We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,555: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Me and my best friend booked a short trip to Dam from 3rd Feb to 6th Feb 2017. The room was lovely- the beds are so comfortable, the maids were brilliant at maintenance, and the shower/bathroom was lovely too. We experienced an inevitable shock of a man causing 4 ambulances/police and blockage to our room due to drugs, also clearly...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 514charlottee
AnnaPruyn, General Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear about your stay with us. Nevertheless please note that situation with regard to the man on the room, was beyond our control. When life threatening situations like this occur, we are forced to call the police and ambulance a.s.a.p.. When situations like this occur, we expect some...

Wigan, England
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel clean and was fine - however returned home to check my bank and £336 taken from my account by hotel, which I didn't know about - I am furious !!!!!!! Spoke to hotel - told it will be refunded - we await and see!!! Apparently a holding deposit !!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne2809
AnnaPruyn, General Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. At check-in we always inform our guests that we will make a hold on the credit card. This hold includes the total room price for the entire stay and an extra security deposit (of which the amount various per stay and payment method).

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just recently stayed here for two nights. The hotel is well situated central to all tourist locations. It is clean and well decorated and provides all neccessary amentities. However we had reviews after booking about rooms being small and believe me our room was small. If you have ever stayed in a standard room on a cruise ship with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
AnnaPruyn, General Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused with regard to the room size, however all our rooms differ in size due to the construction of the building. Please accept our apologies, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in our aim for perfection.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is well situated. The rooms are a decent size but unfortunately the single beds are terrible to sleeps on. Internet is excellent - one of the best I have experienced in a hotel. The staff are very friendly, well trained, efficient and helpful. I would definitely return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralph S
AnnaPruyn, General Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review

WAUW YES! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in our aim for perfection. We can't wait to welcome you again #youllbeback #museumhotel #amsterdam

Suzhou, China
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is conveniently located at the beginning of PC Hooftstraat. It's easy to walk to the nearby Rijksmuseum and Van Goghmuseum, which are highly recommended. Also walking all the way up to tourist locations like Kalverstraat, Central Train station and simular is convenient and easy if you are up for a walk. Staff are friendly and willing to help...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 848casperd
AnnaPruyn, General Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review

WAUW! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you again #apollo #museumhotel #amsterdam

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is awesomely located, very easy to arrive from the airport. There are many bars, restaurants and different attractions to visit in less than a 10 minute walk. To go to central station and many other places in the city centre there are several buses and trams running every 5 minutes or even less. However, The room was super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cami Y
AnnaPruyn, General Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Nevertheless we are sorry to hear about your room experience. Please note that we highly appreciate your feedback, since it will assist us in our aim for perfection.

Patchway
Reviewed 1 week ago

Regrettably the bed and pillows weren't very comfortable and the cleaning staff weren't very considerate of do not disturb signs, they would Hoover outside your door until you couldn't stand it, so no chance of sleeping in.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 553zitas
AnnaPruyn, General Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I have forward you comments to our housekeeping manager. We truly appreciate your effort of sharing this experience with us, situations like this should at all times not occur. We would love to welcome you again in the near future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Slow, unprofessional service. Confused when they explained the holding deposit process. Tried to charge us all for breakfast, despite our rooms having breakfast included. The morning of check out, all five rooms were paid for in full, it took them almost a week to release our holding deposits. Once returning back to the UK I then noticed the hotel had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank t9992017
AnnaPruyn, General Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review

WAUW! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear about your stay and the authorization refund issues. Please note that we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in our aim for perfection.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The best thing about staying here is the location as it is situated in Museum Square, moments away from all the museums, the 'IamAmsterdam' sign, Leids Square, great nightlife different trams and the bus that takes you to and from Schipol Airport. One could also walk to Dam Square and Amsterdam Centraal easily if one likes to walk - it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Di R
AnnaPruyn, General Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review

Wauw, YES! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We can't wait to welcome you again... when will you be back? #amsterdam #apollo #Museumhotel

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A couple of colleagues an my self stayed at this hotel during a trade show. The location is really good and it is close to all the museums, the Vondel Park and city south. The hotel it self is somewhat worn. The rooms are OK, but a bit overpriced. The breakfasts is really overpriced with fewer choices than other hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marius F
AnnaPruyn, General Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we hope you enjoyed the trade show. We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in our aim for perfection. Please note that we are currently busy working on a renovation plan, we would love to welcome you again when the hotel is fully renovated. #youllbeback #cantwaittoseeyousoon #museumhotel

621 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (420)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (198)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (198)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (39)
Viewed
Classic Single Room (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (30)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#164 of 361 in Amsterdam
473 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#139 of 361 in Amsterdam
747 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#127 of 361 in Amsterdam
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,220 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#167 of 361 in Amsterdam
869 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)

Neighbourhood Profile
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Top sites to see in this attractive and affluent part of town include the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum, to name but two of the highly acclaimed museums of the aptly named Museum Quarter. And if you need a break from all the fantastic art, there’s the Neoclassical Concertgebouw music hall and Vondelpark, the city’s largest park. Shopaholics and luxury brand connoisseurs will love exploring the high-end shopping destinations of PC Hooftstraat, Van Baerlestraat, Cornelis Schuytstraat, and Jacob Obrechtstraat, where even the shop window displays are of museum quality. In the evenings, when the museums close and the daytrippers head home, the area becomes a quiet oasis of calm with a sophisticated and urbane tone.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Price Range: $129 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre staff and other travellers.
43 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (43)

Questions? Get answers from Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great value for money”
 of 5 bubbles LynnWhite, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the 2nd floor but our friends wanted a bathroom so stayed on the basement floor had a bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles 378joanneb, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“check heating work if you go in the winter”
 of 5 bubbles C9811XDdaver, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay on the 5th floor so you can't hear the people above.”
 of 5 bubbles amandasT7151TX, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a larger room if there are 2 of you.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristineE442, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5