We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2 Ygias Street, Heraklion, Crete 71202 Greece
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
USD 113
View deal
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (441)
Room & Suite (134)
Videos (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Updated 18/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 18/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 57 hotels in Heraklion
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
The recently renovated Aquila Atlantis Hotel situated close to the archaeological museum and commanding a spectacular view of the harbour.The hotel also has a variety of facilities and services that are sure to meet the needs of both business and leisure travellers. Spacious rooms also with view to the harbour with a 42-inch flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi, box spring bed with a walk-in rain shower. Main Restaurant, Lounge Bar, Room Service, Swimming Pool, Luggage room, Conference Center, Business Center. Kindly note that smoking is only allowed in designated areas and bedrooms. There is a fee for guests who do not comply with the hotel's non-smoking policy.
Read more
Room & Suite (134)134
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Greek
1,317Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 797
  • 405
  • 72
  • 25
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Νίκος Γ wrote a review Mar 2021
Chaidari, Greece58 contributions20 helpful votes
The hotel is excellent! My room was clean and got clean every day I left it! The stuff is very gentle and ready to help give advices and finally the food is great! Definitely will choose this hotel again! The only thing is parking in the area! I got lucky to park in the hotel’s private parking but the area lacks of parking space
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
AFreeman77 wrote a review Oct 2020
Athens, Greece32 contributions24 helpful votes
I stayed at the Atlantis for many summers with my family over 30 years ago. So I decided to return. I'm very glad I did! The quality of the public areas, rooms and service are simply excellent. The hotel has been refurbished in recent years to a high quality. I had a port view double room. There was a large balcony with a table and two chairs where I had multiple coffees during my weekend stay, admiring the view. There is a coffee maker in the room with 6 capsules provided FOC. The bed was comfortable with high quality linen and ample bed side lighting and multiple power sockets for my phone and laptop. There is also a large desk and chair if you need to work (which I did) and also a comfortable armchair. The TV has international and local channels including a Thai channel! The bathroom is stunning and the spacious walk in rainforest shower is one the best I've seen in a hotel. The black marble is very elegant. They offer liquid soap but I asked for a soap bar and the attendant gave me one immediately. You must visit the rooftop pool. Plenty of recliners. Amazing view of the port and city. There is also a spa but I didn't have a chance to visit. There is also a food / drink menu. Breakfast is served a la carte now, due to covid19, otherwise it's normally a buffet. The a la carte menu is generous and you can choose between 3 different menu types including a light option and also a Cretan option. I sat outside in the atrium. I had cooked eggs with bacon and also smoked salmon, plus pastries and a rice pudding. Juice and coffee were freshly made. There is a large bar area on the ground floor where I had a drink while reading a book. Huge comfortable sofas and armchairs and a very warm homely feeling. This is one of the most elegant hotels I've stayed at in the Greek islands and it's clear much investment has been made in recent years. The staff are all very professional and friendly and I sense they feel proud to work there. The attention to cleanliness was everywhere and there are multiple antiseptic gel stations including at the entrance. The Aquilla Atlantis is a hotel that would be just as comfortable in winter as it is in summer with its warm decor. So I can't wait to return before next summer.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: A port view room with balcony is worth it.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Other at Aquila Atlantis Hotel
Responded 9 Nov 2020
Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted that you decided to return to our beautiful island and our hotel and to know that you had such a wonderful holiday! I am very pleased that our hotel fulfilled all of your holiday needs. Your positive comments have been shared with the whole of my team. We are always very appreciative of all feedback we receive and thank you for taking the time to provide your review. Thank you once again for choosing the Aquila Atlantis Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future. Kindest regards George Barelier General Manager
Read more
GaryWood34 wrote a review Sep 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom28 contributions46 helpful votes
We stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon after arriving from Santorini to Heraklion port (2 mins away) and flying home from Heraklion airport (5 mins away) so the location was ideal for us. We only booked the one night so had a limited experience but I will jot down a few things. The highlight for us was that the hotel had a rooftop pool with excellent views of the port and the entire city. Nice relaxing end to our honeymoon. I think pools are rare in Heraklion so it was a nice bonus. The hotel entrance, bar and seating area are really luxurious and the staff are extremely professional. The room itself was nice. Big bathroom and has brilliant views of the port. It wasn’t absolutely luxurious but it was nice - great bed. We liked it. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Other at Aquila Atlantis Hotel
Responded 30 Sep 2020
Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review, following your recent stay with us at the Aquila Atlantis Hotel. We take great pride in our hotel, and it is so rewarding to receive such wonderful feedback. As you experienced, the levels of service we offer our guests, and the comfort and enjoyment of all those who stay with us is of paramount importance at all times. It was our great pleasure to host you, and I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards George Barelier General Manager
Read more
Marina wrote a review Aug 2020
Vienna, Austria30 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
Dear future guests of this hotel, let me just quickly tell you how the situation is in this hotel before you decide to book here something: You get the free bottled water just for the first day, an just for the first day, the other days well..we had to buy water from ourselves every day. Don’t think you will get bathroom products (we had to buy that as well), I asked 2x at the reception, the answer was always “No” (as someone who works in hotel business in 5* hotel, the first answer for every question is never “NO”.. optional: you say let me check and I will call you or something like that - dear hotel management: please pay some workshops for yours co-workers, their behavior in a 5* hotel in not updated). As shown in pictures and videos you get all-in-one shampoo-conditioner-Hand soaps-feet soap etc. The hair-dryer is from the 12th century, so if you do have thick and big hair (like me), you will probably need more than 1 hours to dry it. I asked for the better up-to-date hair-dryer on the reception- guess the answer.. it was “NO” of course.. About hotel: I think this hotel had 5* like 10 years ago, but not today. I posted pictures from the room I booked on Booking.com (business room with city view- the bathroom i booked can’t be recognized in the one I got) and the pictures from the room I got at the end: horror. I think they use the SAME perfectly photoshopped in high-glamour pictures for EVERY room. Please update your pictures on Booking-site and don’t fool people around just to sell your rooms. The pool on the rooftop is really small-you can fit 7 people inside and it will be crowded. Nothing is up-to-date or modern, everything is old. They don’t have a bar on the rooftop pool-if you’re thirsty or hungry, there is a phone and you can call the reception and order something. About service: The workers haven’t greeted me not once, they do greet, but just if you greet them first (I repeat myself again: it’s a 5* hotel). Something like that is extremely unprofessional and rude. All questions and conversations I got was before the breakfast: “good morning, which room you are in?” Some other girls right next to our table got the full program from the staff: “hi how are you? Did you slept well? What are you seeing today? Do you need some restaurant recommendations?“ etc.. so the staff chooses if they are going to be polite or not (in a 5* hotel). Facit: I’m disappointed in everything here. It’s not worth the money I paid. The goal of every traveler is to have the best time wherever he goes, and the goal of every hotel should be to make the staying worth remembering. You get an paper (which I also posted) where it explains what’s everything that is missing in the room, mostly because of covid situation (for example: I’ve been in 5 cities along the Italy coast 2 weeks ago, the covid-situation hit them harder As you all know, but the hotels I’ve stayed in, were perfect and really tried hard to make it an effort), so you guys don’t need excuses like COVID-situation, you just need to handle everything better. I’m disappointed in everything here and about this hotel. Staying for 3 more days and can’t wait to pack my luggage and leave this “wanna be 5* hotel”. I hope you will learn something from this and make it better and not just write me some answer like “we’re soooo sorry bla bla bla we will improve in the future bla bla bla”. Best wishes and regards, Marina I.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Other at Aquila Atlantis Hotel
Responded 1 Sep 2020
Dear Guest It is clear from your review that you were not satisfied with your stay and whilst we sincerely regret your comments, it is unfortunate that we were not made aware of any of your concerns until we were notified of your reviews on various social media platforms. As soon as we became aware of your feedback I, the hotel General Manager, made arrangements to speak with you. Unfortunately, you were not available until Saturday morning and despite our agreement to meet and discuss your unhappiness you chose not to make the appointment. I have not therefore been given any opportunity to offer any possible solutions. I would however wish to clarify a few of your comments and firstly I would wish to address the photographs you have posted. The unmade beds you have shown were not as a result of any failing on our part, given you had been in the room for 4 days, the beds have clearly been slept in and are therefore unmade as housekeeping had not attended. We would wish to assure any future guests reading your post that the room you had been allocated on 23.08.20 had been fully prepared for your arrival and a full Covid-19 disinfectant procedure followed. As a result of Covid-19, we are no longer able to offer daily housekeeping, as both Greek and European Legislation advises against all non-essential room cleaning, so as a avoid unnecessary contact with guests personal belongings and space. If however a guest requests any additional cleaning to that which we currently offer, we will do our utmost to provide this. At no time throughout your stay did you request any further housekeeping to the schedule we have in place, which is currently offered every other day. We provide shampoo and shower gel in guests rooms, as we endeavour to be environmentally friendly and, along with many hotels, no longer offer numerous complimentary bottles of bathroom products. We are ISO and Green Key certified, and these organisations require such action. Water is provided free of charge on arrival, thereafter bottles of water are at an additional charge. This is a situation that will be found in the vast majority of hotels, particularly when on a Bed & Breakfast board basis. It is unusual that the service offered by the team at the Hotel is criticised, as we receive extremely positive feedback about the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff, from the vast majority of our guests. I am therefore extremely surprised that you did not find this to be the case. I am sorry that our hotel did not meet with your personal expectations and I sincerely regret that you were not willing to discuss any of your concerns directly with us during the course of your stay. Kind regards George Barelier General Manager
Read more
Ahmed H wrote a review Aug 2020
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates17 contributions8 helpful votes
Location was ok. Not bad. 2 Water pools was tiny for kids and awkward hours from 11-7. Clean. And good cleaning service. Water bottles were offered only first day and not provided after. Room was small. Told it’s a standard room for 3 but we couldn’t even move. Told it’s a queen bed but it’s just 2 full beds together. Had to climb on a chair to make coffee cuz machine was very high and not removable. Small tv with small channels selection. View was awful. Limited restaurant menu. No door service. Front desk unhelpful. Definitely not 5 stars hotel. One is fairly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Other at Aquila Atlantis Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for choosing Aquila Atlantis Hotel and for taking the time to provide your review. I am extremely disheartened to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as we would have wished. Due to the fact we are city hotel we are unable to offer large pools to our guests. Although I regret you were unhappy with the opening times of the swimming pools, they are cleaned and chlorinated during the morning, which is why they are not available until 11am. We offer all our guests a complimentary bottle of water on their day of arrival and I can only apologise if you believed this would be provided free of charge throughout your stay. You had reserved a standard room, which do not benefit from a balcony and view. I regret to learn that you were not happy with the double bed provided and whilst we have not previously had any negative feedback regarding these beds, I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. Our primary goal is the satisfaction of our valued guests and I am sorry to read that some of our services and facilities didn’t meet your expectations. It is only on receiving such feedback that we are able to maintain and improve the standard of service that we provide to our valued guests. Rest assured that I will share your comments with my team so that any necessary action may be taken. Kindest regards George Barelier General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 75 - USD 172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
atlantis hotel heraklion
LOCATION
GreeceCreteHeraklion PrefectureHeraklion
NUMBER OF ROOMS
164
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aquila Atlantis Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Aquila Atlantis Hotel?
Nearby attractions include EscapeRooms.gr (0.4 km), Kotsanas Museum (0.3 km), and Irida Family Workshop (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aquila Atlantis Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Aquila Atlantis Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Aquila Atlantis Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Aquila Atlantis Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aquila Atlantis Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Avli, ML Espresso Bar, and Mc Delly’s Casual Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aquila Atlantis Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Does Aquila Atlantis Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Aquila Atlantis Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Aquila Atlantis Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Aquila Atlantis Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aquila Atlantis Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Greek.