We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Gent

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Gent
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 229: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Went with my family to spend the weekend in Ghent. Once we arrived at around 12:00 pm; the start was shocking when we knew that there is no room service and their restaurant is closed. He offered me to call Dominos pizza where after doing so, we had a delay for an hour waiting for the delivery ! After the... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I would like to take this opportunity to give you some feedback: -Regarding the opening times of the restaurant: i am unsure if by 12:00 pm you mean noon or midnight. If you mean midnight it is normal that the restaurant is closed, closing time is 10pm. If you mean... More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very annoyed with the way this hotel operates. This is not a reflection on the staff as they were very nice and helpful. My biggest complaint is the restaurant. If you sit on one side of the little wooden partition, it's considered the bar and they won't serve you. If you happen to come in during certain hours, they won't... More 

Helpful?
Thank stevescott321
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your comments. They help us focus attention to areas that are important for our guests, and where we could improve service and/or facilities. We were unable to link your remarks to a booking in our system and have reached out to you asking for more details. Meanwhile, may... More 

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a good hotel for a very short stay... Hotel was away from everything you have to walk 15min away for the Tram which is tireding when you did a long day out getting back to the hotel. The breakfast was okay only cold stuff, Needs to improve in this area and the seating for breakfast was in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charle44
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Gent during your visit in Gent. I read your comments about the tram and can agree that the last mile is always the longest after a whole day of exploring the many fun things Gent has to offer. If you are travelling with a family, why not consider coming... More 

Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent one night in this hotel on our way to the Czech Republic. We arrived about 9 pm and had a beer and an excellent meal in the bar. I had the pasta with pesto and it was fabulous ( lekker ), better than some restaurants. It was a huge bowlful. Room was exactly as expected and the breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank judemurray
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Hi It's great to read that your were able to relax and recharge after a long day on the road. Our team is there when you need us, even if we don't have space in the hotel anymore. We hoteliers are all one big happy family in Gent and we love it if you can visit our city. See you... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is what you expect from a highway hotel. Basic service, friendly staff, simple (but crowded) continental breakfast. The room was very large and clean. But the bed and pillows were surprisingly uncomfortable. The city center of Ghent is actually not as accessible as one would've liked and public transport is not as regular as Belgian standards.

Helpful?
Thank Ayman M
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear guest I am a bit surprised to read about your experiences. It's great to read that you enjoyed the service, friendly staff and the free continental breakfast. However, did you notice the timetable in the elevators showing you when you might encounter some waiting time at breakfast? Certainly during weekends, most guests want to sleep out with a rush... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is very similar to a Travel Lodge in U.K. The room was of reasonable size, clean, comfortable bed with tea making. There is free wifi and an included buffet breakfast which was also adequate. The staff were mixed some very helpful others not. The location is accessible by public transport from train station takes about 30 minutes to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Woobsle
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Woobsle, Thank you very much for your recent stay and for writing us a candid review. We are delighted to read you found our hotel to your liking, the rooms clean, comfortable, and the WiFi and free breakfast suitable to your needs. Thank you as well for your comments about the staff service. We apologize if you found this... More 

Westerlo, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel for one night. Nearby highway. Very basic but large room. Very noisy due to AC on the roof outside. Breakfast also very basic. For me to expensive for one night, definitely when I compared with hotels in the neighborhood.

Helpful?
Thank Gert3107
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Gert3107 Thank you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Gent. It's good to read that you found our rooms spacious. I'm surprised to read that you would have had noise from a unit on the roof as this on a timer so it's not working between 9pm - 9am. Perhaps you had the window open and heard... More 

Lommel, Belgium
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel is already what older. The restaurant is renewed but the people here are not having fun to work here. Besides that is it also that the food is only ok if you. Impart it with a highway restaurant. But easy to park and to pass. For the rest not a fun place.

Helpful?
Thank Koen B
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Koen B, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Stayed twice recently,good value,very helpful and pleasant reception staff, the restaurant very empty,food ok but small choice and some items not available ,service and staff attitude leave a lot to be desired,better to eat out in Gent centrum,breakfast very basic but does the job,in all it is just off the motorway and does the job for overnight stays.

Helpful?
Thank phil n
Saffron Walden, UK
Level Contributor
300 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Benefitting from originally being a Holiday Inn, the rooms are large and spacious, with comfortable beds, excellent shower, and well maintained. As ever, the buffet breakfast was good, and although we didn't use it, the menu in the restaurant looked interesting and was competitively priced. There is a large car park (chargeable), equipped with electric car charge points, surrounded by... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nigeljcook
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear nigeljcook Thank you for your continued loyalty. We appreciate it a lot that you stay with us every time you are in the Ghent area. May i just add that, next to the taxi option to the city, we now also have a very easy, fast and smart tram option? Just take tram 4 Gent UZ at walking distance... More 

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#16 of 39 in Ghent
561 reviews
4.0 km away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 39 in Ghent
1,902 reviews
3.4 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
4.0 km away
Novotel Gent Centrum
4.1 km away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Find your gateway to Flanders with convenient transport connections close to the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel.Just a couple of minutes from the convenient E17 motorway and 4km from medieval Gent city centre, make the contemporary Holiday Inn Express Gent your base for exploring the Flanders region. Major business centres such as Brussels and Brugge are within 35 minutes' drive of your welcoming Gent hotel.You can reach Holiday Inn Express Gent via regular rail services from Brussels Airport, which arrive into Gent St Pieters station, 3km from the hotel. We have an ample car park, which adds good value to your stay. Your spacious Guest room is the ideal environment for catching up on work with free WiFi. The hotel is close to popular sights in the city, notably the atmospheric charm of the medieval Old Town including St Bavo's Cathedral, with its mystical paintings. For the great outdoors, try Belgium's northern coastal resorts, within a 40-minute drive from us. Kids under 18 stay for free with their parents in one of our spacious Guest rooms.This Green Key eco-label certified hotel offers a free charging point for electrical vehicles, and a Tesla Supercharger station. Help yourself to a hot drink and the complimentary continental breakfast options at Holiday Inn Express Gent. Our helpful staff can advise you on which city-centre attractions to visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gent

Address: Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range: $105 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gent 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gent Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Express Hotel Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ghent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Gent staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Stanmore, Null, United Kingdom
New Delhi, India
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Gent staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All seem about the same except for upgraded rooms for extra money”
 of 5 bubbles 183philn, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you need an adjoining room, ask. I had only asked for rooms close together and was happy to see we had adjoining.”
 of 5 bubbles jackieheagyb, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we had a room at the back which meant we didn't have the motorway directly in front of us- hence- we got a good nights sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles WarwickBeauchamp, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Doesn't really matter, it has no outstanding views on any side, roads & football stadium nearby & just buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles happyc0uplebelfast, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Free daily breakfast with all rooms, wifi better closer to the lobby..”
 of 5 bubbles jrwells6, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay