We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Do Centro Hotel

Save
Share
Rua Carmo 20, Funchal, Madeira 9050-019 Portugal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (6)
View from Room (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#77 of 99 hotels in Funchal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 3-star Hotel do Centro is perfectly situated for a relaxing break in the charming centre of Funchal – the cultural hub of Madeira. Situated within close reach of the city’s top restaurants, shops and museums, our inviting hotel enjoys an idyllic location for an entertaining holiday on the island. A homely welcome awaits you at the Hotel do Centro Warm hospitality, classic decor and comfortable facilities add a pleasant touch of informality to our homely, 3-star hotel. Besides an enviable location, the Hotel do Centro also offers a selection of affordable accommodation, a delightful breakfast room, Internet access, a 24-hour reception desk and proximity to all there is to see and do in this outstanding city. An exceptional holiday in the heart of the Atlantic’s ‘Floating Garden’ Funchal’s unique allure and natural beauty are everlasting – a picture-perfect destination where flowers blossom year round, gentle ocean breezes cool the air and beautiful hilltops beg to be explored. Also home to some of the island’s finest gastronomic treats, its most popular celebrations, festivals and extremely cheerful and hospitable population, this magnificent Madeiran city is the perfect place to enjoy sheer holiday tranquility.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
24-hour front desk
Paid internet
Internet
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Portuguese
88Reviews0Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 38
  • 32
  • 9
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Tuju71 wrote a review Nov 2019
Helsinki, Finland33 contributions4 helpful votes
I spent a week in this lovely hotel. I stayed on top floor, room was clean and spaciois. I always have ear plugs so I did not hear any noices, no traffic at least on my side of the hotel. A lot of storage space, always a plus. Hotel is old but well maintained. May be new pillows and blankets in the near future :) Location was absolutely perfect. Will come back if possible.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelWindsorGroup, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Do Centro Hotel
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and comments. We were pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will take a good note on the less positive points you mention and will have them in consideration for further improvements. We look forward to your next stay at our hotel. Please take care. Regards, Luminita
Read more
Steve M wrote a review Jul 2019
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom25 contributions26 helpful votes
This hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of town. Check in was quick but we were only given information around breakfast times, the lady on reception in the evening Therese was much more helpful and informative. Room was spacious and clean with the shower always hot and powerful but the aircon was not quite cool enough. Breakfast was fine, cold buffet with juice and good coffee. As I had read reviews on here before the holiday I knew that there is a sister hotel only 50 yards away, The Windsor which has a roof top terrace with a lovely swimming pool that you can use. We would have struggled without the use of this due to the heat. There are hundreds of places to eat, good ones are Trigal, Opiano, Obravo and Sabores. Local drinks are Poncha(Sugar cane juice with different flavours added, Fisherman's Poncha is very strong and blew my socks off!) and Nikita, Vanilla ice cream, pineapple, sugar, white beer and white wine!). Yellow Hop on Hop off bus trips were 25 euro each for a 3 route 5 day ticket. public buses are cheaper but this option was flexible for us. Places to see among lots are Camara de Lobos, Pico de Lobos and Cabo de Girao(Skywalk over a 580 metre cliff). An obvious day out is to take the cable car up to Monte(11 euros for a single), Monte Palace gardens(12.50 each, took us 3.5 hours to see it all), Basket Toboggan ride halfway down the mountain(30 euros for 2 people, 2km ride), Taxi back into town (the drivers will ask for 15 euros but we bartered for 10).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelWindsorGroup, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Do Centro Hotel
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and comments. We were pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will take a good note on the less positive points you mention and will have them in consideration for further improvements. We look forward to your next stay at our hotel. Please take care. With kind regards from Madeira, Luminita
Read more
banos p wrote a review Mar 2019
Eastleigh, United Kingdom33 contributions78 helpful votes
My wife & i stayed at these premises for 5 nights , like most peeps i checked it out on " Trip Advisor " to gauge our expectations . Everything that most peeps had said were pretty accurate , apart from the following that i shall impart .. in an impartial & hopefully fair manner . The pillows , NOT as lumpy as previously reported .. myself & the wife slept soundly EVERY night ( not using the duck down filled type at home anyway ) . So whether the management had listened to prior moans / groans or not , & addressed this gripe .. i do not know . What we had under our heads was fine , & there was a spare pillow that we only noticed on our last day .. in the top of a wardrobe / cupboard . The breakfast WAS simple fayre , although i have to say in a pleasant clean & recently refurbished area ( as was the reception area & foyer , different to what i saw on " Trip Advisor " photos ) . For 5 days i had the choice of 2 cereals , imitation corn flakes or " choco / bran flakes " ( didn't try or taste the latter , as i merely didn't fancy them ) .. i mixed the former in with separate bowls of currants / raisins & oats ( D.I.Y. muesli in other words ) . Along with Yogurt , 2 types of bread rolls , honey , & the customary " cheese & ham " for the weirdos ! . Various types of tea for the luvvies , but blissfully a big " CHA" tea urn for us English folk .. normal tea on tap ( if a tad weak , so don't add a lot of milk ) . Coffee etc for the toffs , bananas & a weird looking presumably fruit .. so although given what i have mentioned .. we didn't feel the need to rush up the road for a bacon sarnie . " Perfectly adequate " start to the day , if a tad uninspiring .. thank you to the lady who kept everything clean & tidy there ( you were worthy of our 5 euro tip ) . Staff in general were extremely friendly & helpful , as i found out most Madeirans were .. on my first trip to Portuguese territory ( Oh how i wished we'd been here before !! ) . NOISE , from the street side rooms ( where we were situated ) was not a problem .. as you keep the window shut !! . What was a problem was the lack of PRIVACY , being positioned on a narrow street having flats , offices etc opposite .. meant that on exiting the SPACIOUS well equipped bathroom .. one had to protect ones modesty by drawing the curtains first . NET CURTAINS ..(please note management ).. would simply eradicate this major flaw , & a " tonight Matthew " situation arising . For us gents on the shaving front , a brilliant large mirror with PERFECT lighting . Bidet for the ladies , plus a good new looking hair drier .. plus electric shaving point . The biggest 3 star bathroom we've ever encountered on our travels , a definite plus . ONE power point though in the hotel room itself , at skirting board level , so take a DOUBLE European plug adaptor . Copious clean towels & toilet rolls , were a welcome bonus too . Also if like us , you like a brew in your room , take a travel kettle ( we forgot ours , gutted ) . T.V with Sky & BBC 24 hr Br-exit coverage, if you like your news & want to be depressed on holiday . Unfortunately the lift is cosy (4 peeps max) , or in our case .. 2 peeps + Samsonite case ( cosy enough ta ! ) . Never the less perfectly adequate, as is the rest of this hotel . Supermarket next door the size of the Albert Hall , & a pharmacy a SHORT walk to the left up the road .. with the lovely Nadine serving ( who spoke perfect English ) She was a great help when the wife went down with Delhi belly , from having a dodgy drink at unbelievably " the Ritz " .. which taught me not to go posh again on my birthday . A swimming pool at the 4 star Windsor hotel , a SHORT walk up the street opposite to the Do centro is available to use .. & is worth a visit as we did just to look . Very nice area with a great backdrop view , if you want , or feel the need for a dip .. plus a small pool bar . Plus if you hire a car , you can leave it at the Windsor .. no parking at the Do Centro .. good luck with the one way system though ( previous visiting peeps would understand that one ) . Perfectly positioned for short walk to sea front , shops etc , cable car & old town .. we would definitely stay here again ( or the Windsor , dependant on price of course ) . All round nice adequate place to stay , you won't be disappointed .. unless your minted .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Read my report , that should suffice .. never explored the rest of this small Hotel .. just ...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelWindsorGroup, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Do Centro Hotel
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, We were pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We will take a good note on the less positive points you mention and will have them in consideration for further improvements. We look forward to your next stay at our hotel. Please take care. With kind regards from Madeira, Luminita
Read more
PlanetMoores wrote a review Jan 2019
Penang Island, Malaysia362 contributions227 helpful votes
All you really need: wifi, hot water with good pressure, flat screen TV, hair dryer, balcony with two chairs, all super clean. Why they don’t get better pillows is a mystery… Location is very convenient: 5 min walk to Mercado, under 10 to cable car/bus station. Helpful staff, though one offered tours and car rental at prices higher than you could get from the tourist office, which is not well signed--it's a 10 minute walk down the same street as the hotel (to the left), opposite the Palazio Sao Lorenzo—very helpful and knowledgeable staff there. Walls are a bit thin, breakfast is not great. Use of the Windsor Hotel pool nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: back side away from street
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelWindsorGroup, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Do Centro Hotel
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I’m sad to see that we did not manage to correspond to your expectations. We shall carefully analyze the less positive points you mention and will have it in consideration for further improvements. We would be happy to see you again at our hotel in order to meet your expectations. Please take care. With kind regards from Madeira, Luminita
Read more
Kirsti58 wrote a review Jul 2018
Helsinki, Finland79 contributions22 helpful votes
This was nice moderate hotel in the centre of Funchal. If you prefere hotel with short walking distance from everywhere in Funchal centre this is your hotel. No pool in the hotel. Hotel was small with very helpful staff. Room we had was with balcony to the silent side of the hotel. Breakfast was very basic but good enough for us. Therewas also a minimarket on next building if you want to buy something to eat or drink. Hotel was 100 m from main street and very close to Mercado dos Lavradores market place and also the old town.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 51 - USD 105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
do centro funchal, do centro hotel funchal
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Do Centro Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Do Centro Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Lillie Ceramics (0.3 km), Caravel Art Center (0.4 km), and Igreja do Colegio Sao Joao Evangelista (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Do Centro Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and airport transportation.
What food & drink options are available at Do Centro Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Do Centro Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rei da Poncha, Restaurante Informal, and MadCubaVMarista.
Does Do Centro Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Do Centro Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Do Centro Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Do Centro Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Colégio dos Jesuítas do Funchal (0.3 km), Santa Clara Convent (0.7 km), and Blandy's Wine Lodge (0.5 km).