We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Copenhagen Island Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,040 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copenhagen Island Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,254: English reviews
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 11 November 2014

Location: well located just by the canal, but 30 mins walking distance to center - not a problem to me, on the contrary, just be prepared. There's a big shopping mall just beside the hotel which proves useful for light (cheaper) meals or shopping. Train station is close as well. Staff: efficient; front desk not too friendly; restaurant room staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marmifero
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are actually changing some of the mattresses at the moment. We cannot see from your review if you contacted the reception for a room with a harder mattress. In Denmark we use a sheet or a duvet in our beds. Thank you for your comments on cleanliness and our staff in the restaurant. We...

Brasilia, DF
Reviewed 10 November 2014

This is a very good hotel, with a nice staff, very clean and with good internet signal. I was able to make an early checkin. They were nice about it. It's important to be aware that not all rooms come with a view to the river. When you make a reservation, it gives you this impression - so, it's important...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Márcio C
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your hotel stay at Copenhagen Island Hotel. All our standard rooms have city view and all our superior rooms, executive rooms and junior suites have harbour view. Our web page states the view from the rooms Walking distance to the city center is app 20 minutes, by bus it is only 5 minutes and...

Kristianstad, Sweden
Reviewed 6 November 2014

So, I had been wanting to stay here for a while because I walked past it once and it looks really nice on the outside. Upon entering I thought it was strange that when you walk in you have to go up flight of stairs which means you have to drag your suitcases up and handicapped people have to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helveeta
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your extensive review. Our superior rooms are app. 22nd square metres. This is quite normal for a Danish hotel room. All the superior rooms have harbour view. Please remember always to contact the reception while you are here, thus giving us a chance to help you when you are. We hope to welcome you back Again at...

Reviewed 5 November 2014 via mobile

Really good breakfast but WORST bed ever. it was French bed style with one single matress which was flobby and sooft and über bad, you literally felt every single tiny movement of your partner. additionally the standard double rooms towards the nonstop trafficked highway are very loud, you cannot open the window at all. the air conditioning is not good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kai M
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not find your hotel bed satisfactory. If only you had contacted the reception, they could have moved you to another room. For only DKK 200.00 extra you could have bought an upgrade to a quiet room with harbour view. We recommend that you address any complaints to the reception...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a recent conference; I wanted a quiet room and had booked the pricier superior room, which faced the harbor. On checking in, I changed to an executive room, with the balcony; all these incurred an extra charge but in the end made my stay very enjoyable. The reception staff were wonderful all the time...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Little_Leo
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review of your hotel stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you decided to prolong your stay with 3 nights. With the upgrade to an executive room you were able to enjoy the harbour view in full. We hope to be your choice of hotel the...

Reviewed 1 November 2014 via mobile

My newly wed husband and I stayed at the hotel for our honeymoon. When the hotel staff knew this they upgraded our room and couldn't have been more helpful/plesent. They also allowed us to check in early which was extremely helpful. The room was super and had everything you could ask for- toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing board and even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zjj13
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad that we could contribute with a nice executive room for your honeymoon. If you decide to travel to Copenhagen again, we hope to be your choice again. Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2014

I like to stay positive so will start with the things I really liked about this hotel: Location - I don't think it was too far out really. The location made it peaceful in terms of no traffic noise or constant footfall. It was about a 20 minute walk to anywhere around but a walk around Copenhagen is never going...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cally1980
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. When this is said, we are very sorry to hear that you did not sleep well. From your review we cannot see when you were here. As we were not able to switch you to another room it may be that we had a full house? The beds are typical Danish standard sizes. The...

London
Reviewed 30 October 2014

We stayed here for a few nights (my friend & I) in a twin room, which was perfectly adequate (clean & functional) but nothing special. We didn't have a view of the water unfortunately - I don't recall being offered it at booking - but would have increased an already pricey break! We had no problem with the location as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonDebbieN
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments on your stay. We usually offer all our guests to buy an upgrade to a room with harbour view, if this has not been done in advance. If we did not offer you an upgrade it might be because we did not have any more rooms available. We do hope to see you again next...

Wien
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Very nice hotel at the river a bit outside of the Center, but with good connections to Busses and train (max 10min walk) Exzellent breakfast in a nicely designed restaurant with good views Rooms with view of the river was very nice and offers what you need for a short stay - only the Walls are rather thin allowing you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wulianti
Reviewed 27 October 2014

Had a lovely two night stay at this clean and friendly hotel. It has lovely views over the canals and hires bikes by the day which is a nice touch. It is not in the city centre and is reached by either a 20minute walk or one stop on the train. Restaurants are available in the nearby ex-meat packing district.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie Y
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your positive review. We recommend our guests to book a room with harbour view, like you did, in order to enjoy the splendid view of the harbour. We hope to see you soon again. Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager

1,220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (893)
Viewed
View from Room (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (219)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (159)
Viewed
Bathroom (67)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (259)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (313)
Viewed
Amenities (74)
Viewed
Executive Twin Room (34)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
1,654 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 114 in Copenhagen
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 114 in Copenhagen
3,699 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 114 in Copenhagen
644 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#27 of 114 in Copenhagen
2,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Inner Vesterbro

Neighbourhood Profile
Inner Vesterbro
This neighbourhood is home to Tivoli Gardens, a world famous amusement park and beautiful garden always worth a visit. Just west of Tivoli, you’ll find Copenhagen Central Station, from where you can reach just about every part of Denmark within 5 or 6 hours, or you can reach Copenhagen Airport in less than 15 minutes. Next to the Central Station, you’re in the middle of “old” Vesterbro, where several cultures and hundreds of languages are spoken in an area not more than one square mile. This neighbourhood is considered one of the most trendy places to live in and to visit in Copenhagen. For a real treat, visit Kødbyen ("meat town"), home to several restaurants, cafés and nightclubs, all within a short walk of each other.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Price Range: $188 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copenhagen Island Hotel staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Heywood, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from Copenhagen Island Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floors are quieter if on the road side of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles DouglasTD, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask to be water side... higher up!”
 of 5 bubbles LondininaFoodie, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for top floor, harbour view.”
 of 5 bubbles Pip3178, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms are water view but come at a higher price”
 of 5 bubbles 973AmandaW973, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a harbor view room. They are fantastic with private balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles yogatechnomad, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5