We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Pousada Convento de Evora

Save
Share
Largo do Conde de Vila Flor 4, Evora 7000-804 Portugal
Lowest prices for your stay
Pestana
Booking.com
USD 170
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/03/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
USD 137
View deal
Expedia.comUSD 170
PricelineUSD 168
Hotels.comUSD 170
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (868)
360
Panoramas (41)
Room & Suite (324)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 31 hotels in Evora
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Pousada Convento de Évora, also known as the Pousada dos Loios, is located in the museum-city of Évora, a World Heritage site. The Pousada is located between the Catedral Gótica de Évora and the Roman Temple and very close to the Praça do Giraldo and the Colégio do Espírito Santo. The building retains traces of its original architecture, such as courtyard cloisters, a peaceful and serene area where you will find the outdoor swimming pool and an area for you to relax. The Pousada features the Loios restaurant and a bar. Almost all of the rooms are individually unique and include Wi-Fi.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Car hire
Banquet room
Street parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Telephone
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese
1235Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 665
  • 373
  • 130
  • 46
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Francisco Jose Fernandez Sanchez wrote a review Dec 2021
Las Rozas, Spain277 contributions107 helpful votes
The Evora inn was an old convent now restored and converted into a magnificent hotel with excellent rooms and a magnificent patio, as well as rooms overflowing with paintings, tapestries and numerous valuables. It is located in the heart of the city next to the Roman temple, once in it one forgets about transportation and travels all over this city impressed on foot Being central, it is not possible to park in the surroundings, so it will be convenient upon arrival to speak with reception to tell them how to get to the reserved parking that they have It has an excellent restaurant to dine at tables around the historic patio, and enjoy the taste and the view at the same time
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Junior suites are excellent well decorated rooms
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Unit Manager, General Manager at Pousada Convento de Evora
Responded 17 Dec 2021
Dear Mr. FRANCISCO JOSE F, On behalf of the entire team at Pousada Convento Évora, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel! Warm regards, Filipe Beja Simões The Team at Pousada Convento Évora
Read more
johneh42 wrote a review Dec 2021
Olhao, Portugal2 contributions
A few days away after the restrictions of pandemic and covid so where better to be pampered with attention to detail, good food, clean surroundings and pleasant staff and we had it all in spades. What is more that the 2 night stay was excellent value. We would recommend the Pousada of Portugal any time. Pousada Evora is a beautiful building and very convenient for the town and all it's facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Unit Manager, General Manager at Pousada Convento de Evora
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Dear Mr. johneh42, On behalf of the entire team at Pousada Convento Évora, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel! Warm regards, Filipe Beja Simões The Team at Pousada Convento Évora
Read more
aw8400 wrote a review Oct 2021
Kensington, Maryland12 contributions3 helpful votes
We loved staying in what were called cells. I had read that the the rooms were small so I chose a next larger room and it was not small at all. It was perfect. It faced an inside courtyard, which meant it was very quiet and dark. We like to sleep with the window open and it was perfect here. The breakfast was in the cloister area. It felt like eating in an ancient space, with beautiful stone walls, chandeliers to set the scene. Breakfast was excellent, but did not have an egg station. The coffee was not good, however. it tasted like Nescafe. We tried ordering cappuccino, but the taste was the same. The personnel at reception was outstanding, helping greatly us by making reservations for dinner. Parking in the courtyard was free, but the one way street to get out from there was so narrow that our small SUV could only fit through with greatest difficulty and a little scratch. We parked on the street after that to avoid having to pass through there again. A smaller car would be ok.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: For a quiet room choose inner courtyard.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Unit Manager, General Manager at Pousada Convento de Evora
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Dear Mr./Mrs. aw8400, On behalf of our entire team at Pousada Dos Loios de Evora, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pousada Dos Loios de Evora. Best regards, Filipe Beja Simões The Team at Pousada Dos Loios de Evora
Read more
weltravelledofSussex wrote a review Oct 2021
West Sussex England102 contributions140 helpful votes
Despite the best efforts of some lovely staff, and a grand building, this hotel suffered badly from very poor management and serious under resourcing. Our room was dark and cramped and clearly not one of their better rooms, even though we’d booked a superior room over a year ago. The restaurant was not in service for dinner ‘ because of Covid’, despite the fact that every other hotel restaurant in our 4 week stay in Portugal was open, including other hotels in the Pestana group. We asked the hotel to book us two restaurants on our arrival. We had to ask 3 or 4 times over the two days before they were able to do this. On one night, despite there being no dinner service for guests, the hotel put on a banquet for 50 ( non resident) people. This took place in the cloisters around which all the hotel rooms were gathered. The banquet included, cheering, singing, foot stomping, hand clapping and no one could sleep until it finished after 11pm. We raised at the time with the staff who were unable to do anything about it. There was no bar service because there were not enough staff- we had to hunt around the hotel to find someone to bring us a drink. When we checked out, despite having shown evidence of hotel room rate at the point of check in, the hotel tried to overcharge us by 90 euros. When we objected, the hotel said they had lost our confirmation. Fortunately we had kept the confirmation email as well so we could show them additional evidence. When we asked to speak to the manager at 10.30 in the morning, we were told he was’at home’ 30 minutes away. Although the receptionist telephoned him, he would not speak to us on the phone. We subsequently wrote to the Pestana group to complain about the poor service at this hotel, although our message was acknowledged, we are yet to receive any reply. I should add that as we checked out there was a queue of disgruntled guests waiting to complain. Last year we stayed in 3 Pestana group hotels, this year we have stayed at another 3 and standards have definitely declined
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don’t go there
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Unit Manager, General Manager at Pousada Convento de Evora
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Dear weltravelledofSussex, Thank you first of all for your stay and time to review us at social network with a tittle like this. It´s not very happy to receive your feedback despite all the efforts that we do on hosted our guest the best we can. In fact, the restaurant is closed for guest despite all our efforts on contract staff for the table service, if you could make a rapid search on goolgle you will found that this is a situation all over the world. We will only be open when we could assure that our company service standards can be fully applied. It is also a fact that we informed all of our guest on this situation. The private event that is refferd was not a regular restaurant service as it could be comproved at the Pousada. We assure that the event stopped at the legal our of 11:00 PM so that could not prejudice the guest in house. Please remember that we where only open 3 months during the year of 2020, so we are in a booked events delay due that, so new dates must be re-organized. As a manager of the Pousada of Évora and Arraiolos, I should tell that is unfair your comment, specially because I tried to help on the situation and we applied a discount that is not refferd on your review, but also because I was working at the other Pousada, Arraiolos 30 minutes from Évora, preparing another event. About the allegedly overcharge it was a mistake that was completely resolved, because you booked with a special rate, and the reception make that mistake, that I assume, but it was repaired. We felt sorry for the inconvenient on your stay, having sure that all the team make their best to welcome you the best way. Thank you once again for your stay at Pousada Convento de Évora. Best Regards, Filipe Beja Simões filipe.simoes@pestana.com Manager Pousada Convento de Évora e Pousada Convento de Arraiolos
Read more
Estefania D wrote a review Oct 2021
Illescas, Spain1 contribution
I have spent three days, two nights in the Pousada de Evora and it has been a real pause, a real relaxing moment to enjoy the excellent food, the warm and professional touch of the staff and the wonderful surroundings of this unique accommodation. A great delight!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Unit Manager, General Manager at Pousada Convento de Evora
Responded 19 Oct 2021
Dear Mrs. estefaniad430, We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pousada Dos Loios de Evora was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback. Many thanks for choosing Pousada Dos Loios de Evora for your stay. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel. Kind regards, Filipe Beja Simões Manager POusada Convento de Évora
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 127 - USD 357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pousada dos loios de evora hotel
LOCATION
PortugalAlentejoEvora DistrictEvora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pousada Convento de Evora
Which popular attractions are close to Pousada Convento de Evora?
Nearby attractions include Centro Histórico de Évora (0.2 km), Puzzle Room Évora (0.4 km), and Museu Nacional Frei Manuel do Cenáculo (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pousada Convento de Evora?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Pousada Convento de Evora?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pousada Convento de Evora?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pousada Convento de Evora?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pousada Convento de Evora?
Conveniently located restaurants include D'Ibérica Restaurant, Taberna Tipica Quarta Feira, and Botequim da Mouraria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pousada Convento de Evora?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Pousada Convento de Evora located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Evora.
Does Pousada Convento de Evora offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pousada Convento de Evora?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Pousada Convento de Evora?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Muralhas de Évora (0.2 km), Cathedral of Évora (Sé Catedral de Évora) (0.1 km), and Aqueduto da Agua de Prata (0.6 km).