We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pestana Carlton Madeira

Show Prices
#29 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pestana Carlton Madeira
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,082 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,493: English reviews
yeovil
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We could not fault the hotel itself as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there . The only problem we found was the during the night up till about 4 o,clock in the morning it can be noisey on the mountain view side due I believe due to a night club being across the road. We were on the 17Th floor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank philbroke
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is good to know that you "thoroughly enjoyed" you stay with us, as you mention. Regarding the other issue, we sympathize with your discomfort and would like to thank you for your understanding that this is not within our reach at the moment, but is beeing looked into.It is comforting to read...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited as a couple for a valentines get away. As we booked with Thompson we had a shuttle coach from the airport to each hotel which was handy. To begin with there was a little wait to be seen by the staff but as it was busy we didn't care too much. The facilities such as Spa, pools, sauna,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annabel C
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated the restaurant, bars, and other facilities.Regarding the less positive issue, it is good to know that we could eventually help and that this made you happy. Look forward to your next visit. Best regards Salomé Castanho

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great climate for January, hotel was lovely. All areas were spotless and staff were really helpful. Close to old town and lots of bars and restaurants all within easy reach. Rooms were big but more important they were well maintained. Would definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Treeby64
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to know you had a nice holiday with us, by appreciating our facilities and especially our cleaning staff service. Reading that you would like to visit us again, motivates us to do more, to serve better each day. We all look forward to your next visit in a very near...

Birmingham
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is an up-market hotel in a great location - easy walking distance from the Lido and the centre of Funchal. First impressions were fav orable - the lobby area is pleasant and the staff were very welcoming. There is reasonably priced parking on-site. Our room was impressively sized, with a dedicated massage area a large bed and a very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FatWelshBloke
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is nice knowing that you appreciated the good location, good facilities, and friendly staff service. Whilst reading, we have also taken note of your constructive comments so we may improve to serve better in future. We look forward seeing you on your next holiday. Best regards Salomé Castanho

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just back from 7 days of being looked after so well. Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great breakfast options (even sparkling wine to go with cake). Plenty of restaurants nearby of top quality and reasonable prices. The choice of pools even in February are excellent and have to admit tried both the inside ones and the garden pool during our stay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your review, and for rating us so high. Reading your kind words, makes us feel that our hard work is really worth it. Our main goal is guest satisfaction and when reading " Cannot recommend highly enough." says it all. This is a very nice hotel, thank you for appreciating all...

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a week in February.The hotel enjoys an excellent location , next to Reids on the city side.A pleasant walk takes you into the city to the East and the western promenade , recently enhanced , is accessible to the west. Service throughout was excellent .Rooms , sea facing , had good views and were very well...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ian M
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your review, and for rating us so high. It is rewarding to know that you had an enjoyable holiday with us. Yes, we do have an unbeatable location, with fantastic views, good facilities, and friendly service.Thank you for classifying us as "excellent" and for sharing your experience with all. We all...

De Haan, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is clean and efficiently run by very friendly and helpful staff, it seems most of the clientele stay for bed and breakfast, so the dining room can be extremely busy at certain times in the morning although the staff do cope with this. The evening meals for half board are quite varied and seem to cater for most...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davidhI6484JE
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Reading your kind words towards staff members is very gratifying, we can only thank you for appreciating our effort to make you happy, which we have achieved. We are all glad everything was to your liking. Look forward welcoming you again in a near future. Best regards Salomé Castanho

Boughton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really good hotel recently refurbished. Helpful staff, good location for easy access to Funchal center. Excellent breakfast buffet, caters for all tastes. Rooms are large, well equipped. Free wifi but I could not connect. Good restaurants but also variety locally. Would definitely use again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keithfryan
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, and for rating us so high. It is rewarding to read that you had such a nice holiday with us, by appreciating all this hotel has to offer.Yes, we do have all you mention from the good food to the helpful staff, and we are all glad to have helped make you happy....

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a room on floor 17 overlooking the harbour. Wonderful views of the cruise liners coming in and of the surrounding hillsides, The building site for the Savoy hotel really didn't create a problem as the noise was only during the working day. In any case it was interesting to watch. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret S
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to know you had a good holiday with us, and Yes, this hotel has "wonderful" views and an unbeatable location.It is nice to know that you also enjoyed the breakfast, which is very important to start a day.Now regarding the less positive comments, we have taken note and these will...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a lovely hotel to choose on our first visit to Funchal. The staff were efficient and friendly nothing was too much trouble. When we returned from breakfast each morning our room had been cleaned and fresh towels left daily. The breakfast was second to none with a huge selection to choose from which could be eaten inside or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beverley R
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to know you had a "Lovely holiday" as you mention. Firstly we would like to thank you for appreciating our staff service and for your kind words, these motivate us to do more and better each day to make our guests happy. Reading that you took good advantage of all...

1,647 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1097)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (161)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (149)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (162)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
2:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (410)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (518)
Viewed
Amenities (114)
Viewed
Atlântico Pool (11)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
Garden Kids Pool (3)
Viewed
Garden Pool (39)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (33)
Viewed
Junior Suite Carlton (42)
Viewed
Dining (106)
Viewed
Standard Harbour View Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Sea View Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Pool (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 km away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
2.3 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,747 reviews
0.3 km away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#43 of 86 in Funchal
407 reviews
1.1 km away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
0.7 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: $123 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Carlton Madeira staff and other travellers.
107 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom

See all questions (107)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Carlton Madeira staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for sea view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles philbroke, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The lower rooms are closer to the pool and spa and have bigger balconies than the upper rooms. Ask for a lower room with a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles FatWelshBloke, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view a must, rooms on side currently overlook the new Savoy building site”
 of 5 bubbles 780nickh, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view are best , with noisy building work on the land side for the next year ?.”
 of 5 bubbles IanM427, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Facing the sea and pool and high up, these are much quieter from the building site around the back.”
 of 5 bubbles davidhI6484JE, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5