We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Rua Jau 54, Lisbon 1300-314 Portugal
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
USD 291
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/08/22
Destinia.com
USD 231
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/22
Hotels.comUSD 291
Orbitz.com
PestanaUSD 291
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1933)
Room & Suite (539)
Dining (276)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 03/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Pestana Palace Lisboa
Updated 03/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#67 of 325 hotels in Lisbon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located in a restored 19th century palace, the Pestana Palace Lisboa is one of The Leading Hotels of the World, which are recognized for their extraordinary service. This 5-star hotel in Lisbon is close to the city's main monuments, such as the Tower of Belém, the Belém Cultural Centre, the Jerónimos Monastery, the MAAT –Museum of Art, Architecture and Technology and the Lisbon Convention Centre. It is also 5 minutes from the CUF Tejo Hospital. With two swimming pools (indoor and outdoor), a spa and lush gardens complete with plants designated as "National Monuments", this is the perfect hotel for your stay. The Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel's spacious rooms are elegantly decorated and each is equipped with a 49'' flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi and mini bar. Some offer balconies with garden views and some have a living area with a sofa. The four royal suites located in the palace were once used by the marquesses. A breathtaking view of the river or palatial gardens is part of a unique experience.
Read more
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Boating
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Telephone
Electric kettle
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
2727Reviews42Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,937
  • 510
  • 171
  • 69
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Deluxehoch12 wrote a review 3 July
Frankfurt am Main136 contributions68 helpful votes
+1
It was my second time at the Pestana Palace Hotel. Altogether, I am still satisfied with the hotel. However, some areas are a bit outdated and some improvements are needed to meet the standards of a leading hotel. Plus - Picturesque historic main building - Marvellous and spacious garden with a pool - Very kind and supportive staff - Breakfast with rich variety and good quality - Rooms equipped with sophisticated classical furniture; Some rooms and suites are equipped with an own balcony - Received an upgrade from a Superior room to a one-bedroom suite Minus - Especially in the historic part which locates the bar and restaurant, the antique furniture needs to be re-furnished - Gastronomic concept is not really up-to-date - Wellness area is quite worn-up
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
jeanbworldtraveller wrote a review June 2022
Luxembourg112 contributions293 helpful votes
This hotel is a total disaster from the moment you check in. The concierge restaurant recommendations were absolutely terrible. Bad overpriced food ruined our night. Then there are the beds which are like sleeping on a rock. The beds are so bad you can feel the metal springs under it. Even cheap motels have better beds than this. If you value your sleep and care about a good peaceful night you should really stay away from this place. To top it off they welcomed government guests in the hotel which meant there was dozens and dozens of officers and security people all around the halls at night and during the day. They look at other guests very suspiciously and my kids were being scared by them.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Idabroad wrote a review June 2022
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg42 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
The plus : 1- the outside area (garden, pool) is absolutely stunning and the castle part too, 2- breakfast is mind-blowing in terms of quality and food options. However, I stayed for a whole week and I have been disappointed in some aspect: - breakfast staff is not trained for English speaking clients, not so friendly nor polite, - did not have a "do not disturb" sign when I arrived in my room so got disturbed by the cleaning lady on the first morning, - we don't get the room service menu in the rooms apparently because of COVID (while the spa menu is made available though), so we have to find it ourselves on their website (and this is not an easy thing), - they forgot to clean my room while I was out all day so when I came back I asked the reception to arrange for it while I'd be at the spa to wait. At this point, instead of apologies, I was asked whether I did not leave a DND sign on my door before leaving, which I did not. When I got back after more than 2h, it was still not done. Instead of apologies, I was asked whether I did not leave the DND sign on the door before leaving, which, again, I did not and was then told that the cleaning ladies might have been confused by the sign on the door. I assume their signs must be changed asap if their staff get confused by having the same colour on both DND and "come in" sides of the sign, - cleaning quality was good but service was inconsistent: Number of towels was not always the same, forgot the bath mat towel several times, did not consistently fill in with new tea bags when I used some etc, - tea options for breakfast are very poor (only black, green and peppermint) and the only brand they have was cheap, which is unusual for this kind of places, - the rooms are absolutely not soundproof, which is shocking considering that the rooms are in quite recent looking buildings and not located in the main castle, - apart from the old castle, the wings and spa are not good looking from the outside, the architectural choices for these looked weird to me, - spa is very disappointing - I did not try their massage or treatment but the inside pool is not nice as some mosaic tiles are falling down, the jacuzzi is old and out of order, the Turkish baths smelt bad, the sauna was okay but tiny. Considering the bragging of the spa facilities on their website, I was really shocked to see so poor facilities being so badly maintained, - to finish, I asked to pay for my outstanding bill the evening before I left since I had to leave very early. Payment passed on my credit card, but for unknown reasons their card machine did not provide a confirmation ticket so they assumed it did not work. I could however see the payment on my bank app so I proposed to check this out again at the time of my check out, at 4 am the next day. So at check out, I was told by the reception that they would need me to pay again and when I showed him that payment seemed to have worked on my bank app, I was told that they were expecting me to say that but it was not the case to them. I paid again and will have to check this out with my bank in a few days again, which sounds quite disrespectful to me.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Ask for a soundproof room (if they have got any), lower your standard re the spa facilities
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Joana Carapinha, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Palace Lisboa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. idabroad, We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy your expectations. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term. We appreciate that you chose Pestana Palace Lisboa for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit. Kind regards, Pedro Santos Hotel Manager
Read more
Gelderlander wrote a review June 2022
Gelderland622 contributions257 helpful votes
This is one of the archetypal places Lisbon offers. Don’t think it over , make the splurge, it is worth every cent. Extremely friendly staff, impressive decor, great room and a great atmosphere. Breakfast is a feast. I has a room in the new wing with all amenities. Need to return to enjoy it to the fullest
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Teresa Silveira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Palace Lisboa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Gelderlander, On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Palace Lisboa, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel! Warm regards, The Team at Pestana Palace Lisboa
Read more
Idon I wrote a review May 2022
Brighton, United Kingdom1 contribution
+1
Where do I start? As soon as I came to the reception I was greeted with the most lovely smiles, They couldn't do enough for me. Immediately they upgraded us as member of lhw.Amazing room offered to me and my party. The hotel is beautiful and such heritage. Staff in all areas absolutely amazing. Thank you to everybody who made us feel so welcome. See you soon
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Teresa Silveira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Palace Lisboa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. idoni, On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Palace Lisboa, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel! Warm regards, The Team at Pestana Palace Lisboa
Read more
Ollieandjazz wrote a review May 2022
Bath, United Kingdom16 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
The Palace is beautiful, the reception area, bar, pool, spa and gardens are second to none. Reception staff are great - nothing is too much trouble. However, breakfast on four occasions was a huge let down…just get a grip. Do one thing at a time and do it well, constantly scan the room to see who needs what. If you provide coffee to some on the table, make sure the rest of the party get their tea at the right time. Clear plates and tables when people are done - and for goodness sake, don’t run out of breakfast tea! I put all of that down to poor leadership and management. Take time to explore. Caiscais is great and easy on the train from the bottom of the hill. Sinatra is beautiful - go early doors as crowds are manic (you shuffle along for over 2 hours to get through Peña Palace). Belem is great with its monastery and church - you can walk there along the promenade accessed from bottom of the hill (bike and scooter hire is easy). There is no where to eat locally. Limoncello in Lisbon is highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms seem great.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Teresa Silveira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Palace Lisboa
Responded 23 May 2022
Dear "Ollieandjazz", We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy your expectations. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term. We appreciate that you chose Pestana Palace Lisboa for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit. Kind regards, Pedro Santos Hotel Manager Pestana Palace Lisboa
Read more
NicFallan wrote a review May 2022
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom16 contributions
Fantastic hotel, great facilities and wonderful staff; all of which meant we had a great trip to Lisbon; a city and hotel we will definitely return to. The rooms are well appointed and the garden area and pool area very relaxing. If you are going Lisbon, I would strongly suggest staying at the Pestana Palace.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Teresa Silveira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Palace Lisboa
Responded 18 May 2022
Dear Mr. NicFallan, On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Palace Lisboa, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel! Warm regards, Pedro Santos Hotel Manager Pestana Palace Lisboa
Read more
Pat M wrote a review May 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom43 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
This hotel is not suitable for tourists- they are not interested in individuals only conferences and banqueting delegates. Service is woeful- poorly trained or untrained staff. Bring your own coffee as they eke out the daily allowance of one pod per person per day - no tea! Check your bill closely as we were charged for minibar on three days and didn’t touch it! Overall bitterly disappointed having looked forward to this trip for a really long time. Property is absolutely beautiful and stunning pool - but the pool bar was closed during our stay despite it being 30+ degrees every day - you have to order room service to the pool!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Teresa Silveira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Palace Lisboa
Responded 15 May 2022
Dear Mr. "patmA9317WD", We would like to thank you for sharing this information with us because we can only improve with the valuable feedback provided by our Guests. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We are sorry that our team did not meet your expectations. We have already spoken to the team. We are working together to improve the quality of our service and assistance. We hope that, nonetheless, your experience was positive. Thank you for staying with us! We sincerely hope you will give us one more opportunity to rebuild your trust in our team service and to recover your impression of the hotel. Kind regards, Pedro Santos Hotel Manager Pestana Palace Lisboa
Read more
sandeepmander wrote a review May 2022
maidenhead74 contributions114 helpful votes
Lovely hotel with many historic features. Rooms are nice and clean. No Irons or iron boards in the rooms and no access to one when you call. The pool area is nice too but the bar there in the pool opens very late or doesn’t open at all, they say you can order from the spa area and someone from the main bar inside will come to you but they don’t! That was a bit disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Teresa Silveira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Palace Lisboa
Responded 15 May 2022
Dear Mr./Mrs. "sandeepmander", Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your experience at Pestana Palace Lisboa. Your opinion is crucial for us to improve how we work. We would like to sincerely apologize for not fully meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience this may have caused. We have shared your comments with our teams to ensure that improvements will be made. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Palace Lisboa. We hope this experience has not tarnished your impression of our hotel permanently. We would be delighted to change it during your next stay. Kind regards, Pedro Santos Hotel Manager Pestana Palace Lisboa
Read more
Rambod A wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I enjoyed staying there, Staff were really polite and helpful, Room were clean and dishes were delicious. Pool area was very clean but the Bar service in the pool area need to be improved. It is not located in the city centre however with UBER you can reach every where with a fair price.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Teresa Silveira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Palace Lisboa
Responded 3 May 2022
Dear Mr. "Ramboda2022", On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Palace Lisboa, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Palace Lisboa. Best regards, Pedro Santos Hotel Manager Pestana Palace Lisboa
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 233 - USD 355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pestana palace lisbon, hotel pestana palace
LOCATION
PortugalCentral PortugalLisbon DistrictLisbon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
194
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pestana Palace Lisboa
Which popular attractions are close to Pestana Palace Lisboa?
Nearby attractions include Capela de Santo Amaro (0.4 km), Wineclick (0.2 km), and Saude Herbal (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pestana Palace Lisboa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Pestana Palace Lisboa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pestana Palace Lisboa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Pestana Palace Lisboa?
Yes, free public parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pestana Palace Lisboa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Valle Flor, Armazem, and Hungry Eye Resturent Bar & Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pestana Palace Lisboa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Pestana Palace Lisboa have airport transportation?
Yes, Pestana Palace Lisboa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pestana Palace Lisboa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Pestana Palace Lisboa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pestana Palace Lisboa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.