We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve

Save
Share
Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315 Portugal
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
USD 158
View deal
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1584)
Room & Suite (264)
Pool & Beach (256)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 29/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve
Updated 29/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 62 hotels in Lagos
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve is located on the seafront of the beautiful beach of Meia, in the Portuguese Algarve. This new 5-star hotel is an ideal choice to enjoy a few lavish days of entertainment, spa, exquisite gastronomy and sport. It has 220 rooms and suites that ensure rest and relaxation due to its tranquil ambience as well as modern services and facilities that leave nothing to be desired. In addition, to its idyllic location, the Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve has luxurious facilities that include direct access to Meia beach, free Wi-Fi, SPA Sensations with a jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath, facial and body treatments, a comprehensive all-inclusive package (optional), heated indoor pool and outdoor swimming pool, solarium terrace, fitness room, à la carte restaurant buffet, bars and meeting rooms ... The proximity of the Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve to 30 golf courses is an invitation to practice this sport in a desirable environment with the service guarantee that Iberostar Hotels & Resorts provide.“Wave of Change” is a pioneering initiative from Iberostar group to reduce the use of plastics, to promote responsible consumption of seafood and improve coastal health.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Aerobics
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Kids club
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hammam
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Portuguese
2194Reviews288Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,078
  • 746
  • 254
  • 69
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MrsPGlasgow wrote a review 18 Oct
Glasgow5 contributions
This is the 6th or 7th time we've stayed at this hotel. We've always had a great time and this visit was no different. The main strength of this hotel is the quality and friendliness of the staff. They are second to none & nothing is too much trouble. The clientèle has changed a bit over the years. It is now a little more family orientated than it used to be but still primarily based around couples and adult groups. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed and almost all of them have a great view. We stayed half board. The breakfast buffet has a lot of choice and the quality of the food is excellent. Dinner is the same. Depending on your food preferences, some nights are better than others as you would expect but overall there is excellent choice and the food is very well presented. The hotel currently also has good C19 transmission prevention measures in place, hand gel dispensers are plentiful, especially around the food areas. The hotel is situated about a 30 minute walk from the marina with a further 15 minutes to the centre of Lagos. The hotel runs a shuttle to the marina or you can get a taxi which cost about 7 Euros when we were there. The hotel is about ten minutes walk from the excellent beach which you can access via numerous board walks from the road.  The hotel has two excellent outdoor pools on two different levels, we prefer to use the lower level pool. If you want to do some serious swimming then the upper 25m pool is probably the better choice. If we had one point to make it would be that the lower pool does not get the same level of attention in terms of general tidiness that the upper pool receives. Glasses are often left strewn about the poolside area until the bar opens around ten in the morning. However this is as much about the guest behaviour as it wouldn't take much effort to at least return them to the bar area once the bar has closed and the staff have finished for the day rather then leave them all over the place for the staff to clear up the following morning, which they do once they have arrived. The hotel gym has a decent amount of equipment (various cardio machines, free weights, resistance equipment, yoga mats and so on) and the issue mentioned by a previous reviewer about the treadmill not working was resolved by switching it on and off :-).  There is also a spa & indoor pool & hot tub.  Overall it's a great hotel in a great location as long as you appreciate that it's not in the centre of Lagos and it doesn't sit directly on the beach. In the days of Google Earth etc there is no real excuse for not knowing this before you book if that kind of thing is a concern for you. Thanks again to everyone for making this stay a memorable one. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
ericafinney458 wrote a review 15 Oct
Cheshire, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
A nice, spacious hotel with a modern reception that certainly welcomes. the rooms are modern and clean and generally highly maintained. a large pool is a treat for families with children. Along side this is a spacious clean snack bar serving delicious treats and food. Stefan and Vitor run the bar and the service is of a high standard. the quieter smaller pool welcomes a more relaxed feel with Mariane serving cold cocktails throughout the day. cleanliness is of a good standard throughout the hotel and rooms with perhaps minor updates needed. The restaurant for breakfast is run to clockwork with staff attending tables promptly and a large hot and cold breakfast buffet available. Toni the restaurant manager is a man well organised and his staff alike. Dinner offers a delightful balcony dining experience with some super fresh cooked dishes from fresh fish to meats to tempt plus a good array of vegetarian dishes too, fine quality wines and Champagnes to be had alike. Angel Molina the hotel manager understands his clients needs and concerns highly and having been a client of his over the years its a pleasure to still be with him today its a high standard 4 star in reality not 5 star but realistically if people want a real high 5 star put another 2 k on the price that's where this hotel gently touches the upper 4 star and is exceptional value in every corner. Stewart and Sharron Finney
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Thomas B wrote a review 10 Oct
Ghent, Belgium3 contributions4 helpful votes
Went here with my family in octobre. Previous experiences w Iberostar were great, but this hotel never came close to delivering a 5 star experience. Old carpets & generally very poorly maintained. Poorly lit restaurant w cold food. Paper napkins, no table lights, poor atmosphere. Some of the staff were not experienced. Nothing extra in the room, except for one bottle of water for 4 pax for a week. Empty cocktail classes by the pool until noon the next day. Nobody interested to hear how our stay was. No heated pool (rather cold in octobre). Gym poorly lit, not a lot of daylight. Location is great and breakfast is very good (except for not a single slice of brown bread for one day). Room was clean and nicely decorated. Price quality: very poor (3-4 star experience for a 5 star price). Would not recommend dining here, far better options in Lagos.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Iberostar Hotels and Resorts, Other at Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Thomas, Thank you for sharing your review of our beautiful 5-star establishment, it has been an honour to serve you and your family. First and foremost, we regret that aspects of our modern hotel, known for its futuristic and intimate aesthetics, were not to your liking. We try to care of all aspects of our facilities and are constantly undertaking improvements to guarantee the comfort and well-being of our guests. Thus, we are surprised and disappointed that this is not the impression you received and we appreciate your constructive feedback. Regarding service, we carefully select all our staff in accordance with our strict criteria and we take care of their continued training in order to guarantee our high customer service standards. We are saddened if at certain times you felt that we did not deliver our usual exceptional levels of personalised attention and we will forward your comments to the relevant department for revision. Concerning your room, we like to make sure that our guests have everything they may need and we take into account the little details to make our guests feel at home. We kindly advise guests in the case of any further requests to contact our reception staff as they will be more than happy to assist. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. On the other hand, we are pleased that you enjoyed our enriched breakfast selection, modern room and convenient location. We hope you were able to take home some lovely memories and we would like you to know that you can be rest assured that we will investigate the areas of concern that you mention in your review. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again at one of our wonderful Iberostar hotels around the world so we can truly exceed your expectations. Until then, we wish you all the best. Kind regards, Quality Manager, Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve
Read more
Bob W wrote a review 9 Oct
1 contribution
This hotel makes you feel welcome from the moment you enter reception until the moment you leave . Every member of staff from the towel man around the pool to the very polite bar staff could not be more helpful .I stayed in room 220 beside the pool very nice room with a bali bed .The food and drink deserve a mention because both are of a very high standard ,Would recommend this hotel its 5 star with a smile .I stayed from the 1st Oct until the 8th and enjoyed ever day,
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
RichN324 wrote a review Sep 2021
Leeds, United Kingdom4 contributions6 helpful votes
We have returned from a fabulous stay at this hotel.Once you step into the spacious reception you know the hotel is something special.We booked a 'priority sea view room'that was of a good size and had excellent facillities; king size bed;coffee machine and a fridge that unlike many hotels, kept contents cold.The 'power shower' was the best in any hotel we've visited and overall the room was of a high standard.Food wise breakfast had everthing you would expect ( I can recomend the omeletes ) and the tea and coffee served hot not luke warm as many hotels tend to do.A great choice is on offer in the evening including freshly cooked meat and fish served at the very efficient food station.There was a good range of age groups and nationalities and we found it a quiet hotel however Lagos is only ten minutes by taxi (6 euros) where there are many bars and resturants and the spectacular marina.The hotel runs a shuttle to Lagos for 2 euros pp throughout the day until early evening.Finally I must praise the staff.Everone we had contact with had a smile.I know hotels have had a tough time during Covid and they appreciated that we were in Portugal however I'm sure they will be just as friendly and take pride in their hotel when we return next year. Tip; get a private taxi from the airport, the coach could take a long time to get to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Most rooms have some sea view/priority sea view rooms have the best
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 138 - USD 307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
yellow lagos meia praia hotel lagos
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Iberostar Lagos Algarve
LOCATION
PortugalAlgarveFaro DistrictLagos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
220
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve
Which popular attractions are close to Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve?
Nearby attractions include Meia Praia (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bar Quim, Quintal do Peixe, and Palmares Beach Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Antigo Mercado de Escravos (2.6 km) and Castelo de Alvor (5.3 km).
Does Iberostar Selection Lagos Algarve have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.