and lacking in soul. Public transit is close by and easy to navigate but, as a solo traveller,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravellerfromTO
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your hotel stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, but we are sorry that you did not like the location. However, thank you for staying here this time. You are of course welcome to stay here again. Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

manchester england
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed at the Island hotel last week end Mar 22 23 two rooms on top floor facing town and station .Reception excellent very warm welcome, provided us with lots of useful info, restaurant service also great glad we booked breakfast in advance.The rooms themselves were also spot on the only thing missing was tea and coffee making facilities.Its dead easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19drew
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you found our hotel, service and surroundings satisfactory. If you had asked for a tea/coffee set at the reception, we would gladly have brought it to your room. Thank you so much for recommending us. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Anne Louise Poulsen, General Maanger

1,189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (862)
Viewed
View from Room (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (159)
Viewed
Bathroom (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (210)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (244)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (313)
Viewed
Amenities (74)
Viewed
Executive Twin Room (34)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 115 in Copenhagen
1,599 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 115 in Copenhagen
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#21 of 115 in Copenhagen
3,651 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#28 of 115 in Copenhagen
2,710 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#31 of 115 in Copenhagen
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Inner Vesterbro

Neighbourhood Profile
Inner Vesterbro
This neighbourhood is home to Tivoli Gardens, a world famous amusement park and beautiful garden always worth a visit. Just west of Tivoli, you’ll find Copenhagen Central Station, from where you can reach just about every part of Denmark within 5 or 6 hours, or you can reach Copenhagen Airport in less than 15 minutes. Next to the Central Station, you’re in the middle of “old” Vesterbro, where several cultures and hundreds of languages are spoken in an area not more than one square mile. This neighbourhood is considered one of the most trendy places to live in and to visit in Copenhagen. For a real treat, visit Kødbyen ("meat town"), home to several restaurants, cafés and nightclubs, all within a short walk of each other.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Price Range: $173 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copenhagen Island Hotel staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question
27 days ago
Heywood, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from Copenhagen Island Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms re good but those higher up offered the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles Dvec, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms with harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles 894karimt, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a waterfront room, very nice view and no noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Pippero, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't waste your money of upgrading the room with harbor view cause its not worth it as there is a building blocking half of the view.”
 of 5 bubbles MickJayG, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't use the luggage lift at the entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles 622ozzieh, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5