The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel

Avenida Infante Dom Henrique 1, Lisbon 1100-105 Portugal
Room
Traveller (131)
Rosacea Suite
Room & Suite (50)
Restaurant & Bar Impulso
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#234 of 346 hotels in Lisbon
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Editory Riverside Hotel is housed in Santa Apolónia railway station, one of the country’s oldest train stations and a busy junction for millions of people every year. In a prime location, from where you can catch a train, metro, bus, taxi or even boat to any destination. A refined and sober (never austere) atmosphere, elegant host to travellers, designed for citizens of the World.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Portuguese

Location

Avenida Infante Dom Henrique 1, Lisbon 1100-105 Portugal
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Lisboa Airport
Santa Apolónia
1 minLisbon Metro
Terreiro do Paço
15 minLisbon Metro
99Reviews1Q+A21Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 63
  • 8
  • 11
  • 6
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
lore_liee6 wrote a review Apr 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom31 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Editory for three nights, two days in Lisbon in April. Despite the proximity to the train station, the hotel was silent inside. The staff were extremely kind and knowledgeable. They were also keen to do their best for you, which is what you hope for when you are staying away from home. The hotel itself is beautifully outfitted - there is a theme and they have gone ALL IN with it, which I, personally, love. The bed was very comfortable, which was great given how important sleep was for the style of trip we were doing. The location was also perfect - we used the metro and buses to move around the city and various districts easily. Breakfast was plentiful and constantly being refreshed. A great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 28 Apr 2022
Dear Mrs. Lore, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at The Editory Riverside! Our Hotel is indeed located in historical center of Lisboa providing very easy access to all landmarks of the city. We are happy to read that you enjoyed both the facilities of the Hotel and the service of the staff and will share your comments with our team. We look forward to welcome you back! Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Renee M wrote a review Apr 2022
Pensacola, Florida, Usa7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights before getting on a cruise ship. The hotel's location was very convenient to getting around Lisbon, and we were able to walk to the cruise terminal. The hotel itself was wonderful. It's in an old train station, but the rooms are soundproofed, so it was very quiet. We had a great view of the river. The rooms are modern, with a comfy bed and great shower facilities. The staff were helpful in every way. Even the corridors are beautiful. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The river view was beautiful.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 28 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at Hotel The Editory Riverside! We are happy to know that we met your expectations and that you've specially enjoyed the confort of our soundproofed rooms with amazing views. Rest assured that I will share your comments with the entire Hotel Team. Thank you again and hope to welcome you back soon again in Lisbon! Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chiara wrote a review Aug 2022
Ghent, Belgium14 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my girlfriend absolutely loved our experience in the Editory Riverside. It feels very luxurious for an okay price. I’m giving 5 stars because all the most important things were true: the staff was very friendly, we slept amazingly and the hotel was super clean.

We got an upgrade from station to riverside views. The room is nice, comfortable beds and a few free drinks in the minibar. Little sidenote though: when you are travelling with family or friends the see-through showerdoor might be a bit weird.

Locationwise the hotel was a small walk from the central square and there is literally a bus stop, train station, uber bikes, subway right at the door so you can quickly get around the city.

Some things are priced a bit weird like the expensive bikes in the hotel and a 7€ heineken in the bar. However, the professional service and lovely cocktails made up for it.

The breakfast is very nice too, you have everything you need for 15€ a person everyday, or 20€ if you want it for only one day. There are all the breakfast staples but also nice extras like fresh raspberries.

All in all: I recommend this hotel for the helpful staff (like bringing ice right away when I sprained my ankle and booking us a boat) and the nice clean and calm environnement.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Dear Mrs. Chiara, Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your recent stay at The Editory Riverside! We would like to thank you for your satisfaction concerning our dedicated staff, our breakfast variety as well as the easy accesses our location offers; Please rest assured that your opinion has been shared with the entire team and management. We are aware of the inconvenience some guests may feel regarding some of our bathrooms layouts, we assure you that this situation deeply concern us, that is why we are already in this process of eliminating this technical aspect. We look forward to welcome you back at Lisbon. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heidi K wrote a review July 2023
25 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Biggest problem was cleanliness: filthy floor, stains on chairs, toothpaste spots on the bathroom wall, lipmarks on the glassware and worst of all used slippers ( I noticed too late, put those on before stepping on the hotel rooms floor).
Second day they also forgot to clean our room.

No place to hang any clothes, we had everything in the suitcase for 3 days we stayed here.
Breakfast was not so generous and hard to get coffee.

We even wrote to hotel management via website, but they never answered.
Hotel advertises to have 5 stars, would say 2 or 3 star is closer to the truth.

Lisbon is absolutely wonderful city and full of excellent hotels, so we would never choose this hotel anymore.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 9 Aug 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your preference and for sharing your opinion regarding your recent stay at The Editory Riverside! We work hard every day to ensure the best possible experience for our guests. We regret to know you had some service inconsistencies during your stay for which we apologize, your feedback was shared with all our teams to prevent it to happen again. All your comments helps us improving our service continuously! We look forward to have another oportunity to welcome you back at Lisbon. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DougQuil2 wrote a review Sept 2022
Houston, Texas5 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This. delightful small five star hotel is located across the street from the cruise terminal in the old train station. The english speaking, friendly hotel staff are very keen to ensure you have a very comfortable and pleasant stay. The hotel opened in February 2022 is not a typical European hotel. The rooms are very spacious and modern with a safe, refrigerator and coffee service in the room. The buffet breakfast can be tailored to order and the wait staff is very friendly and attentive. The location is great for exploring old town and is on the bus line and a taxie stand around the corner.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Room over looking the street and river was very quite when the window was clossed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 30 Sept 2022
Dear Mr. Doug, Firstly, we would like to thank you in advance for your preference for The Editory Riverside. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our premium location in the heart of Lisbon. We are pleased to know that you specially appreciated our kind staff as well as our comfortable rooms. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcome you again at Lisbon. Best Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bridget D wrote a review June 2023
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sadly, this was one of the worst hotel experiences I’ve ever had and I travel quite a bit. The room is like a coffin, it is so incredibly small. For someone with claustrophobia, it is extremely challenging to be in a space like this. The window looked to the side of the train station, which only increased the confined feeling. The shower stall (separate from the toilet) is also small and the water would fill up and run out onto the bedroom floor. The shower water only get warm, but never hot. I reached out to the hotel (Nadia at the front desk) about this and she refused to help me and in addition to being quite rude about the situation, she suggested I pay an additional $65 Euro a night to switch rooms (which was $35 euro more than what is being advertised for the night on Expedia/booking). Her reasoning was that I’d already checked in -this seamed ridiculous to me because obviously I’d have to check in to know what the room experience is. All around, she didn’t care about my level of comfort which was quite disappointing. I wouldn’t recommend staying in this hotel ever. There is also a lot of construction going on around the hotel which isn’t directly related to the hotel but still a nuisance.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The hotel decor is very nice. However, the experience over all and the service is deplorable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 23 June 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for sharing your opinion regarding your recent stay at The Editory Riverside. At The Editory Riverside Hotel we work hard every day to ensure the best possible experience for our guests. We deeply regret that your stay did not meet your expectations. All your comments are very important for us and will help us improve all the services we offer to our visitors. We hope you consider our hotel on your next visit to Lisbon. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wineted13 wrote a review May 2024
Sheffield, United Kingdom149 contributions78 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were swapped to this hotel by EasyJet, as the one we booked hadn’t passed their health & safety checks. What a great swap!
From the second we arrived, all the way to our departure, the staff were helpful & friendly. We hadn’t booked for breakfast originally, but it was included with our room, and there was plenty of choice, and also the staff in the kitchen cooked me a fresh ham and cheese omelette on request, which was delicious. There was even prosecco on ice!
There was only one robe & mug in our room, but we requested a second one as we left to go sightseeing, and they’d been delivered when we returned.
The gentleman who checked us in helped with bus numbers and places to visit, along with best ways to get to them.
We decided to eat in the restaurant on our final evening, and again, the staff member helped with food choices and wine too, allowing us a taste of wine before deciding.
I’d definitely go back! Yes, there’s construction work happening, but they didn’t start early, or work late, so it didn’t impact on our stay.
The bus stop is literally outside the door, and the metro and train station 100 metres away!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Watch out for pickpockets, especially on tram 28…we were warned by reception when we checked in. ...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your preference and for sharing your opinion regarding your recent stay at The Editory Riverside! Our teams work every day to ensure the best experience for our guests and we are glad to know that we've matched your expectations. We appreciate all your comments which helps us improving our daily service. We look forward to welcome you back at Lisbon. Best Regards, Carolina Logarinho de Almeida | Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashley wrote a review Dec 2022
Dublin, Ireland6 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Interesting hotel with a unique concept. The hotel is located right above the Santa Apolonia Train Station for easy access to anywhere you need to go and is safe. The hotel has a steampunk vibe and was memorable. I heard the train a few times but it didn't interfere with my slumber and added to the steampunk vibes. At first I was a little spooked out entering the hotel, the long hallways and the entrance to the room was kind of creepy. But the interior of the room was great and comfortable and it was nice they had English television stations. The soaps smelled lovely but the water could have been warmer. The bed was really comfy and there was robes to wear. I left my luggage and it was safe and the hotel was quiet with few guests.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 17 Dec 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing such in detail your recent stay experience at Hotel The Editory Riverside. We are glad to know that you specially appreciated our location with easy access to all types of public transportations, as well as our rooms. Please rest assured that your satisfaction and kind words will be shared with the entire team. Looking forward to welcome you in your next visit to Lisbon! My best regards, Carolina Logarinho de Almeida Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lordson Obre wrote a review Jan 2024
Singapore, Singapore117 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in the station itself and is walking distance to nice restaurants, dinners offering intimate Fado shows and retail shops. I love the mixing of old and new designs in the hotel and the well-lit hallways. Our view was currently obstructed with road construction but surprisingly, no sound can be heard inside. They're generous with Castelbel products and I like the concept of a split toilet & shower room. The dining area is spacious but there aren't many food choices, something they can improve on compared to other 4-5 star hotels in Lisbon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The Azulejo museum is a mere 30-min slow walk away from the hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 30 Jan 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for your preference and for sharing your opinion regarding your recent stay at The Editory Riverside! Our teams work every day to ensure the best experience for our guests. We appreciate all your comments which helps us improving our daily service. We look forward to welcome you back at Lisbon. Best Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hussein R wrote a review Oct 2022
Greater Sydney, Australia6 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the most deceptive hotel advertisement. They claim on Hotels.com it 5 stars. In reality is 2 stars at best. The hotel is next to a train station where you have shading people around all the time, The enterance is behind a bus stop with NO (not small) lobby just a small front desk, You can only sit down for a quite conversation or call in a noisy resturant with old broken down furniture. the Hotel had only 1 elevator working. for the whole two week we were there they continued to only have one very slow elevator. We booked a "junior suite" with river view. What we got was less than average room, nothing like the website picture with a view of delapitated warehouses used for homeless people to sleep at night. The bathroom is dangerously slippery (plastic floors with no mates although we asked). The bathroom had no supplies (unlike every 5 star I've ever stayed in) with the exception of liquid soap and three types of shower caps. The front reception is trained to lie to defend against disappointed guests. I witnesses them say the same line against similar complaints with different guests at least three time. The aircondiioning at its highest could'nt cope with 30degree outside and the room was like an oven. In the "junior suit" the wardrobe literally barely enough for 5-6 hanging garments with no drawers. No safe to keep your valuables in the room when you leave. It is literally the worse hotel I've ever stayed in.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: do not stay in this hotel in any room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 3 Nov 2022
Dear Mr. Hussein, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience. Our suites are open space as you can see in every picture available in the webpage, im sorry if you didn't verified this prior to reserve. Although we regret to ear that you did not appreciate our hotel, we cannot allow you to judge our staff as liars as they only explained you as clear as they could, the conditions of the room booked as well as the context of our hotel even when you were rude and insulting them at each interaction you've had at the Front Desk. We regret that you did not check the location and structure of the hotel before making your reservation (historic building located in a train station) and that the photos you publish focus on the ground level and not on the river view that your room actually has. Regarding the hotel entrance, thank you for your feedback, we would like to inform you that we are already developing some projects to improve that topic. Best Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Carolina A
1 helpful vote
Buenas tardes, El hotel confirma todas las reservas que son hechas directamente con nuestra central de reservas, por email o telefono. Las reservas hechas en portales online no recibirá una confirmacíon del hotel.
Almeraikhi wrote a tip 7 June
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates32 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid staying in this hotel if you want 5 star hotel because it’s not."
Read full review
wineted13 wrote a tip May 2024
Sheffield, United Kingdom149 contributions78 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Watch out for pickpockets, especially on tram 28…we were warned by reception when we checked in. Strongly advice leaving passport in safe!"
Read full review
Flash016 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Naples, Florida63 contributions45 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are multiple better options in Lisbon at better pricing and a cheerful staff. Do not book at this hotel."
Read full review
Jenny Butler wrote a tip Apr 2024
Larkfield, United Kingdom20 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Although it didn't have a pool, it was on a tube line, that got into the centre of Lisbon quickly. "
Read full review
davidroseagain wrote a tip Apr 2024
Collingwood, Australia65 contributions56 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms are smaller than listed."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lisbon area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$233 - AU$308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PortugalCentral PortugalLisbon DistrictLisbon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
126
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel (AU$233) - Lisbon, Portugal Hotel

Frequently Asked Questions about The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Panteao Nacional (0.2 km), Museu Militar de Lisboa (0.02 km), and Feira da Ladra (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include O Corrido - Casa de Fado, Agulha No Palheiro, and O Tasco Do Vigário.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Castelo de São Jorge (0.9 km), Mosteiro dos Jeronimos (7.5 km), and Mosteiro de São Vicente de Fora (0.5 km).
Is The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Lisbon HotelsLisbon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LisbonHotels near The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars