We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Christian IV

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Christian IV
Hotel Christian IV
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

496 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 372: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Christian IV
 Click to rate
Horndean, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location for central Copenhagen. Very friendly and helpful staff Nice shower. Ideal for budget traveller looking for a one or two night stay. Very quiet location Tea and coffee served in the afternoon with Danish pastries!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited this hotel for my husband's 50th birthday. What a great find this hotel was. Very warm welcome on arrival and the tea, coffee, pastries and biscuits were very welcome after our journey, these were available all day too which was a lovely touch. Nice comfortable room and great breakfast each day. Good location for sightseeing in the beautiful Copenhagen....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good value hotel, staff very friendly and good location on a nice quiet street within easy walking distance of all attractions and local restaurants. Breakfast was good. Rooms were small and relatively basic, but what you would expect for the money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 22 January 2017

The location of this hotel is great. You can walk almost everywhere - close by are the castles of Amalienborg and Rosenborg, Ströget (the shopping area), Ny Havn and even the famous restaurant Noma. The service is friendly - it's a family run hotel - it seemed to me that at least two generations were occupied with the business. We...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SusaMasa
Kasper J, General Manager at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review

Dear SusaMasa, Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Christian IV. I am glad to read you enjoyed our location and our friendly service. Our decor is classic in style and we try our very best to maintain the hotel. We plan ongoing upkeep and complete small renovation projects every year. Thank you for your honest opinion of our...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 13 January 2017

The location of the hotel is great, and the staff was very friendly whenever I had questions. The rooms are small, but that is not surprising. I didn't eat the breakfast, but everything else was fine. The walls were a bit thin, and I had some noisy neighbors in the hall in the morning, but that was really my only...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sozerano
Kasper J, General Manager at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review

Dear sozerano Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Christian IV. I am glad you enjoyed our location and found decent value in our product. I am sorry you experienced some noise in the hall in the morning. I hope it didn't wake you up and ruin your morning. We would be very happy welcome you back some time...

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location, staff were very helpful and the 24 hour access to drinks and snacks was very handy. Unfortunately we did have a particularly small room, room 15 and the bathroom consistently smelt of stagnant water. The pictures are a little misleading for the bedroom sizes. I would advise avoiding the small double. On our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Charlotte T
Kasper J, General Manager at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte T, Thank you for staying with us and for your honest review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed our location and that our staff was helpful. I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy the room you stayed in. I wish we could have moved you to a different room. Thanks for pointing out the problems with the sink....

Reviewed 1 January 2017

There were lamps in the bed head, I didn't know how hot it can get and wanted to move the lamp a bit and got burned. When I moved my arms, I touched it every time. Considering the location of the lamps, it is seriously dangerous. Bathroom was too cold. About breakfast, there were 3 or 4 different kinds of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sala S
Kasper J, General Manager at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review

Dear Sala S, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to read about the problems you experienced in the room and during breakfast. Regarding the lights in the room we will have it inspected right away. With regards to the meat products we also serve a salami made from beef. I...

Tannay
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Excellent location. Cozy and comfortable. Excellent breakfast with very good quality food. Amicable staff. Good place to stay for work and with family. It is like a B&B but bigger. Markets really close and plenty of buses to get to different locations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariana C
Kasper J, General Manager at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review

Dear Mariana C, Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. I am very pleased to know you found our hotel cozy and comfortable. This is the atmosphere we strive for at our small hotel. I am glad our location worked out well for the purpose of your stay and that you enjoyed the breakfast. We would...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We really enjoyed our stay. The welcome was very warm. We arrived at around 11.45 and our room was not available but they pointed out the tea/coffee to us and took our suitcase. We had a quick drink in the small lounge and looked at the maps/leaflets which were available. When we returned to check in we were surprised to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rotterdam0892
Kasper J, General Manager at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review

Dear rotterdam0892, Thank you very much for staying with us and for leaving such a positive review of our hotel. I am thrilled to read you had a lovely experience with us. We would be delighted to welcome you both back with us again. May I recommend the spring or early summer for a return visit. It tends to be...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 December 2016

I stayed there with my family for two nights. The beds were comfortable, including the pull-out sofa, and the room was quiet. The tea, coffee, cookies and pastries in lounge were very nice. The breakfast was tasty. My one complaint was that on weekdays the staff starts clearing the breakfast food around 9:30 and it closes at 10:00am. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff C
Kasper J, General Manager at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review

Dear Jeff C, Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Christian IV. I appreciate that you have taken your time to review our hotel. I am glad to read you found the beds comfortable and the room quiet. I am sorry to read about your experience at breakfast. Our policy is that it should be possible to...

466 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (305)
Viewed
Ground Floor Standard Double Room (41)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Single Room (36)
Viewed
Small Double Room (42)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (47)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)
Viewed
Twin Room (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#21 of 115 in Copenhagen
866 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 115 in Copenhagen
1,505 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
#18 of 115 in Copenhagen
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#29 of 115 in Copenhagen
1,335 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#11 of 115 in Copenhagen
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Indre By (Inner City)

Neighbourhood Profile
Indre By (Inner City)
This is the heart of old town Copenhagen, with its blend of charming old buildings and bold new architecture, broad avenues and tiny streets as well as picturesque canals and a modern harbor. The inner city is home to the Royal Danish Theatre, which consists of three buildings, two of which are new and situated on the harbor front. The streets, squares and venues of the inner city and its surrounding neighborhoods, are alive all year round with everything from jazz festivals to outdoor ice skating rinks and parachuting at the lakes right in the center of the city. This compact area boasts beautiful old castles, tranquil parks, and bustling squares where you can always find a bench to stretch out your legs whenever you need a break.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cozy hotel in the heart of Copenhagen. If location and a quiet nights sleep is important to you, you have found the right place. Hotel Christian IV is in close proximity to most all major cultural sights in Copenhagen. Only a 5 min walk from "Nyhavn's" many restaurants and "Stroeget's" great shopping. The cultural sights "Rosenborg Castle" and "Amalienborg Castle" is less than 10 min away on foot.The hotel is quietly located few steps away from the lush green park - "the Kings Garden." The hotel has 42 well equipped rooms with modern Scandinavian decor. Enjoy Free Wifi, Free Coffee, tea and biscuits throughout the day and personal service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Christian IV

Address: Dronningens Tvaergade 45, Copenhagen 1302, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Price Range: $167 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Christian IV 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Christian IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christian Iv Hotel
Christian Iv Copenhagen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Christian IV staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Perth, Australia
Los Angeles, California
over a year ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Christian IV staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles catherinem190, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room 19 which was on the first floor away from the lift and overlooking the back of the hotel. That was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles rotterdam0892, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles PDPatara, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose the classic room with the view to the quiet courtyard”
  • View of the quiet courtyard
 of 5 bubbles PommeC1, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms facing courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles moiram328, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5