We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Solar de Sao Joao

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Solar de Sao Joao
See the most recent reviews
Showing 212: English reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one week with a group of friends. Staff were very helpful and apartments were very clean and spacious. Pool area well kept and no problem getting sun lounger at any stage of day. Good wifi at reception and by pool. Nice quiet location, yet only a 2 minute walk from the strip. Would highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KingdomCome11
Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Well I don't even know where to start! We arrived here at midnight to be greeted by the rudest member of staff, given our room key we weren't even shown our rooms. After finding our room we discovered a shower that had broken off the wall and lights not working, not to mention the beds that were just two sofas...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gabkt
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for our first family sun holiday last week, we had an amazing time, staff very friendly and extremely helpful,rooms spotlessly clean, poolside area clean, perfect location for families, Down side would be no air conditioning but order your fans at reception on arrival, would definitely stay here again. Loved every minute of our stay here

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wanda40
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Rooms large and spacious with everything you needed, quite dated but clean and comfortable, agree about no air con it was really hot and we had to hire a fan from reception but had to keep moving it from room to room, our apartment overlooked the pool and fortunately the sun never reached our balcony otherwise the heat would have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kerry D
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Had the misfortune of booking this hotel, had thought it would be handy for the beach, it is not!... It is the worst place I have had the misfortune to stay in, I booked and paid for 2 nights but cut my losses and left after 1 night. The reception is stale in decor, ambiance and smell. You must pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aine R
County Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We stayed here in June 2016, Apartments abit dated but lovely and clean and very central to the main strip, less than 5 mins walk to the strip where lots of pubs, restaurants, shops etc are, close to walk and yet far far enough away so not noisy, We stayed in a Studio with Pool view , Apartment was lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 904hope
Solar São João A, Gerente de recepção at Solar de Sao Joao, responded to this review

Dear Sir and Madam, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at ours, this is greatly appreciated. We are very happy that the quality of service and Staff met your expectations and do hope to welcome you at the Solar de São João in one of your favorite apartment in...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

This is not the most modern hotel in the world but is still a really nice place to stay. Really friendly staff rooms cleaned every day an clean towels everyday . It's in a great location just a 5 minute walk to the heart of the strip 15 min to the nearest beach. Would recommend to anyone looking for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Solar São João A, Gerente de recepção at Solar de Sao Joao, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay at the Solar de São João and for taking time to give us your feedback. We are very happy that the quality of service met your expectations, our main priority being able to offer to our guests a lovely holiday in a very well-maintained and comfortable...

Reviewed 30 June 2016

The location is excellent. Just far enough away from "The Strip" so loud music doesn't bother you. We stayed in one bedroom apartment on the first floor. Room was very clean and had all the amenities you need. Had lovely balcony and was a sun trap in the afternoon. We didn't really use the pool area but did have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky35wkd1
Solar São João A, Gerente de recepção at Solar de Sao Joao, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for your nice candid review of your recent stay at the Solar de São João. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we endeavor to improve with each and every stay. We greatly appreciate your comments about our staff and our drinks served at the Bar, our main priority being able to offer to our...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

On arrival the two rooms weren't ready that was ok we walked up the road for some lunch, I am on crutches and I found this a little hard to manage epically when we were told it wasn't far . Well it was horrible big loud bars not really any restaurants lots of fast food outlets just like 18-30's ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon h
Solar São João A, Gerente de recepção at Solar de Sao Joao, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at ours. We are very pleased to note that the overall experience was a pleasant one. According to your booking you booked a studio and one bedroom apartment and indeed they are opposite to each other and unfortunately we can't accommodate all the guests...

Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

lovely friendly resort, quite and off the main strip. Local shops bars and restaurants and the pool bar is very reasonable. Gardens are very pretty and tranquil. Staff are very helpful. You can also get for €4 a day mobile wifi which is great if you have a family and the children have pads n pods and you want an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordan W
Solar São João A, Gerente de recepção at Solar de Sao Joao, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Jordan, Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay at Solar de São João. It's always a pleasure welcome you and your loving family over the years. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we endeavour to improve with each and every stay. We greatly appreciate your comments about our Staff, our main priority being...

433 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (38)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (295)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Apartment (52)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Studio Apartment (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Duplex Apartment (71)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Garden Apartment (58)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 km away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
0.7 km away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#39 of 162 in Albufeira
716 reviews
0.2 km away
Carruna Apartments
Carruna Apartments
#86 of 162 in Albufeira
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#25 of 162 in Albufeira
701 reviews
0.9 km away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#89 of 162 in Albufeira
433 reviews
0.7 km away
No photo provided
Alta Oura Apartmentos Turisticos
#138 of 162 in Albufeira
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This charming and inviting apartment complex disposes of a fantastic tropical garden and although located at the heart of the tourist centre and only a few minutes from the divine bay of Praia da Oura and the Strip, it is an island of peace and offers a unique experience of tranquility. Excellent shops, restaurants and bars are in the immediate vicinity. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Solar de Sao Joao

Address: Rua do Solar Apt 774, Albufeira 8200-911, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Price Range: $35 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar de Sao Joao 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Solar de Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar De Sao Joao Hotel Albufeira
Solar De Sao Joao Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Solar de Sao Joao staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Stirling, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Solar de Sao Joao staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room over looking the pool. Second floor much cooler and shaded by trees.”
 of 5 bubbles traceyb90, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pay the extra when booking for a pool view”
 of 5 bubbles 911kerryd, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Try get pool view as nicest views”
 of 5 bubbles 904hope, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“1st floor room 207”
 of 5 bubbles Nicky35wkd1, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“ask to see the room before you accept it”
 of 5 bubbles sharonhT5UA, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5