We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pestana Cidadela Cascais
See the most recent reviews
Showing 645: English reviews
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The hotel was fantastic, I have never stayed in such a unique hotel. The staff were very friendly and and helpful at breakfast when asking for items we could not see. The rooms were spotless and modern. The two swimming pools and sun bed areas made you feel so relaxed and you felt truly comfortable. The location was perfect with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie J
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Lizzie J., Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at the Pestana Cidadela Cascais, Pousada & Art District and for sharing your experience here with us on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important for us, we always try to keep our hotel up to the standard expected by our visitors in order to offer...

Miami Beach
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We stayed here for one night on our way back from the Algarve. We had found Cascais while in Lisbon and loved the town. We were here last minute so had little options for hotels. We had 3 rooms b/c we were a family of 5 - it was the least expensive way to stay there. 2 of the rooms...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Lisa G., The Pestana Cidadela Cascais, Pousada & Art District takes this opportunity to thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for your holiday. Your opinion is very important for us and we feel very sorry to hear that we did not manage to meet your expectations totally. We would have liked to have had...

Napa, Ca
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Hotel check in was very disappointing We arrived around 1 p.m. and they did not have a room and we had to wait until almost 5 p.m for a room although many others arrived and were given rooms and upgrades as we sat in the lobby.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JBNapa
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear JBNapa, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Pestana Cidadela Cascais. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Pestana Cidadela Cascais, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Friendly hotel in a fantastic setting. Staff very attentive. Beakfast was great, rooms very clean, good wifi. Top pool was a fantastic place to relax and the many beaches are within walking distance. Superb location close to town centre.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank drokkit
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Drokkit, Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at the Pestana Cidadela Cascais, Pousada & Art District and for sharing your experience here with us on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important for us, and we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you...

Pleasantville, New York
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We only stayed one night and wish we had stayed longer. The hotel complex is inside a fortress, which is very unique and transporting. The property is beautifully renovated and the staff was very accommodating and professional. We used the outdoor pool, which is very quiet but there is an indoor pool and spa. The rooms are large and nicely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GCubed48413
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear GCubed48413, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Cidadela Cascais. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future. Sincerely, Joana Soeiro...

Reviewed 26 July 2016

The staff at the Pestana Cidadella are very friendly and helpful and the service is good. The hotel itself is very well located for easy access (5-10 min walk) to the centre of the town and a vast range of restaurants and bars. These offer a good choice of foods and something to suite all budgets. The town itself is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Rob H., Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at the Pestana Cidadela Cascais, Pousada & Art District and for sharing your experience here with us on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important for us, we always try to keep our hotel up to the standard expected by our visitors in order to offer...

Alvor
Reviewed 26 July 2016

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. The staff are very friendly. Its great to have wifi all over the hotel. The private pool in the gardens is lovely. Breakfast a little disappointing, however the staff bent over backwards to be helpful and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Lorraine K., Thank you very much for the review that you have submitted in this website about your recent stay at the Pestana Cidadela Cascais, Pousada & Art District. We are very happy to hear that you have appreciated your stay with us, especially the good location and the staff. We also thank you very much for your...

Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Front desk was efficient, but not friendly and not accommodating. What happened to the customer is always right? Paid for the breakfast buffet for 2 days, but had to check out very early the next day and they did not take it off the room bill. They did give us a bag to-go with a pear, yogurt and a soggy...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ccparent
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Mr. ccparent, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Pestana Cidadela Cascais. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Pestana Cidadela Cascais, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent hotel situated inside the Cidadela. What a location. Staff first class . In fact everything about this hotel is sup superb.This was the view from our room looking on to the courtyard and the restaurant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Bill T., We would like to thank you for your opinion, once it is very important for us. The quality and satisfaction of our guests is our daily goal. We look forward to welcoming you next time. Best Regards, Joana Soeiro Hotel Manager

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We have just returned from a seven night holiday at what for us was the perfect hotel. A brilliant modernisation of the historic Cascais fort overlooking the sea and marina and a five minute walk to the town centre with it's many restaurants and easy connections to Sintra and Lisbon. We stayed in a superior room on the second floor...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 814anthonyk
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear 814anthonyk, The Pestana Cidadela would like to thank you again for your excellent review. We would also like to say that your kind words gave us a great feeling of happiness and proud. We are all very happy to hear that you have enjoyed another your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you once again. With...

952 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (541)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (186)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (179)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (324)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Junior Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Superior Balcony by Paulo Arraiano (32)
Viewed
Superior Balcony by Paulo Brighenti (33)
Viewed
Superior Room by Pedro Matos (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.5 km away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
1,097 reviews
0.6 km away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
InterContinental Estoril
0.5 km away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cascais
738 reviews
3.9 km away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This luxury hotel, Pestana Cidadela Cascais, is set within the walls of the historical fortress, the emblematic 16th century Citadel of Cascais, in the centre of Cascais. It is a place where ancient meets modern, and many of the rooms are dramatically set into the former barracks which makes each space a different experience, while others, more modern, enjoy spectacular views to the sea or over the huge internal patio spaces. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Price Range: $191 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cascais
#6 Business Hotel in Cascais
#6 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Cidadela Cascais staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Cidadela Cascais staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view. Rm 26 is lovely.”
kmr70, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for the second floor rooms with Marina view....”
Richadvisor, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The weekend late night crowd at the marina are loud and rooms nearby should expect to hear music and loud voices.”
jtnwdc, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade. Outside balcony is wonderful. Room is big with a desk and the sofa in front of the TV makes you feel like in your own living room”
BibiVillareal, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Same floor and corridor as breakfast restaurant facing either way”
MuttonSt, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5