We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Iep + 't Wikhof

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ieper (Ypres)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
De Iep + \\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Start your review of De Iep + 't Wikhof
 Click to rate
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Arrived around 5.30pm on the Friday evening and we were told the house rules, personally, i understood all of the rules except the lights out at 10pm (but i got used to it) we had a warm welcoming and we went up to our rooms, where we had to make up our own beds! The food was pretty good (i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
De-Iep, Manager at De Iep + 't Wikhof, responded to this review

Hi Alex, nice to read that you had a lovely stay in the hostel. My staff and I are working hard to make sure that everyone has an enjoyable stay. There is a little misunderstanding: lights out at 10 pm is no rule in the hostel. I just asked to be quiet after 10 pm, especially outside. Lights out at...

Lahore, Pakistan
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The beds were like sleeping in the actual trenches which would've been better. The food was like eating dirt and the water was salty. The rooms itself were small and cramped. The showers were like something made from North Korea ,Terrible and useless,. I wouldn't recommend staying here if your going on a school trip, stay in a small hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pavstar911
De-Iep, General Manager at De Iep + 't Wikhof, responded to this review

Hi Pavstar911, it seems that you had a full WW1 experience in our hostel. What a pity you didn't rate us a bit higher.

Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

I went to De Iep on a school field trip. As we arrived there were two seperate buildings, the main building and the annexe, I stayed in the annexe. There was no bed in our room, we slept on a shelf which had bedding on it. There was four people in the room altogether which made it extremely cramped. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kiara A
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Just returned from a fantastic trip to Ypres that was made easier and enjoyable by the experience of staying in this Hostel. The staff are extremely helpful and the food and service top notch. Just can't speak highly enough of the whole package.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hoganmiles89
Dundalk, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 13 May 2016

I just came back from a wonderful stay alongside 68 students and 7 other staff members. First off, we had the hostel completely to ourselves, which was an absolute dream from a risk assessment standpoint. Secondly, the proprietor, Dieter, is an absolute gem of a man and his whole staff were respectful, friendly, and did anything they could for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sancty
Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

I have used this hostel for school trips for a number of years and it has never failed to live upto high expectations. The food and accommodation are excellent and the recreational areas allow school groups and the teaching staff exclusive use. It is in a central location making it possible to walk into Ypres We take 82 students every...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gerry W
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015

I recently came here with work on a 4 day school trip to see the Battlefields history. This was my first trip to Belgium and I have to say I found it to be a thoroughly enjoyable trip all round. Staff at the hostel were lovely and went above and beyond to make our stay a really enjoyable one, the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rachel O
Reviewed 1 July 2015

The hostel was self contained which was a great feature, everything was clean and the food was absolutely spot on! The students really liked the facility to play football, table football and table tennis. The self service bar is also a great feature. The owner was a really lovely guy as was the care taker. All round great accommodation!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Laura W
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Very good food and lovely staff as always. I've been taking school trips here for years and it's always been fabulous. Still is for a youth hostel. Any low review here seems very harsh. Very good facilities and I'll be back.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Dave H
Thundridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2015

My school have been using Ypres as a base for our annual History expedition for two decades now and have had no reason to change. The welcome is always warm and crucially the manager is available and always happy to assist in any way he can. As trip leader for the last six years I would have no hesitation to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank TomPattison

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
2.2 km away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,207 reviews
2.5 km away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,295 reviews
2.6 km away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
200 reviews
2.6 km away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
377 reviews
2.5 km away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant

Additional Information about De Iep + 't Wikhof

Address: Poperingseweg 34, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
De Iep + 't Wikhof Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from De Iep + 't Wikhof staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ground floor is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles G4626DZlauraw, 1 Jul 2015 | Read review
“'t Wilkhof is more spacious than De Iep.”
 of 5 bubbles BenR268, 13 May 2013 | Read review
2 of 2