We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Alexandra

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alexandra
See the most recent reviews
Showing 956: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 October 2014

I stayed with a friend at the Hotel Alexandra for 5 nights in September. The hotel is situated close to the Tivoli Gardens and the City Hall and less than a ten minute walk from the main train station. There are several city bus stops across the street or within a few minutes walk. You can walk to the central...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roger M
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear CarberyMan, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us - we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. A good night's sleep is one of the most important things a hotel has to provide and as such, it is good to hear...

Lawrence, Ks
Reviewed 1 October 2014

We had booked a superior double room. Our room was very very small. There was no place except under the bed to put our suitcases. There was not a closet, just a couple o f hooks on the wall. There was very little shelf space. The room, however, was very clean. We were also disappointed that there was no bar...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bregnirps
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear bregnirps, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are of course very sorry to hear that your overall stay with us left you disappointed. Of course we have several room categories here at the Hotel Alexandra, and perhaps booking a larger room category would have suited you better, if you were lacking space....

Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 25 September 2014

Stayed for one night in a superior double room and was surprised by how consequently, the room, in fact the whole hotel was kept in danish retro design. From furniture and lamps in the reception area (actually including a full B&O vintage stereo / TV set) to the carefully decorated rooms, this hotel is an incarnation of the sleek, timeless...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikehofer
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear mikehofer, Thank you very much for your excellent review - we are very happy to hear that you had such a great time with us and that you would return again. It is a pleasure to have been able to share our passion with you. We are of course very sorry for any inconveniences you had during your stay,...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 23 September 2014 via mobile

Good location, nice design hotel and friendly staff. Ask for a bow window corner room if you go for a designer luxury room, they are much nicer and bigger. When we arrived, our room had not been cleaned properly but as soon as we told the reception they fixed that and gave us a bottle of wine for free (which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alphabrune
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear Alphabrune, Thank you for your kind words - we are very happy to hear that you found us to be a good hotel and thank you also for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear that the issue with the room cleaning could be alleviated quickly and properly. The bottle of wine...

Berkshire
Reviewed 23 September 2014

We stayed for two nights in a superior double room, and we loved the hotel with it's fairly simple but stylish retro decor and furnishings ( which were really comfortable). The hotel is ideally placed for the main sights, restaurants and bars which are within walking distance, as is the train station. Reception staff were all friendly and efficient. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teresa138
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear Teresa138, Thank you for a great review and for taking the time to write it. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff and our design concept were to your satisfaction. As we are a city hotel, some noise is unfortunately unavoidable. You could call it the price of staying in the city...

Miami, Australia
Reviewed 22 September 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights and on the first night had a very small room facing the main street. It was noisy and felt a little too compact for me. The biggest issue was that I needed to work and use wifi but this room had a very poor signal. I went to speak to the receptionist called Lene....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kerry F
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear Kelly F, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your comments and feedback. In regards to the room, our rooms are within the average room size for European hotel rooms and we of course have a range of room types available. Anything from single rooms to suites and if you would need more room...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 21 September 2014

The Hotel Alexandra has an awful lot going for it -- it's in an ideal location, about a block from Tivoli Gardens and only two blocks from Central Station. It's a beautiful older building, furnished with mid-century modern furniture designed by Danish renowned designers. We stayed in one of the larger Deluxe Double rooms, each of which gave homage to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vicki F
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear Vicki F, Thank you for your excellent review and we certainly appreciate your feedback in regards to your stay with us - we value the feedback our guests provide us and we will see, if these are areas that we could improve upon - we are of course very sorry for the inconveniences that were caused. The breakfast in...

Marshfield, S Glos
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Having read other reviews we asked for a room at the back (not facing the main road) and it was comfortable, warm and quiet. Furnished in Scandinavian style it was quirky and the service at the front desk was very good. The first hotel that checks you are entitled to pick up the room key you ask for! Good idea....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tim w
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear tim w, Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Of course the safety of our guests is a top priority for us and as such, we make sure that people entering the lobby requesting keys are also entitled to these keys through our screening process. We are glad to...

Hove, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. All rooms are decorated in traditional style with really quirky furniture which we loved. It was one of the main reasons we booked. The staff were friendly and attentive and the hotel even had it's own app which gave great tips on things to do and some great bars and restaurants. The hotel is close...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian R
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear Ian R, Thank you very much for your great review and for taking the time to write it. We are happy to hear that our passion for Danish furniture design was the main reason that you booked our hotel. It is always a pleasure to be able to share our passion with our guests. Thank you for the kind...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 10 September 2014

i tried this hotel based on a whim. it worked out great. i upgraded to one of their designer rooms overlooking the main street. really enjoyed the view and bustle of the city. however, my only caution is that it can be a bit noisey even with the double windows. the location is absolutely perfect if you are arriving by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank randy322
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review

Dear randy322, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that choosing us based on a whim worked out great. Our designer rooms overlooking the main street are indeed an excellent choice for those who want to feel the bustling city life of Copenhagen. Of course, as you also mentioned, some noise is to be...

858 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (410)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (119)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (146)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (340)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Double Room Deluxe (Classic Danish Design) (50)
Viewed
Double Room Superior (Danish Retro Room) (48)
Viewed
Finn Juhl Suite (55)
Viewed
Single Room Superior (Danish Retro Room) (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (91)
Viewed
Twin Room (Danish Retro Room) (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 114 in Copenhagen
1,654 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#6 of 114 in Copenhagen
2,090 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 114 in Copenhagen
1,538 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 114 in Copenhagen
3,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Indre By (Inner City)

Neighbourhood Profile
Indre By (Inner City)
This is the heart of old town Copenhagen, with its blend of charming old buildings and bold new architecture, broad avenues and tiny streets as well as picturesque canals and a modern harbor. The inner city is home to the Royal Danish Theatre, which consists of three buildings, two of which are new and situated on the harbor front. The streets, squares and venues of the inner city and its surrounding neighborhoods, are alive all year round with everything from jazz festivals to outdoor ice skating rinks and parachuting at the lakes right in the center of the city. This compact area boasts beautiful old castles, tranquil parks, and bustling squares where you can always find a bench to stretch out your legs whenever you need a break.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Probably the only spot on Earth where you can sit in, rest in, sleep in and admire so many pieces of Danish mid-century vintage furniture. Hotel Alexandra is a small, authentic, boutique hotel in Copenhagen - just around the corner of the City Hall Square, the Latin Quarter, the main shopping area and Tivoli Garden. Hotel Alexandra has over the past years collected a large collection of the world famous Danish mid-century vintage furniture and decorated the rooms with them. The rooms also have textiles, wallpapers and other gems that take you back in time to experience living like the design loving Danes did it in the 50’s and 60’s. As soon as you step into the Hotel Alexandra, you step into a time bubble – you can relax in the lobby, where during evening hours you can put on your favourite vinyl record from our selection, enjoy a free glass of wine and take a moment to take a closer look at one of our many designer books from our lobby library, all the while being surrounded by the finest Danish designer furniture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Address: 8 H. C. Andersens Boulevard | DK-1553 Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Price Range: $188 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Alexandra staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Alexandra staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Loved the view from the top floor”
 of 5 bubbles 489tarync, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request that your room isn't cleaned every day and get money off during your stay”
 of 5 bubbles hippocrateshimself, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was facing an internal courtyard and it was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles 28ro33, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Design rooms are absolutely beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles 88MF, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have double doors”
 of 5 bubbles GregoryAlpha, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5