We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lisboa Central Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lisboa Central Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 296: English reviews
Start your review of Lisboa Central Hostel
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel has everything you could possibly want and need as a backpacker. Social areas are great, very clean and well designed. Staff are fantastic and will go out of their way to help and make sure you're enjoying your time in Lisbon! Thank you for a wonderful stay :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beckyfreeman23
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel is fantastic. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms are modern, spacious and clean and the location is good too! Highly recommended and if I return to Lisbon this will be where I will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lukedavidbrown01
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This might be one of my favourite hostels. It reminds me of an old house, and it feels really cozy inside. The security is great and the location is really close to the metro and lots of restaurants. Everything was clean and there is tons of information available about Lisbon and other areas in Portugal. Oh, and I never had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017

A group of 21 friends booked to stay at this hostel between 27 December to 2 January. What a fantastic hostel, absolutely super clean and immaculate. The Reception staff are very helpful and knowledgeable and happy to help. We were pleasantly surprised that we were even given clean towels each day (wasn't expecting that in a hostel!). Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahItaly2015
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewed 19 December 2016

This is our 3rd time at this hostel, and everything is still high standard. Helpful and friendly staff, well organised and clean kitchen, nice patio, eating and sitting areas. Pancakes for breakfast :-) in addition to fruits, bread, cereal, juice. Many events organized from the hostel, ie walking tours, pub crawls. Very friendly interactions between staff and guests - a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alma W
München
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Compared to other hostels this was not the cheapest one. So you pay for the good location (it's not close to the old town), but that's all good about it. In this hostel there is totally no atmosphere. It's not the fault by the host but the staff really wants you to go away after 10pm and is not wellcomming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max D
MiguelCruzSantos, Owner at Lisboa Central Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We don’t want our guests to leave the hostel after 10pm. I understand that you wanted to have fun and make a party in your room, but please consider that there are other guests in the hostel that want to sleep at that time and were complaining about the noise you were doing in your...

Reviewed 13 December 2016

This hostel is actually awesome, and would I would have given it a much higher rating had the owner and some staff not pestered us about making noise in our "private" room. The facilities are great, they make great free soup and have a nice breakfast, but if I wanted to be nagged by my mother I would have stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seth K
MiguelCruzSantos, Owner at Lisboa Central Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. I understand that you wanted to have fun and make a party in your room, but please consider that there are other guests in the hostel that want to sleep at that time and were complaining about the noise you were doing in your dorm. We don’t like to upset guests warning them about noise,...

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 8 December 2016

This hostel is located in the heart of Lisbon, so much so that many main tourist spots in downtown Lisbon are within walking distance (ex. Rua de Augusta Arch, Praca do Comercio, Rossio Square, etc.). It is located near the Marques de Pombal train station (2-5 minutes by walking). Also near the hostel there are some branded stores, restaurants, pastelarias,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gilbert_que
United States
Reviewed 4 December 2016

This is not your typical rowdy ragtag motley crew of people going bananas in this hostel. This is more for of a hybrid between backpackers and people who stay there for extended periods of time, including families. Therefore at night we were quiet and got to actually have conversation with each other and made deeper connections with one another. Don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manish N
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Well, i stood there for weeks, and I have NOTHING to complain. Everyone is friendly and looking forward to help you. Also, the hostel is pretty close to everything... metro, sightsee tour, markets, restaurants, etc. Oh, and the breakfast is awesome too! Haha You will not regret! ;)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rafael M

272 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (205)
Viewed
Amenities (85)
Viewed
Four Bedroom Mixed (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Twin Bedroom Suite (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
503 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
2,157 reviews
Vincci Liberdade
#21 of 247 in Lisbon
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 406 in Lisbon
245 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 406 in Lisbon
526 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#6 of 406 in Lisbon
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you’re looking for a fun, fresh and friendly place to stay then look no further: Lisboa Central Hostel is the ideal place for you! Excellently located in the heart of city in Marques de Pombal and the famous Avenida da Liberdade this international hostel provides you with the perfect base for sight-seeing by day and partying by night. All of Lisbon’s major hot spots are easily accessible on foot thus saving you the cab fare home at night.Our friendly, local staff will be more than happy to provide you with plenty of information about the city and how to get around, ensuring you are able to make the most of your stay in Lisbon. The hostel is owned and run by a local Portuguese family and travellers who are able to offer you a good insight into this magical city as well as some insider’s tips on the best places to go and where to eat out.In short Lisboa central Hostel is the perfect place for any traveller, whether they be the student backpacker, the young family or the more mature couple looking for a relaxing stay. As well as dorm style rooms the hostel also caters for groups and families looking for private rooms complete with en suite bathrooms.The Hostel hosts a number of activities and cultural events including weekly film nights. And be sure not to miss out on Milkshake Monday where we will be providing each guest with a free tasty milkshake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lisboa Central Hostel

Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 160, Lisbon 1150-282, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Price Range: $26 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisboa Central Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lisboa Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lisboa Central Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Lisboa Central Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We've stayed in 3 different rooms and all were good -- 205 is our favourite :-)”
 of 5 bubbles almaw2014, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The private double room at the first floor is very nice”
 of 5 bubbles alib916, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The rooms of the first floor are more quite!”
 of 5 bubbles martrabalho8910, 27 May 2016 | Read review
“Heard that there was a pretty female only dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles jiaxuan1, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“Great stay; I will be back for a longer stay :)”
 of 5 bubbles 340mitrah, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5