We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pestana Carlton Madeira

Show Prices
#31 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Pestana Carlton Madeira
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,012 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pestana Carlton Madeira
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,441: English reviews
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very centrally located hotel in Funchal but is beginning to look a little dated. The rooms are a good size and have good facilities but the curtains had holes in them, the shower was quite poor in relation to other hotels, the air conditioning was very noisy and the housekeeping was not the best. There was coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to know you enjoyed some of our facilities and services, regarding the less positive issues these will be looked into and corrected.Thank you for appreciating our staff service. Our aim is guest satisfaction and this is what we try to achieve every day. We all look forward to your next...

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on 12th floor overlooking a building site with 6 cranes!Worse than that was the karaoke bar from which singing wafted up to our room until after 11pm following which we were treated to club music which pounded us until 5am.We then had 2 hours window for sleep before the noise of the building site started and no chance...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 167morningstars
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sad to know that your holiday was not up to your expectations, but there are situations which are totally out of our reach. If you decide to visit us again maybe staying in another room type we will be here to give you a warm welcome. Kind regards Salomé Castanho

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked late cheaply, after reading reviews expected road facing room, correctly, however this did not stop our enjoyment of holiday. We were on 16th floor and yes there was work happening at new savoy hotel, but only during working hours when we were not in our room, so didn't disturb us, in fact was quite interesting to watch development daily....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheila c
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Having read it very carefully, i am surprised with the rating you gave us we understand that sometimes giving points is a bit complicated but these can be changed if wished. We are all so glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us when we know that our guests were comfortable, liked the...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well some things are ok. We got a bottle of bubbles for our anniversary. The room view was good but the air conditioning didn't work. The buffet restaurant was ok one night. Great pools and staff. Beer st happy hour same price as Red Lion outside. Interesting ;-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HenryRoot
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear HenryRoot, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the bottle of bubbly on your anniversary, and most of our facilities. Regarding the less positive issues, we are sad to know that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for appreciating our staff service. Look forward welcoming you in future Best regards Salomé Castanho

gbr
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here two years ago and it was just as good.We had a pool view as opposed to the harbour/mountain view last time which we preferred as the balcony was bigger. The room was a good size with everything on hand.Yes it looked a little worn round the edges such as the flooring but it was absolutely fine. Plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hobbyhorse
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly we would like to thank you very much for your review. We are all very proud to have helped make your holiday a " Really Enjoyable " one as you mention. Thank you for appreciating our service and our facilities. Yes, my colleagues at breakfast do work very hard, but hard work is compensated with special comments...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this is an excellent hotel very clean and good food,very comfortable stay,my only thing would be to book a room with sea view as in november sun more with sea view room,also singer in pub across the road and some workmen building but not very noisy,Staff excellent and very helpful

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lorraine h
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your review, and for rating us so highly. Knowing that you had a comfortable holiday with us, enjoying the good food and the fantastic views this hotel has, makes us happy. Thank you for appreciating our staff service, our guests are our priority and will always be. We all look forward...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a suite which was really large and good value for money with excellent sea views Breakfast was ok but if raining and outside seating not in use then a short wait The Taverna restaurant was atrocious One half hours waited for our meal which was disgusting One dish which was beef kebab were raw Other meals baked potatoes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bee9
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Bee9, Thank you for posting this review. Having read it carefully, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the room and the views. Regarding the rest of your stay, we would like to apologize for things not beeing up to your expectations and also fo some staff attitude which is not at all our usual practice and will...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Do not be expecting 5 star as it does not resemble 5 star in any way. Think low 4 star and you'll be happy. We booked this due to 3 key points: - access to sea and town - heated outdoor swimming pool - price / value based on the above plus sea view - It's 10 mins to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mcg007
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sad to know that your stay with us was not up to your expectations and apologize for some staff attitude which is not a usual practice. Reading your review carefully we have taken note of what we can improve to make ours guest happier in future. If in future you decide...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A typical, ocean-side 'holiday hotel' with multiple bars, restaurants and entertainment venues which I'm sure appeals to many but not to us...well not just yet. Clean and very well run, big rooms (2209 for us) and very presentable but tired and a little worn in places and so in need of a make over.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glenn C
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We have taken note of your suggestion, and hope to improve. Yes, we do have one of the best locations in Funchal and this hotel has fantastic views. We are glad that you appreciated how the hotel is run, our aim is guest satisfaction and comfort. We all look forward to your next...

Romsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room 1706 - although we were warned that there would be building work adjacent to the hotel it was NEVER a problem to us. Work started at 0800 just as we were preparing for the day and finished at 1800, just as we were returning. It was after the builders went that the problems started, particularly late at night and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve R
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that the building work did not affect your holiday. As for the surroundings and traffic, there are things totally out of our reach but thank you for your suggestion and I be sure our management has taken good note. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed...

1,631 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1080)
Viewed
View from Room (119)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (149)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (161)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (158)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
2:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (399)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (518)
Viewed
Amenities (114)
Viewed
Atlântico Pool (11)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
Garden Kids Pool (3)
Viewed
Garden Pool (39)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (33)
Viewed
Junior Suite Carlton (42)
Viewed
Dining (106)
Viewed
Standard Harbour View Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Sea View Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Pool (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 km away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
2.3 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,685 reviews
0.3 km away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,519 reviews
0.2 km away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#43 of 86 in Funchal
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: $111 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Carlton Madeira staff and other travellers.
98 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (98)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Carlton Madeira staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a sea view on as high a floor as possible. It is worth the extra without doubt.”
 of 5 bubbles Bob1949, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms worth the extra.”
 of 5 bubbles firtreepete74, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want to have a sea view do not get confused with the bay view rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles SteveH1954, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Happy with poolside views from 16th floor”
 of 5 bubbles christinemV1451RL, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“garden pool view was really good, we were on first floor so we had direct pool access. depends what is priority.”
 of 5 bubbles meerab_13, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay