We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

New Ocean Paradise

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
New Ocean Paradise
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 15: English reviews
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2016

I booked a hotel just for one night, having an appointment in the area. Rooms are not really clean, carpets have lots of cigarettes holes, although it is theoretically forbidden to smoke in the entire hotel. They smell the cigarette, just horrible! Also, the following day, no breakfast available! Not to mention the receptionist, not really friendly, who demanded a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emigre2001
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2015

The location of this floating hotel is great, central, but without the noise. However, what appears to be a charming, Chinese bed for the night is actually a very old, unloved hotel in desperate need of investment. Our bed was big but harder than the frozen canals in winter. I would have been more comfortable on the floor but that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo S

Travellers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

My family and I only had a day to visit the city but many things went wrong right after we arrived. Exhausted and unprepared, we were trudging along in low spirits when we came upon New Ocean hotel and restaurant (under the same business), and went in to try our luck. Without a word, the desk manager and owner of... More 

Helpful?
Thank rachelruby24
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Rachel and Ruby, We are very happy to receive a review such as yours. We try to help all of our guests with whatever they need, it is really motivating to see a satisfied guest like you! It is a shame that you didn't stay with us to get the full hospitality treatment. However, you are more than welcome... More 

Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2014 via mobile

Average food and service. I really disliked having seen some chairs with pigeons' excrements. It is outside, but it's their duty keeping the place clean.

Helpful?
1 Thank ciub
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Ciub, I want to thank you for the time you took to give us feedback. My name is Ruud Essenberg and I am the director of New Ocean Paradise. You are absolutely right when you say that pigeon excrements need to be cleaned, even outside. However our hotel has been a target for pigeons, seagulls and even little sparrows... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

this is possibly the worst hotel i'v ever stayed in. it was dirty and grim. we stayed for 2 nights in a double room. the duvet was only a single stretch over a double bed. the kettle in the room was crusty with limescale to the point we didn't want to use it. we also had a COCKROACH in our... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Rachael N
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Rachel N, Thank you for your honest feedback. We strive to provide a memorable experience. Obviously we want it to be a positive one, certainly not the experience you have had with us. I apologise for the appalling state of the room you have stayed in. We get regular inspections by instances that know how to deal with bugs,... More 

london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Booked into this hotel by my company.Reasonable well positioned on a dock adjacent to a park and very close to the Euromast. Sadly that’s all the positive points I could find. No free car park some 4 euros a hour to park outside.The hotel occupies the second floor along with a Chinese restaurant..The ground floor being a Chinese supermarket and... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank worldseeer
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Woldseeer, Thank you kindly for your honest feedback. 2 years after you have stayed with us we have undertaken a lot of changes for the better of the hotel. Car parking: Free after 18:00 – 9:00, otherwise it is € 3,33 per hour. Asian food odour: This is still correct however it is only in the common areas such... More 

Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days in June 2012. All in all this hotel provides the service for the money, except there were a number of annoyances which made my staying quite disappointing. The hotel is located right above the Chinese restaurant, and the cooking smell was all over the place, apparently the kitchen extractor was broken. At... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter V
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

just had a couple of days at hotel enjoyed every minute of it,the room was clean and toileties were good (aloe vera)in the bathroom.jasmine tea for making tea facilities ,silk duvets were very cosy .please remember this is a 3* hotel not 4or 5 and the cost and facilities reflect this ,the staff were very pleasant although the language barrier... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jane s
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Jane S, Thank you for your positive review, very nice to read that you’ve had a pleasant stay with us. It seems to me that you knew exactly what to expect from a Chinese hotel. We hope to see you again soon, you are more than welcome. Kind regards, More 

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

The hotel, and the rooms were disgusting - I have never stayed in worse accomodation in all my life!! This is a place homeless people stay!! Who ever gave this hotel 3 stars was crazy, it's not even worth half a star..... No internet & there is not even a outside phone line available.

Helpful?
2 Thank craigsean
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Craigsean, Thank you for your honest feedback. Sadly we cannot satisfy all of our guests and in this case this holds very much true. Perhaps something positive to conclude, we do have free wifi nowadays…. Kind regards, More 

YORK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We chose it because of the wonderful location and its novelty. It was easy to find and exotic, with a Chinese supermarket on the ground floor and two huge restaurants. The public areas were dirty, the staff charming. Our room was clean with immaculate white cotton bedding, but it smelled strongly of cigarette smoke and the smoke alarm was covered... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LAYOBSERVER
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Layobserver, Very nice to read that you found it a memorable experience. We are indeed somewhat different than other hotels. Especially now, with an all you can eat/drink restaurant, Asian supermarket and large Chinese specialty restaurant. We are out to give you a near Chinese experience in Europe. You’ve seen the good, the bad and the ugly. Very similar... More 

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,198 reviews
STROOM Rotterdam
#15 of 52 in Rotterdam
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SS Rotterdam
#10 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,473 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ni Hao! Searching for an Asian experience in the heart of Rotterdam, look no further! This beautiful landmark hotel hosts incredible views of the famous river the Maas. Very large rooms are the ideal base for a city trip and to relax after a day of fun. New Ocean Paradise is a jack of all trades as the venue also has an Asian supermarket and all you can eat restaurant on board. The Asian Floating hotel is an ideal base to go out and explore Rotterdam, a world city that is host to beautiful architecture with contemporary design. We are conveniently situated in the centre west side of the port city. A small walk to the tram will get you to the city centre in about 8 minutes. It is only a 2 minutes’ walk to the Euromast, and 3 minutes to a large city park often host to spectacular (free) festivals. Visiting a concert at Ahoy? You won’t find anything closer; we are only situated 15 minutes away. Contemplating your next move in our world city? Use our free WIFI while enjoying the complimentary breakfast. Our staff speaks Chinese, English and sometimes a little Dutch. They will help making it a trip you won’t forget! See you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Ocean Paradise

Address: Parkhaven 21, 3016 GM Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Price Range: $112 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Ocean Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your New Ocean Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from New Ocean Paradise staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles worldseeer, 4 Jul 2013 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay