We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Athens Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Athens Backpackers
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Athens Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 358: English reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Check in was easy - though I accidentally turned up to the studios rather than the backpackers, the lady there easily redirected me around the corner. Location was actually fantastic, only a few minutes (barely even that) to the entrance of both the Acropolis (secondary entrance) and the Acropolis museum. Room wasn't anything particularly special, only had I think four/five...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
Athensstudios, General Manager at Athens Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Alison, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're very glad you enjoyed our location, facilities and services with the exception of the walking tour. We have different guides on different days but we'll pass this along to all of them as feedback and food for thought - we want all participants to be left pleased with...

Arlington, Texas, United States
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed here for 2 days on our Greece trip. This is within walking distance from Acropolis and a bunch of small shops for souvenirs. They serve breakfast and have late night "happy hour". This was my very first Hostel, and I was leery but it was actually a really nice and decent place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farah V
Athensstudios, General Manager at Athens Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Farah, Thanks for this amazing review, glad to hear you had a great experience at your first hostel stay - yay! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Best, Kristina

Reviewed 26 September 2016

Pros: Aircon, Location, clean as it could be being old. Cons: Bullied by other guests to turn aircon off and spending my night sweating like a beast even though I booked this hostel on the basis it had aircon. Walking tour wasn't running as advertised. Run down and a bit tatty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thea B
Athensstudios, General Manager at Athens Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thea, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our walking tour runs every day during the summer and four days a week during the winter - it only requires a minimum amount of participants for it to run. Sorry to hear you didn't see eye to eye with other guests, we understand sleeping at a temperature you...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Stayed in a 6 bed dorm for 3 nights. Hostel was in a great location and conveniently located near to all attractions. Had a rooftop bar with happy hour and with great views of the acropolis lit up at night. Rooftop bar a good way to meet other travellers. Dorm was clean with a locker, a/c and a small balcony....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brookes123
Athensstudios, General Manager at Athens Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Brookes, It sounds like you had a great stay, many thanks for choosing us and for taking the time to review as well. We try to clean the bathrooms as frequently as possible within the day but it can get messy very quickly with shower water, we apologize about that! Hope to see you again during a next visit...

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

I started my holidays in Athens and as i was travelling alone i decided to stay in a hostel. Athens backpackers seemed to have a great location. After booking i received an e-mail with instructions how to find the hostel in different way of transport, it was very helpful, it was easy to find it this way. Walking distance from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TMariannka
Athensstudios, General Manager at Athens Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for this fantastic review. We're definitely honored to be mentioned as the best hostel you've been to and makes us want to work even harder to better ourselves! We can assure you we keep the kitchen very very clean and we have taken note about adding some variations to the breakfast. Thanks again for your detailed...

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Very helpful friendly staff, and up on the roof top bar you can meet some really cool interesting people, and enjoy an incredible view, fair price and perfect loctation!! Dont hesitate this place is great!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dahlia G
Athensstudios, General Manager at Athens Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, Instantly loved your review, thanks for taking the time to share your experience! We're thrilled you enjoyed your time among us and we definitely look forward to seeing you again very soon! Best, Kristina

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The best thing about this hostel is without a doubt the location. Easy to find. In the heart of plaka, one minute away from the acropolis museum. I arrived @ the airport and took a 6euro bus (X95) until the last stop, where you walk across AMELIAS street and it's very easy to find the hostel in MAKRI STREET. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen G
Athensstudios, General Manager at Athens Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Eileen, Thank you for your detailed feedback, we're glad you got the chance to visit Athens in September (great time to do so) and that you found our location convenient to explore it in the best way possible. We hope to see you back here soon - keep in mind that you can borrow a hairdryer from reception and...

Kingaroy, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on the end of island holiday. Downsides include: no towels, if sharing bathroom ( 1 toilet and shower between 12 people) it always seemed to be wet and dirty from water splashing out of the shower. Breakfast was boiled egg, sliced tomato and cucumber & bread. Tea and coffee available any time of day. Close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
Athensstudios, General Manager at Athens Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! Even though our dorm rooms don't include towels you can always rent a fresh one for your entire stay from the reception for 1euro. There is 1 bathroom between 6 people for the 6 bed shared rooms and 1 between 4 people for the 4 bed shared...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

One of My worst nights, we didn't have a reservation before, our friend did and she was stupid enough not to make reservation for all of us, so when we arrived the worker there told us there are no more rooms left, and if we want we pay 30 euro for a bed and 10 euro for sofa we thought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Razan M
Athensstudios, General Manager at Athens Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Razan, We're extremely sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time here. Unfortunately the day you came in we were fully booked between both our buildings and since you had booked in for one person, we recommended you the sofa for the extra person with bed linen provided and full access to all our facilities and services in order...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

i stayed in the newly opened Studios annex just around the corner. White marble floors, air conditioned spotlessly clean dorm rooms with a mix of male and female young and old, as well as arguably one of the best sites in Athens a minutes walk from the Acropolis metro station and 5 mins walk from the Parthenon which towers over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcvr0104
Athensstudios, General Manager at Athens Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, Probably one of the best reviews in the world! We're very very happy to read this one and it makes us want to try even harder to improve ourselves. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Best, Kristina

248 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (52)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (95)
Viewed
Four Bed Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Six Bed Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#11 of 333 in Athens
3,578 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 333 in Athens
1,581 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 333 in Athens
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 333 in Athens
3,048 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#48 of 333 in Athens
1,409 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#27 of 333 in Athens
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Thissio / Makriyanni

Neighbourhood Profile
Thissio / Makriyanni
Named after the well-preserved Thission (ancient temple of Hephaestus), Thissio is blessed with a small wooded park and some less frenetic streets that offer numerous quieter places to stay and eat. Largely pedestrianised Apostolou Pavlou Street runs between the Acropolis and forested Filopappou Hill, well worth climbing for more great panoramas, until it merges with Dionysiou Areopagitou Street. This leads to the up-and-coming area of Makriyanni, whose centrepiece is the magnificent new Acropolis Museum. Opposite the museum is the entrance to the southern slopes of the Acropolis, while the eponymous metro station nearby is at the top of Makriyanni Street, another strip of touristic cafés and restaurants.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lonely Planet 2015 says "Athens Backpackers has fast become the hostel of choice for visitors, thanks to its excellent facilities and unbeatable location." In Your Pocket March 2015 says "A never-to-be-forgotten experience, people adore this non-smoking, English speaking joint - great opportunity to meet free-style travelers like you"Free WiFi all day, everyday, everywhere' famous Australian-owned and run hostel, right in the heart of classical Athens, an up-market area (98% rated best location) that is safe, central and door-to-door from the airport by metro. You'll have an amazing time at AB's, there is always something on from Quiz nights, Karaoke Nights, Twice weekly LIVE music, Walking tours and Happy Hour 7 days a week.* No hidden charges (no penalties for using credit cards) free breakfast, free tea and coffee all day and luggage storage.* ... more   less 

Additional Information about Athens Backpackers

Address: 12 Makri (Makrigianni) | Makrigianni, Athens 117 42, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Price Range: $25 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Athens Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Backpackers Hotel Athens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Athens Backpackers staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Athens Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They do have studio suites two blocks walk away from the main hostel location that everyone knows...”
 of 5 bubbles michaelwadel, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles Akaypatel, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the top floor have views of the Acropolis.”
  • View of the Acropolis from the dorm.
  • This is a 6 bed dorm on the top floor.
 of 5 bubbles Wakhoworld, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Floors 2-3 would be perfect to avoid the hardly-noticable-anyway noise from the common areas.”
 of 5 bubbles roeef98, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“best location”
 of 5 bubbles 827aniaj, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5