We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Alexander

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Alexander
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alexander
See the most recent reviews
Showing 273: English reviews
Malta
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Friendly staff, both before arrival and also during our stay. A very cosy hotel in the centre of Leidsplein. Very close to Lidl, Heineken Experience, Van Gogh, Diamond museum and much more !! A 5 mins taxi drive to Dam Square at a very reasonable price. Rooms were very clean, central heated ( both bedrooms and bathrooms). Recommend this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SabrinaV26
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Definitely SabrinaV26, your review has brought us a big smile! Thank you so much for your very warm words and beautiful picture of the backyard. Please, choose us again in your next trip to Amsterdam. We would love to have you back! Thank you from everyone of us! Best regards, Alexander Team

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We fell into the Alexander Hotel when we had to stay two additional days in Amsterdam due to a last minute change in plans resulting from a medical condition. And it turned out to be a European bank holiday, so everything was full, including our boutique hotel on the Singelgracht. We could not stay in the hotel beyond mid day....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

We might say that we are glad to be part of that chaos Roger H! After all you went through those days, finally you've found us! And you make us grateful with your words as it seems you had the chance to enjoy it! How wonderful would be if you choose us the next time you can to Amsterdam! Many,...

North Houston, Texas
Reviewed 12 May 2015

We had stayed at this hotel about five years ago and were very pleased so that when we planned our stayin Amsterdam this time we didn't hesitate to book at the Alexander again. We were sorrily disappointed. The rooms were shabby looking, the towels were dingy and flimsy and the carpets were worn. On. Good note, the staff was pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary12paula
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Well Mary12paula, we are so sorry you have been disappointed this time about the Hotel looking. We are always improving on every little detail to make it nicer. But, our aim here is specially to care much about our guests and make their stay as pleasant as they were home. We really hope you come back in the future and...

Podzamcze, Poland
Reviewed 2 May 2015 via mobile

Alexander Hotel is located near the city center, the staff is very kind and helpful, the breakfast buffet is decent, the rooms are comfortable and the price is reasonable. If you want to stay in medium - class nice hotel, this one is for you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janek M
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recommendation Janek M. We are grateful you liked your stay and that you have found us decent! Hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Alexander Team.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 29 April 2015

A slight foul up at check in which was resolved by very helpful staff. The rooms allocated were tiny (rooms 31 and 35) and all were inclined so much so you have the impression of drunkenness!!!!! Staff are very cheerful and efficient and handled other employees slight tardiness by arriving late for duty very well. Location is no doubt the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColinS1951
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay ColinS1951, despite the 'impression of drunkenness'! The rooms located in the attic has this structure due to the narrowness of the roof. Thank you very much for your complete review and for taking the time to write us! We really hope to accommodate you again in the future if you come back...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2015

me and my friend stayed at Alexander Hotel from 8.4.15 till 15.4.15. we booked 2 single rooms. we knew they would be small, so we weren't disappointed.( my friend got a small double room, slightly bigger than the single ). both rooms(no 8 and no 24) were comfortable, clean, very good shower. stuff was friendly&helpful. breakfast was very nice, better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yona914
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Please, don't doubt Yona914! If you come back to Amsterdam, stay with us! Thank you for your review, thank you for the information you have pointed and thanks for choosing us! Best regards, Alexander Team.

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 28 April 2015

I spent 5 nights in this hotel during April. I stayed in a triple room, which was very spacious, and had a big bathroom as well. The room was cleaned every day, our towels were changed every day while our sheets once during our stay. Hotel is located in a very safe neighborhood, close to Leidsplane square ( 5 min...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank XRISTINA77
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

A very completed review XRISTINA77, thank you very much for that! Future guests would get a very good idea about us, location and the triple room you were in! It is great that you have enjoyed your stay and we really hope to welcome you again soon! Best regards, Alexander Team.

Metro Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

Great location, warm reception from staff (Jay & Michelle) and hearty breakfast! I always have a wonderful time in this vibrant city! And every time I return, home is The Hotel Alexander. It is good to get a room that opens up to a terrace to smoke a cigar or a cigarette.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria Theresa V
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

You really went into our hearts Mtvistan! If you can call us home, there is no more to say here. Many, many thanks from the whole crew!! We wish to see you again soon. You are always welcome to come back home! ;) Best regards, Alexander Team

Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

We visited last February for a 10 day stay. I can assure you that we were very happy with our room as they where clean and spacious. The hotel is located roughly about a 7 minute walk from Dam Square, which was very convenient. Reception was very nice and welcoming. I will definitely be visiting again and also will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zack Z
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

We cannot be more grateful with your words Zack Z. We are very happy to read that your stay was such a good one! We really hope to see you sometime in the future! Thanks from the crew! Best regards, Alexander Team.

Reviewed 26 April 2015

Me and my brother stayed at the hotel last week from April 16-20, we had a wonderful time at the hotel, the staff is really great, friendly and helpful. the price is very good value for money, the hotel is clean, the room was good and pretty good size for Amsterdam, very nice, and location LOCATION location! Jay and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leeya K
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

We are just amazed with your review Leeya K. Thank you!!!!! Nothing left to say. Thank you from all the crew, for your nice words to us and we hope to see you soon in the future! Best regards, Alexander Team.

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#106 of 364 in Amsterdam
830 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#119 of 364 in Amsterdam
649 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#133 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#155 of 364 in Amsterdam
917 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,259 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 364 in Amsterdam
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Price Range: $163 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Alexander staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Alexander staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front rooms are a little bit noisy”
vals574, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the street but there is a fan in the room we turned on and never heard a thing.”
inthevalley, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Quad room has a small fridge and accessible by lift.”
861warrenm, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back of the hotel look over a quiet courtyard.”
O1486OXkevinb, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms located below the lobby were quiet and had a view of the garden. Always had access to wifi from our room”
ralph191, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5