We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pestana Carlton Madeira

Show Prices
#29 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Pestana Carlton Madeira
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,038 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pestana Carlton Madeira
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,460: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good sized rooms, good facilities, great service all round and an ideal location to explore the island and Funchal itself. Very pleasant stay and lots of good company. Food choice is excellent and staff very helpful and smartly attired. Only downside is the entertainment laid on in the evening which is mediocre at best and the annoying agent hired by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ivanb430
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your review, and for rating us so high. Reading that you had a pleasant time with us, by enjoying our facilities and service motivates us to do more and better each day. Our guests are our priority and we like to make them as happy as we can. We all look...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a week here and enjoyed it. The hotel is very big but it was nearly empty which suited us no end. There's a spa where you can get massages and use the heated indoor pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi its sheer bliss. There's lots of different restaurants in the hotel but also just outside and your so close...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jmaher23
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to know you enjoyed your holiday with us, and appreciated our gesture on your birthday. We all look forward to your next visit in a very near future. Greetings of a Fantastic New Year Best regards Salomé Castanho

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one week from the 12th December. The hotel is in an excellent position to walk into the centre of Funchal easily, providing you are averagely fit. Steep hill to overcome on the return. We stayed on the 16th floor looking to the ocean. Great views, sunrises and sunsets. The room was spacious with a huge double bed which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gordon C
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your review and your kind words. When reading that you enjoyed your holiday with us, having apriciated the great views, hotel facilities, good food, staff service and friendliness gives us great pride. Our aim is guest satisfaction and when we achieve this, making guests as happy as you are, we feel...

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The apartment we were in closes for refurb at the end of the year. The location is superb near the town but quiet and peaceful. The staff were friendly and cared about your stay. The show apartment was just along the corridor from us and it was great so we are going to book or after it reopens in August...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antony B
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you had a good holiday with us in the Pestana Vacation Club Apartments, and are visiting us again in August. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff service, these are very much apriciated. Greetings of a Merry Xmas and Fantastic New Year. Best regards Salomé Castanho

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rated a five star but in my opinion only a four at time of visit (September). Yes a few niggles, needs new sunbeds, l hate shower curtains, but the negatives are far outweighed by the positives. Location perfect, breakfast very good, staff friendly, poolside staff exceptionally helpful and accommodating. Loved this hotel so much that my husband and l have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your review. When reading that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you are returning twice next year makes us proud. We are all so glad that you apriciated our staff service and most of the hotel facilities. Our guests are our priority, and we look forward in giving you...

Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel WiFi does not support Whatsapp 😕😕 which in this day and age most people use. Otherwise the hotel and site very good just a 20 min walk from the town center. Nice pools and next to the sea. Wellness area a bit outdated

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jayeme
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you rated the hotel as "good", and enjoyed it. As for the " Whatsapp" we are sorry this did not work, we have taken note and it will be looked into. Greetings of a Merry Xmas and Fantastic New Year, from all of us. Best regards Salomé...

bournemouth
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have just returned from a lovely stay at this hotel. It fulfilled all our expectations and I would really recommend a stay here if you are visiting Funchal. It's location means that you are able to walk into the town centre to enjoy all the sights, restaurants and other activities available. Our room on the 17th floor was overlooking the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BournemouthLinda
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for rating us so highly. When reading, " excellent hotel, and fulfilled our expectations ", we feel that what we have achieved what we aim for, this is our guests happiness. We want all our guests to have "The Time Of their Lives" as you did. Thank you for sharing your experience...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent a very nice week here to celebrate our 26th wedding anniversary. Although we had some rain it was mostly over with in a flash. It was never cold even in the rain. Hotel was excellent but one big drawback was not having wifi in the rooms. Very strange for this day and age. The rooms were excellent and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 1Jackie2
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you visited us for such a special occasion and had an enjoyable time. Regarding the wifi, this has been noted and I am sure it will be taken care of in future. Greetings of a Merry Xmas and Fantastic New Year, from all of us. Best regards...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The best parts: location (you want to be between Lido and old town), the pools, the breakfast (included for us), the staff, the rooms were very large and comfortable. Only suggestion: need longer hours for the pools!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Co P
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for rating us so highly. Reading that you apriciated our staff service and facilities makes us happy, and motivates us to do more and better each day. Our guests are our priority and will always be. Thank you for your visit. Greetings of a Merry Xmas and a Fantastic New Year, from...

Jersey, Channel Islands
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We spent 5 nights at the Pestana Carlton Madeira in early December. The weather overall was kind and there are lots of facilities at the hotel to enjoy the sun when it shines. We had booked a sea view room and were given a room on the 17th floor, the views were staggering! The room was spacious with a balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bob1949
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so glad to know that you had a delightful holiday with us, and would like to thank you for your review and for rating us so highly. Reading that you appreciated the facilities, good breakfast, most staff services and especially the fact that you wish to return to the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel again, makes us...

1,633 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1083)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (119)
Viewed
Room/Suite (149)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (161)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (158)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
2:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (402)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (518)
Viewed
Amenities (114)
Viewed
Atlântico Pool (11)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
Garden Kids Pool (3)
Viewed
Garden Pool (39)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (33)
Viewed
Junior Suite Carlton (42)
Viewed
Dining (106)
Viewed
Standard Harbour View Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Sea View Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Pool (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 km away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
2.3 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,716 reviews
0.3 km away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#43 of 86 in Funchal
398 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: $113 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Carlton Madeira staff and other travellers.
100 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (100)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Carlton Madeira staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean facing and high up”
 of 5 bubbles Penshurst20, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“best views are of the harbour to the side of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles handbaggirl114, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the sea facing side are quieter due to building work across from the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 45gerryr, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are usually quieter. Away from the traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 459derek, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We booked a room high up, sea view and reall offers a great view of the sea, harbour, swimming pools and gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles traceyall, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay