We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sugar Ridge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sugar Ridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

997 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sugar Ridge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 962: English reviews
Malaga, Spain
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Check-in and check-out were painfully slow. Rooms are comfortable and clean. All worked well, including the wifi. The hotel is located within walking distance to Jolly Harbor and it's restaurants, shops. Also a few other restaurants are within walking distance, as is the beach. Be aware that you should always book a rate that includes breakfast as the hotel otherwise...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K8250FZalexr
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent trip to Antigua. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us create a better overall customer experience, and we hope our prices, while in line with others on island, did not spoil an otherwise blemish free stay. Please do come back.

London
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We had a lovely few days staying at Sugar Ridge. A beautiful location where you definitely need transport to get up and down the hills. Carmichael' restaurant is amazing but the Sugar Club is only average. Great service with super friendly staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank FionaLondon
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a TripAdvisor review – it’s appreciated! We hope you made your displeasure with Sugar Club known to our team while you were on site as we would always try to make things right. We hope we’ll see you again.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Upon arrival I was greeted by a cynical front desk agent, dropped to the room in a dark area without assistance w/ my bags from the bellman eventhough, I was walking downhill in a rocky area, then got a rude ignorant call from the supervisor about my guest. Overall, it was a terrible first impression which made the rest of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Q8211MYdisappointed
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a TripAdvisor review and allow us the opportunity to address some of the missteps that occurred during your visit. We strive for a complete guest experience from the time you arrive until the time you leave. We did try to make things right by offering a complimentary bottle of champagne for...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017

What a wonderful holiday from the moment we arrived to our day of departure. We had been a little worried by some of the reviews we had read, but we shouldn’t have been. The holiday wasgreat. Our room was very comfortable with a lovely big four poster bed and a good shower-room. It would perhaps have been nice if there...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank johnsG1754CY
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review

We thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Antigua. Ten days is certainly a long enough stay to get an excellent feel for all the attributes that Sugar Ridge is so well known for. Our chefs and kitchen team will be delighted to hear they were able to keep your taste buds satisfied over the length...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Everything was awesome. I had a room with a private plunge pool but my view was obstructed by trees. Also their local breakfast is legit! Great customer service. I will definitely be back soon. The only thing I don't like is having to be carted everywhere in a shuttle because it's hilly, but a small price to pay for the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brandi J
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review

We enjoyed your enthusiastic review – thanks! Out kitchen team will be pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfasts. We love the magnificent foliage on our property, including trees that not only provide shade and soil stability, but habitat for indigenous wildlife. Please do come back and enjoy our views anytime!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017

This us the second time we've stayed at Sugar Ridge. The rooms are excellent. Facilities are very good and standards are high. The restaurants however are limited - we ate at other local restaurants half the time because the on site restaurants were deserted. Prices generally are high - we pay less at a Michelin starred restaurant in central London....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pshampshire
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review

Thank you for making the trip to Antigua and staying at Sugar Ridge – it’s appreciated! We do have two restaurants on site which offer a wide selection of island favorites as well as nightly specials. Our prices are in line with other restaurants like ours on Antigua. We certainly hope your spouse is on the mend and we will...

Reviewed 10 February 2017

This place is simply beautiful, quiet, removed and the view is awesome. The staff greeted us with a fruit punch and a huge smiles. The drive up to the room was intimidating but the view of Jolly Harbour from the balcony was spactatuclar ... once we got the lay of the land and a few walking path short cuts the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Denmar7
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us at Sugar Ridge! Our team here is constantly being pointed out for their genuine warmth and hospitality and we thank you for pointing them out. If you ever miss those beautiful views, we invite you to come back and enjoy them again.

Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

The Hotel is really nice in that it's a great location, great views etc if you don't mind a ten minute walk to the beach. The hotel do a shuttle but we were happy to walk. The main issue I had was the main restaurant. Firstly, we were told by Virgin that if we booked a dinner plan we could...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Charlie C
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to Sugar Ridge. We’re surprised to hear you didn’t enjoy your experience (the staff, wait times or food quality) at Sugar Ridge. We do apologize that you weren’t able to swap out a meal. A discussion with our manager should have occurred as he would have seen to it that you were taken care...

essex UK
Reviewed 4 February 2017

spend one night here in transit, lovely rooms and views but if you have a disability then think again, even though they have a shuttle service to get you to your room you still either need to go down uneven steps or go up uneven steps, we reserved a table for a meal for the one night we were there,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank franbanks
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review

Thank you for making a brief, yet meaningful, stop at Sugar Ridge on your recent visit to Antigua. As indicated in our name and on our website, we have a unique and memorable geographic location on the island, and like many resorts throughout the world, it may not be suitable to all. If you personally encountered challenges, we trust our...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We stayed for only one night but the staff was wonderful and the rooms were lovely! Clifford, Alicia, Cherissa and Durban were super! Made us right at home. Others too! The views are terrific and the restaurant up top has amazing views and a lovely pool. Off the beach is the only negative I would have.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DSanFrancisco
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review

We hope that your one night on Antigua didn’t feel too rushed and that you were able to feel a bit of the laid-back Island lifestyle which typifies a visit here. Our team is personable and professional and we’re glad to hear they made you feel at home. We have beach shuttles for our guests, so on your next visit...

1,331 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (898)
Viewed
Room/Suite (107)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (173)
Viewed
View from Room (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (122)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (329)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (421)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Beach (39)
Viewed
Carmichael's Infinity Pool (27)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (58)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room with Plunge Pool (65)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room with Plunge Pool 2 (45)
Viewed
Main Pool (43)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jolly Harbour
13.3 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,783 reviews
21.3 km away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
3,604 reviews
0.6 km away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 km away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
0.6 km away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
780 reviews
16.7 km away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Antigua’s newest boutique hotel nestles in a sugar cane-bordered natural hillside with stunning views of the surrounding landscape and the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Designed in contemporary colonial style, rooms have private large verandas, plunge pool and full amenities. An Aveda™ spa provides the latest in holistic therapies; a gym, 3 swimming pools, trendy Sugar Club bar/restaurant and the more formal Carmichael’s, make Sugar Ridge the place to be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sugar Ridge

Address: PO Box 153, Jolly Harbour, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Jolly Harbour
Price Range: $244 - $719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sugar Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Ridge Hotel Jolly Harbour
Sugar Ridge Antigua/Jolly Harbour
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sugar Ridge staff and other travellers.
46 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (46)

Questions? Get answers from Sugar Ridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher the room number the better the view.”
 of 5 bubbles 274davec, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are on the hillside - lots of steps”
 of 5 bubbles pshampshire, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the higher up the hill you are the better the view”
 of 5 bubbles franbanks, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go to the local market and buy water. Bring OFF bug spray, mosquitos can be bad. ”
 of 5 bubbles leonw112, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you struggle to climb steps ask for a lower room”
 of 5 bubbles robbiew117, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5