We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarence River Wilderness Lodge

Save
Share
Paddy's Flat Rd, Tabulam, New South Wales 2469 Australia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (111)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Lazy river
Picnic area

Location

Full view
Contact
Paddy's Flat Rd, Tabulam, New South Wales 2469 Australia
See all nearby hotels
95Reviews5Q+A17Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 83
  • 8
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jAvalon75 wrote a review Sept 2021
Sydney6 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Mother’s and sons weekend away we hired two Bell tents on the River and to say is was magical is an understatement. The location is beautiful and definitely off the beaten track. We can’t wait to go back and bring the dads next time. Sharon and Steve were very helpful whilst also making us feel like we had the place all to ourselves.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Ross, Owner at Clarence River Wilderness Lodge
Responded 1 Oct 2021
Hi Janeya, We are glad you enjoyed your stay. You are creating amazing experiences for those 2 boys. Ones that stick with them for a lifetime. Hope to see you back here with the Dads in tow. Steve
Read more
Finaturelover wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
We have just returned after spending 3 nights at this amazing place. We visited Steve and Sharon at their wildness property over 20 years ago and it still holds the same peaceful feeling that it had all those years ago. No crowds only a family camping by the river. We were so lucky to have the place virtually to ourselves. We hiked up onto the Ridge walk and down to the Rockpool and followed the creek bed back to the Clarence river. What spectacular views to be had from the top of the ridge add in clear blue skies and nights filled with stars - we were very blessed. With Steve and Sharon the longtime owners of this remote property, close at hand, friendly advice is literally just around the corner. Log fires are a must at night no need to take firewood. Perfect! We ventured down the river on a canoe on our second day and Steve was so helpful with what to expect. The river has a large waterhole near the accommodation and further downstream gentle rapids if you’re feeling adventurous. Steve mentioned that he takes small groups down the rapids on occasion. That sounds like fun! A fun few days was had along with the feeling of getting back to nature. Thanks Steve and Sharon for your hospitality. Oh and don’t forget to stop at the 3 lookouts on the drive down to their property. We drove back up to the sunset lookout late one afternoon for some drinks and nibbles to watch the sunset. Was beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Ross, Owner at Clarence River Wilderness Lodge
Responded 30 May 2021
Hi Fiona, Thanks for your 5 star review. It was a pleasure to show you what this wilderness area has in terms of history, adventure and natural beauty. Lets hope the interval between visits isn't as long next time. Steve
Read more
EmilieV wrote a review Apr 2021
Brisbane, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
This was my first time camping and it couldn't have gone better. The location is amazing, right next to the riverbed and the owners are the nicest! The amenities were super clean as well. Great experience!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Ross, Owner at Clarence River Wilderness Lodge
Responded 22 May 2021
Hi Emilie, Thanks for taking the time to review our property. Camping in the bush for the first time can be a bit confronting. I am glad the experience was positive for you. Steve
Read more
Troopy_On_Tour wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions
We loved our stay at the Clarence River Wilderness Lodge. Sharron was a wonderful host. Her recommendations, knowledge of the local area and welcoming personality made us feel really at home for Christmas. We ended up staying an extra night at this beautiful campsite as a result. This is definitely a campsite that is not to be missed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Ross, Owner at Clarence River Wilderness Lodge
Responded 30 Dec 2020
Hi Guys, Thanks for reviewing us. Glad you enjoyed your stay. You did have a premo spot right beside the widest part of the waterhole. Enjoy your travels in NSW. Steve
Read more
Aya M wrote a review Nov 2020
8 contributions
This place was nice campsite that makes you forget your busy life. We could enjoy various activities and the starry sky was very beautiful at night. The facilities such as showers and toilets were also very clean and I enjoyed camping comfortably. And the owner couple were very nice people. They kindly helped us when we were in trouble. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. It's a wonderful place to visit once in a lifetime. This is a highly recommended place. We will definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Ross, Owner at Clarence River Wilderness Lodge
Responded 4 Dec 2020
Thanks guys for your very positive review. We were happy to help out. Steve
Read more
Sue G wrote a review Nov 2020
Sydney, Australia19 contributions10 helpful votes
Stayed here after our hiking trip to WA was cancelled due to COVID and so thankful that we did. The Wilderness Lodge is a remote off grid eco getaway. Stunning location with fantastic hosts Sharon and Steve. You can camp, stay in eco tree huts (which I did) or stay in a cabin - accommodation styles for everyone - yet always looking after the environment at the same time. Amazing walks, harder hikes, waterholes for swimming and morning birdlife galore. Loved this place and everything about it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Ross, Owner at Clarence River Wilderness Lodge
Responded 4 Dec 2020
Hi Sue, Thanks for taking the time to review our place. I must say when your group left, it was like family leaving. I just loved the witty repartee around the evening meal each night and hearing the adventures of the days walk. Look forward to welcoming you , hubby and the camper trailer back here sometime in the future. Steve
Read more
hozackc wrote a review Nov 2020
Sydney, Australia25 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
The lodge is off the beaten track with plenty to do, whilst keeping the footprint of those activities as small as possible. our crew was given the opportunity to plant a tree to offset our trip there, and spent 9 wonderful nights listening to the birds and ducks from their gorgeous tree huts. Basic, but clean, all the important things are there - like a toilet and a hot shower! The rest is provided by nature. We have had an excellent time, and highly recommend CRWL to anyone thinking about visiting
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Ross, Owner at Clarence River Wilderness Lodge
Responded 23 Nov 2020
Hi Clare, Thanks for taking the time to review the Clarence River Wilderness Lodge. We just loved hosting your fitness group. What a great bunch of people to have an adventure with. I have been watering your carbon offset trees everyday since you left and I am starting to see some new growth. Steve
Read more
The Hurds wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Stayed 3 years in a row now. A wonderful place and Sharon and Steve are great hosts and very accommodating. You can do as much or as little as you like. The family love it. Cannot wait to come back again. See you soon.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Annette D wrote a review Dec 2019
Brisbane, Australia2 contributions
Clarence River Wilderness Lodge is breathtakingly beautiful - wish we’d scheduled a longer stay. Big thanks to Sharon and Steve for making us welcome and for bailing me out when I chickened out on driving the van back out the “driveway”. We all want to get back there as soon as possible for a proper break.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure you have a sturdy vehicle and an experienced off-road driver. This warning is given in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
michellejk89 wrote a review Nov 2019
Broadbeach, Australia87 contributions53 helpful votes
Just got back from 2 nights here with my husband we stayed on the bell-tent which was set up by Sharon and Stephen before we arrived right in front of the water, we paid the extra for linen and towels and honestly it was very comfortable and so spacious. We had the most amazing, relaxing time. Unfortunately due to such dry weather the water levels were very low and there was no flowing water however there was still enough to go for a canoe which are free to use. There was only us and 2 other lots of people so very quiet and peaceful and almost felt like we had the place to ourselves. We went on a few walks (including the Ridge Walk) which we cant recommend enough, and also drove up to Sunset Lookout in the late afternoon, due to the fires around there was the most beautiful color in the sky, it felt so surreal with that view. Sharon was so lovely and so helpful, and we honestly cannot wait to come back and experience this piece of heaven when the water levels are full.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from wildsteve, Owner at Clarence River Wilderness Lodge
Responded 15 Nov 2019
Hi Michelle, Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our property and your Bell tent stay. Because of the prolonged drought you didn't see the Wilderness lodge at it's best. I am glad that you were still able to enjoy the other activities on offer here. Lets hope your next visit will have you floating through the rapids on a boogie board. Steve
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesTabulam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clarence River Wilderness Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Clarence River Wilderness Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, a lazy river, and a picnic area.
Is parking available at Clarence River Wilderness Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.