We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel De Koopermoolen

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 312: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel De Koopermoolen
 Click to rate
Amsterdam
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visit Amsterdam at least twice a year,and have stayed in MANY hotels.Unfortunately the Koopermoolen isn't high up on the return list. First,though,it does what it should do,there's a decent comfortable bed,there's a decent continental breakfast. So.Bed and Breakfast as promised. Wifi.There's even a working lift! However.the room we were in (2142)had only one window to the outside world,and that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed here on more than 1 occasions,in the rooms and in the apartment they offer. Always never had a problem with this place. The staff was great,location was ideal and you get to smoke in the room,private showers and a tv in the room. The continental breakfast was good. Can't really complain for the price. Will always recommend if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SAI_KHIN
Laura R, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Koopermoolen, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It is lovely to hear that you had a good time. However we would like to clarify for future guests that we allow normal tobacco only to be smoked. We do not allow cannabis to be smoked in the rooms as this has a very pungent smell and can be unpleasant for our other...

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very tired hotel and in need of some TLC but the staff were very friendly and you were allowed to smoke in the rooms, ideal for smokers on a budget. Good location also, few hundred meters from central station. Free wifi, 24hr reception and continental breakfast was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Purpleobi
Laura R, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Koopermoolen, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to hear that you had a good time. However we would like to clarify for future guests that we allow normal tobacco only to be smoked. We do not allow cannabis to be smoked in the rooms as this has a very pungent smell and can be unpleasant for our other guests....

Slough
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a fantastic stay which served my purpose.Very warm welcome and a quick check in process, gave us tips and advice of the good spots to visit in Amsterdam. Room was basic but very clean and provided fresh towels daily. We needed a place to shower and nap so this hotel was perfect for us. Offers free wifi and breakfast,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leannexx21
Argentina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Besides of the low quality of the room, low light, high street noise y old room style, is a great place to stay if yo like to wake up in the middle of the night hearing noise and seeing a mouse running over you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PabloC_1974
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Not great! Smell was really bad. The window was a death trap. Pillows like bricks. Very central has a great location however I would not stay here again and I am not a fussy person can make do with the worst of hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra L
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Perhaps the worst hotel I have stayed in EVER and pleased it was only for one night, had it been longer I would have gladly given up and moved on. Paying up front should have been a warning sign but the chap behind the counter was friendly and helpful, even allowing us to leave our luggage there before checking in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Just home from here, the hotel it's self is old but nice, was in a great location but it is very noisy, our room was above the front door, which was slammed all day and all night, room was comfortable enough, breakfast was basic but nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Adequately basic and the staff are a little un helpful but was probably due to the language barrier. Was glad the heating was on most of the time with it being so cold. Did see a mouse in our top floor room a few times as well, running going through our clothes etc. I am aware that Amsterdam has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophie0805
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Great location and prices if booked early. Friendly staff. Rooms are small but it is the Dam! I stayed twice before. This time was great too apart from the tv in room 2144! Could not see it since the shelf was so high! (High probably being the wrong word considering) but you get the drift. Spend all the time exploring...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Conall Ó

240 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (143)
Viewed
Double Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Single Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)
Viewed
Triple Room (27)
Viewed
Twin Room (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#280 of 361 in Amsterdam
122 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#189 of 361 in Amsterdam
580 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#228 of 361 in Amsterdam
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#62 of 361 in Amsterdam
968 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#177 of 361 in Amsterdam
253 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#299 of 361 in Amsterdam
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighbourhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Hotel De Koopermoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: $132 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel De Koopermoolen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel De Koopermoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Koopermoolen Hotel
De Koopermoolen Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel De Koopermoolen staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
new jersey

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel De Koopermoolen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“close enough to the red light district, without being in it. down one of the restaurant streets. No real view.”
 of 5 bubbles Leannexx21, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“dirty toilet and clogged washstand.”
 of 5 bubbles EastKate, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms nice at the heart of amsterdam”
 of 5 bubbles bruffness, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the building are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles alexscott6767, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“better choose the rooms on the upper levels as the reception and the street can get really noisy”
 of 5 bubbles dannabelles, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5