We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The College Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 172*
View Deal
#149 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 202*
USD 172*
Great Deal
USD 186*
USD 175*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The College Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 407: English reviews
Start your review of The College Hotel
 Click to rate
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had a one night stay which was very enjoyable. Staff were very friendly and welcoming room was quiet and comfortable. One issue.. we hired bikes which were great but 16 euros a day per person?? I looked at bike rental shops in the city and the average price is 8 euros per day. We had 2 half days that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1sallysugg
Johannesburg
Reviewed 1 week ago

Let's understand one thing ~ good hotels, that represent value, are hard to come by in Amsterdam. Be warned! Maybe this comes from the monumental flood of visitors nearly all year round. This one is really close to some of the museums and accessibility to the rest of AMS comes easily, with tram stops a few minutes away. The building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David Graham S
GuestRelationsCHR, Guest Relations Manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David Graham S, Thank you for sharing your experience, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to share with you that we are replacing the lighting systems in our rooms as we speak. Unfortunately this is not done in a day due to the historic nature of our building, however we expect...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice idea having a hotel supported by Students but this does lead to some oddities. Good location and impressive building with comfortable rooms. Reception is welcoming with the option of a drink while you check in which is nice. They did struggle on one occasion when a few guests turned up all at the same time but to be honest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHews
GuestRelationsCHR, Guest Relations Manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CHews, Thank you for your review and feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Because The College Hotel's concept is based on giving Young Professionals the opportunity to learn in a real hotel, not every aspect is flawless, however there is always a Professional present to assist if needed. Thank you for supporting our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I think it's been a while since The College was first refurbished and opened. From the outside, the hotel looks cool and we really liked the location and area. The checkin process was a little strange in that you have to chose your breakfast from a menu the day before. The reception service was no better than ok for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesA045
GuestRelationsCHR, Guest Relations Manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James A045, Thank you for sharing your experience, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. My apologies the room and breakfast did not meet your expectations, however we value your feedback, this helps us improve our services in the future. I am happy to share with you that we are improving our rooms, amenities and breakfast as...

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is great. Close enough to walk into the centre or take a tram but far enough away that you don't feel like you're in a tourist trap. They messed up the booking so couldn't give my friend and I the twin room we booked so we shared a double even after they said the room was a twin...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ukpooky
GuestRelationsCHR, Guest Relations Manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ukpooky, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear your enjoyed your overall stay. My apologies that the room type you expected was not the same room type you received. I would like to know more about this issue, can you please send me an e-mail with your booking details at gr@thecollegehotel.com? Ik hope we will have...

Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is located in the "Oud Zuid" area of Amsterdam, a chique part of the city. It is located on walking distance from Beatrixpark, a very nice park for a stroll through the green. The hotel is nicely decorated, they have a great terrace with evening sun. The staff is quite young and friendly. We had drinks and bruschetta's....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robbert B
GuestRelationsCHR, Guest Relations Manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robbert B, Thank you for sharing your experience here, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to our restaurant Ferilli's at the College. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Johan van Vugt Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Very Hospitable staff at reception. But the rooms were a bit small even though we booked a junior suite. Excellent location. Has tram stations nearby. We did not try the food in the hotel. But the overall experience was a bit disappointing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmy1234567
MOD_TCH, Manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at THECOLLEGEHOTEL. I am happy to read that you experienced the service of our front-office team as very hospitable. I am sorry to hear that the overall experience was a bit disappointing and I would very much appreciate it to get in...

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

If this hotel could match the quality of the front of house staff (who were helpful, friendly and attentive) it would be one I would return to. It has a great location, wonderful architecture and is furnished in a very contemporary style. However, as always, it is the service that lasts longest in the memory: Reception staff- excellent. Friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
MOD_TCH, Manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy P, First of all I would like to thank you for leaving this review on Tripadvisor as well as your kind words regarding our Front-Office staff. This is very much appreciated and I will make sure your compliment will be shared with the team. I am sorry to hear that the service as well as the room were...

Reviewed 9 April 2017

Read my other reviews which many people have, I always look for the positive and give the benefit of the doubt. However I must warn you NOT TO BOOK this hotel. We booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary and stayed on 6th April to 9th April 2017. Arrived at 10:00 registered and booked in luggage. Came back at 15:00...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike M
MOD_TCH, Manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. Please see my response on the review below. Kind regards, Michela Pittaluga Manager On Duty THECOLLEGEHOTEL

Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Where do i begin? Arrived early at the hotel, and they kindly agreed to hold on to our luggage until check in time. Went to see the sights for 5 hours, then came back. Our room was not quite ready do to "housekeeping", and could we wait in the lobby, we were given a glass of tap water. 1 1/2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank freckleface2015
MOD_TCH, Manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and my sincere apologies for all the things that went wrong during your stay at THECOLLEGEHOTEL. This is not the service you may expect from us and therefore we would like to get in contact with you. Could you...

324 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (75)
Viewed
Luxury Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Superior Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 365 in Amsterdam
1,259 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#72 of 365 in Amsterdam
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#81 of 365 in Amsterdam
996 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#137 of 365 in Amsterdam
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)

Neighbourhood Profile
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Top sites to see in this attractive and affluent part of town include the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum, to name but two of the highly acclaimed museums of the aptly named Museum Quarter. And if you need a break from all the fantastic art, there’s the Neoclassical Concertgebouw music hall and Vondelpark, the city’s largest park. Shopaholics and luxury brand connoisseurs will love exploring the high-end shopping destinations of PC Hooftstraat, Van Baerlestraat, Cornelis Schuytstraat, and Jacob Obrechtstraat, where even the shop window displays are of museum quality. In the evenings, when the museums close and the daytrippers head home, the area becomes a quiet oasis of calm with a sophisticated and urbane tone.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Ferilli's at The College
Ferilli's at The College
Cuisines: European, Dutch
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The College Hotel

Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Price Range: $240 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The College Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Hanoi, Vietnam
4 months ago
4 months ago
eugene
over a year ago
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The College Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As it is a boutique hotel all the rooms are different. Choose a high floor for a marginally better view.”
DavidGrahamS, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“dont go, it is a rip off avoid, avoid”
62MikeM, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go for the ones with high ceilings facing the courtyard”
AdventurerHamburg, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The second floor rooms are quite dark.”
924andrewc, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Corner room on first floor has view and lots of natural light. Very well presented with air conditioning, coffee machine and mini bar.”
mountainview2017, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 172* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 186
Hotels.comUSD 175
TripAdvisorUSD 172
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates