We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 126: English reviews
Bremen, Germany
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I stayed two nights at the shelter jordan. It is a nice hostel, good breakfast, good location. Bathrooms could be a bit cleaner and it is not a party hostel, so it is quiete during the night. Unfortunately at least the room I was staying in was heavily infested by bed bugs and I, as well as other girls in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julsib
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Julie, We just chat via Facebook and I hope we did you right in solving this. Good to know that pest control sprayed the room to get rid of the little annoying animals. Greets

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 10 September 2016

My girlfriend woke up after our first night there with tiny bites but didn't think anything of it. During our second night, she found a bunch of tiny bugs in and around her bed and realized they were bed bugs. I then discovered my bed had them as well, and we both left with bites - she was eaten alive!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank esallenbach
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel, responded to this review

We are so sorry about the bed bugs! We take them very seriously and apply special solutions on regular basis.

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Loved this hostel! I cannot begin to explain how comfy the beds/bed linens were! Great facilities, staff were helpful & the premises was very secure (comforting for me as a solo female traveller). Quite easy to navigate the city from this location. Really enjoyed the free breakfasts and cheap staff-prepared dinners in the evening. If you choose to participate, staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniela O
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I was staying at Shelter Jordan last weekend, Aug 26-29 (Friday-Monday) I slept in a room called Zuidas on 1st floor. On sunday, I started getting a rash all over my arm but I didn't think it was anything bad. But it got worse and worse last week. I went to see the doctor last Friday (Sept 2nd) and she...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julia K
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We wanted to stay for three nights at the Shelter Jordan Hostel. At the second night we recognized bedbugs. Because of that we had to check out earlier. Because bedbugs spread very easily and quickly we had to wash all our things and had to leave some stuff at the Hostel. Besides bedbugs the rooms are very small and its...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fruitmix
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are, indeed, very sorry for the situation with the bed bugs. We always react to the reports about the BB and we do our best to clean room from the insects. Our apologies for the situation. If, however, you will want to book a room in our hostel in the future, we will be...

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

A really nice welcoming safe hostel. The volunteers are really helpful and everyone I met at the hostel was really nice. It is not a party hostel but is perfect if you are wanting to go to Amsterdam to check out the culture and museums! The location was really good, right near Anne frank house and you can hire bikes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

This hostel was great until my sister and I got bed bugs. When we told the staff they laughed at us. They said this was the second time it's happened - they said in June half the female dorms had bed bugs. They didn't offer us a refund, or change of beds, or any help at all on dealing with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jenna B
ShelterCity, General Manager at Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jenna, Our apologies for the situation. We take the reports about the bed bugs very seriously and carefully monitor the situation, applying all necessary means when needed. If, in the future, you will be willing to stay at the hostel, we will be glad to offer you a special discount.

Reviewed 26 July 2016

This is, as advertised, a Christian hostel. However, don't let that deter you. Everyone was very nice and welcoming, and the atmosphere was very social. They do have an alcohol and drug-free policy. I stayed in an 18 bed female dorm, which was a little hectic. But the room was very large, and the bathroom was very accommodating for 18...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 6 July 2016

This is an enjoyable place to stay in Amsterdam, particularly if you, like me, are on a budget but don't want to stay in a party hostel. It was peaceful, clean, and super affordable, and I didn't have to worry about some drunk person throwing up in the room! The rooms are basic but comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewed 11 June 2016

It is a Christian hostel, so don't expect many interesting happening there. Apart from that they even close their common areas and doesn't have mixed rooms. The beds are ok, but not the best one ever. The best parti s their staff that is very gentle and kind.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank itamelgaco

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Jordaan
International Budget Hostel
International Budget Hostel
#139 of 224 in Amsterdam
192 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#40 of 224 in Amsterdam
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dutchies Hostel
#48 of 224 in Amsterdam
57 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#9 of 224 in Amsterdam
760 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#174 of 224 in Amsterdam
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Jordaan

Neighbourhood Profile
Jordaan
One of Amsterdam’s most preferred outdoor markets and some of the city’s favorite watering holes are but two of the many reasons to save ample time for a stroll through this especially convivial warren of narrow streets with its unfair share of quirky shops and quality galleries. Historically a haven for the working class and emigrants, these days the Jordaan is better known as an enclave for artists and designers. As popular as the Jordaan is as a destination for locals and out-of-towners alike, the area never feels particularly touristy or overrun with outsiders. A highlight even for long-time Jordaan residents, be sure to accept any invitation to step within one of the area’s beloved courtyards or to have a sneak peek inside one of its many working studios.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shelter Jordan - Popular for its warm and welcoming atmosphere - An amazing location for a great price! Shelter Jordan is in the heart of Amsterdam, close to Anne Frank House, Dam Square, Royal palace and the Museum District. A direct bus to Schiphol Airport is just around the corner. The Jordan area is full of charming streets, picturesque canals and fascinating hidden courtyards. Experience real Amsterdam in the lively street markets, "brown" cafés and the tulip and cheese museums. This area is famous for hip and trendy boutiques as well as endless restaurants and cafés. With less than 100 beds the hostel is smaller than many in Amsterdam, creating an atmosphere where it's easy to feel at home and make friends The courtyard garden is a great place to hang out when the sun's shining and you can buy drinks, snacks and meals in the café. We cook a home-made dinner each evening for our staff and you are very welcome to join us. You'll also find games to play, books to read, tables where you can write your journal, a chill-out area with comfy sofas where you can relax and chat to other guests and free WiFi access to keep in touch with home. FREE: Breakfast, WiFi, Lockers, Maps, Sheets and Showers. No hidden extras - all taxes are included in the low prices. Female only floor. Choice of rooms with 4-18 beds and shared bathrooms. The large dormitories have dividing walls between the beds. Free lockers are available - bring your own padlock or buy one at reception. 24 hour reception with tourist information and discount tickets for canal cruises, bike hire and museums. Good security, free luggage storage, no curfew, no drugs and no alcohol. Run by Christian volunteers from all around the world. This not-for-profit hostel will give you a good night's sleep in a clean and friendly atmosphere. A favourite Amsterdam hostel since 1971 with many guests coming back year after year. Come with your friends or make new ones. Experience Christian hospitality during your Amsterdam adventure! Come and discover why Let's Go guide book described Shelter Jordan as "one of the very best". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel

Address: Bloemstraat 179, 1016 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Price Range: $32 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelter Jordan Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one that has been fumigated for bed bugs”
 of 5 bubbles ssamoore, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't book the 18 bed dorm!!”
 of 5 bubbles PlainLauraJane, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“something other than the 8 bed dorm maybe?”
 of 5 bubbles barty1013, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“ask if you will have your own bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles DiegoS343, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Near the window because you can see the roofs of other houses”
 of 5 bubbles MattR476, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5