We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hancelot

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hancelot
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hancelot
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Imola, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Reviewed 8 October 2013

the hotel's position is not convenient to walk to the city centre which is 1km afar. however tram/bus lines connect it to both train stn and downtown (but it is not clear on web). I recommend 1st floor rooms, and 3rd floor is to be avoided. floors are in wood, quite noisy!! B/F was regular, but with little fantasy and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gian P
Hancelot, Eigenaar at Hancelot, responded to this review

Thank you that you have enjoyed the atmosphere and our friendly and personal service. A tip for next time: ask our breakfast lady for toast, she will be happy to make it for you in the kitchen. We do not put a machine or toaster in the breakfast room since sometimes guests forget they have put bread in and it...

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2013

What a charming hotel. Not much to look at from the outside but once inside its has the most wonderful atmosphere and is loaded with charm and character. We were greeted with a welcome drink and escorted to a wonderful loft room, there are no lifts it this hotel and its a good ten minute walk out of the town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Charme hotel Hancelot is a lovely place in the beautiful city of Gand. It's not so close to the centre, but you can reach in 15 minutes by foot all the tourist attractions. The Begijnhof, instead, is really around the corner. The hotel is located in an ancient charming villa: the breakfast (very good and generous) is served in two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NucciMilano
Hancelot, Owner at Hancelot, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. Indeed we are 15 minutes walking from the old historical city centre or you can take tram number 4 at the end of the street: three stops and you are at the Cathedral. You can also rent a bike in the hotel if 15 minutes walking is too far for you. Ghent city centre...

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hancelot was the perfect location for my five day stay in Ghent. The building is elegant and comfortable; the staff is charming and helpful; the location is good (tram and bus stop at the end of the block, but on a quiet street); the breakfast was tasty and copious. Easy walk to the historic center. I recommend it very highly....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Merritt M
Hancelot, Owner at Hancelot, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I will let our small team know you have enjoyed their personal, attentive and friendly service. That is one of the most important things for us to accomplish: to make you feel at home. We offer the personal service of a B&B in combination with the hotel facilities like reception where we assist you...

Domzale
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Dear Hosts, We had a wonderful stay in Ghent and were very satisfied with everything. Of course it was also suitable that our daughter lives nearby, but also the area of Ghent is so close to the city center that it is a nice stroll to get there. We visit about 10 – 15 hotels per year (Slovenia, Europe and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julijana D
Hancelot, Owner at Hancelot, responded to this review

It is so good to read all your nice comments on cleanliness and the nice and stylish décor and furniture. Room tip: only the Charm Deluxe rooms and the Charm Superior rooms feature high ceilings, free use of bathrobes, tea & coffee facilities. The Charm Rooms on the third floor have lower ceilings and do not feature the above mentioned...

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights and our stay was very lovely and pleasant. very nice staff, awesome atmosphere, good location, the breakfast was good. The room had a good size for 2 people for those few nights and was clean. I truly recommend this place for a stay in Gent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julfrie
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here for one night only, and loved it for the super friendly staff, the beautiful building, the good location and a fine breakfast. The furniture in our room was a bit worn out, but even that has its charm.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mapengobis
Hancelot, Owner at Hancelot, responded to this review

Indeed this is an old Town House from a Baron from 1840 and therefore features no elevator: the changes to this impressive building are restricted. On the other hand we were able to keep the beautiful staircase, the high ceilings with their decorations, the large chimneys, the Italian glass mosaic flooring, the richly decorated breakfast lounge and even one of...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 March 2013

...and that includes using the stairs because there's no elevator! We stayed on the top floor for a few days as we moved from the US into our flat around the corner and didn't mind tiptoeing up the wooden stairs and across our wood floors in order to compensate for the rustic charm of the old construction and not disturb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MLeopards
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I stayed here with my fiancee for one night to visit Ghent and were also pleasantly suprised with the splendid interior of this hotel : all the interior refers to the former luxurious nobility establishment this house was in the 19th century !! The breakfast was delicious and served with care. The room was very spacious with a splendid bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
Tunbridge wells
Reviewed 19 February 2013

this is a very special place. The building is over 150 years old, and has all the grandeur that you would expect. so don't expect modern facilities. But that's not a problem if you organise it. we phoned the hotel to ask for drinks to be left out for us as we would be back after reception had closed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guest1twells
Hancelot, Owner at Hancelot, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comments on service, cleanliness and comfortableness. As a Charm Hotel in the city centre we are very lucky that we are able to offer some parking places for our guests. We even offer the service that you can reserve your parking beforehand. Two weeks prior to arrival we send you a list with...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.8 km away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.6 km away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.7 km away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
838 reviews
1.3 km away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 39 in Ghent
1,904 reviews
1.3 km away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hancelot is located in the city-centre of Ghent: 10 minutes walking distance from the Cathedral. The elegant decorated hotel is located in a former Baron’s townhouse dated 1840: high ceilings, authentic wooden floors, and beautiful chimneys. Hancelot features 12 stylish bedrooms, lobby-lounge, garden, terrace, fitness and sauna. At check-in a welcome-drink is served whilst you become many tips, city-map and elaborate information on Ghent. The personal service of a B&B combined with facilities of a hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hancelot

Address: Vijfwindgatenstraat 19, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range: $146 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hancelot 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hancelot staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hancelot staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“some very individual rooms, worth asking in advance for what you are looking for”
 of 5 bubbles 367dougs, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room with Egyptian tub was too special for us. Many people love it. 1C was excellent . Smaller on top, no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles 212erikn, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Best room is a suite with a sunken Egyptian bath”
 of 5 bubbles robinm811, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Choose a hotel with reasonable staff”
 of 5 bubbles TheHagueTom, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Large room and romantic chateau style”
 of 5 bubbles sophielN3640FR, 1 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay