We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kooyk Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kooyk Hotel
Kooyk Hotel
Panoramas (30)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kooyk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 360: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Thank you to Mary and her staff for a pleasant stay ....Mary was very helpful on arrival dropping off our bags made life so much easier for me for the day travelling with two young children.Rooms comfortable,beds cosy,breakfast very good,all staff members helpful with directions ,looking places up on their phone for me.Christian was very helpful lending me a travel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mary c
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We chose the Hotel Kooyk because of the price and location. The hotel is superbly placed for the attractions, right by the Leindseplein and close to the Museumplein. It's on the bus route 197 from Schiphol, and very close to the tram stop for Dam Square. It is also right next to a canal. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janrum
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed at the Kooyk at the beginning of July being honest I did not expect much given how cheap the rooms were but I was more than pleasantly surprised by my stay. The staff were extremely helpful and obliged with any requests we put to them without complaint. We arrived early in the morning and after dropping our bags...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Kooyk is a small family run hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. The Hotel has 1 star but to be honest it deserves more. We stayed here on a friends stag do and the two rooms were very spacious, clean and light. The family rooms (4 and 5 beds) had a shower but the toilet was down the hall. Everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jamesashleysmith
Louth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is our third time with the family at their hotel the refurbishments meant on suite shower this year. Such a lovely big room that was able to accommodate the five of us. Breakfast was super and set us up for the day. .The rooms were clean and anything we needed we only had to ask. The value was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meg J
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review

dear madam, thank you again for a great review. I am so glad you enjoyed this new family room. I hope to see you all back again , and we are very very sorry for your loss, with kind regards MARY Moonen Owner

Reviewed 3 June 2013

First time We had ever stayed in a 1 star hotel, and it was certainly no where near as bad as expected. Rooms were clean and shared bathroom was spotless. You get what you pay for and we were more than happy with the value for money and central location. Caution on steep stairs, but it adds to the quirkiness...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CelticTony87
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review. I am glad youre stay was of satisfaction. Please note, my property from july 2013 will become two star, and we will have a number of ensuite rooms to offer. I do hope to see you back again. kind regards MF Moonen

London-Havana
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The hotel was covered with scaffolding so we could not even find it. The room was meant to be a 'superior room with private bathroom', and it is seen in the photos provided by the hotel just like that. However, arriving there showed a very different reality: it was a dismal room, with scaffolding views and a toilet and shower...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maria C
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review

dear sir madam, thank you for your review. I think you may need to re read the room discription that you booked, Clearly stating, a room newly renovated, with a private bathroom beside the room NOT INSIDE AS STATED ON THE PAPERWORK. I fail to see your point,? newly renovated, with perfectly warm shower built in modern wc and v...

Amsterdam
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Werner S
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review

Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Me & my partner just came back today after spending 3nights here it costs €15 in taxi from central station or €2.80 on tram, we arrived at hotel at 10am but was not due to check in til 2pm but we was kindly allowed to leave our bags free of charge at reception, we was first given a room next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Priyaj85
Amsterdam
Reviewed 28 May 2013

stairs very steep, narrow, and small. bed covers and towels had cig. holes and stain. mini restroom and shower. electric wires exposed on headboard lamp. Room windows very unsecured. Not safe overall.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mo A
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review. I read your review and need to ask: why if your bed was not to your satisfaction would you not come and see any of my staff? there is 24 hours a day someone here on the reception. The wires you spoke about ?? I cannot seem to find them, there is a flex which...

308 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (156)
Viewed
Double Room Ensuite (29)
Viewed
Five Person Room with Canal View Shared Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Quadruple Room Shared Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Shared Bathroom Facilities (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)
Viewed
Twin Room with Canal View Shared Bathroom (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#112 of 362 in Amsterdam
427 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#207 of 362 in Amsterdam
997 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#192 of 362 in Amsterdam
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 362 in Amsterdam
194 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#245 of 362 in Amsterdam
484 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#277 of 362 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a family run hotel in the centre of amsterdam.Typical canal house with spacious rooms, some ensuite and most are budget rooms with shared bathroom. The rate includes a dutch continental breakfast.We are located very near the van gogh museum and just walking distance from leidseplein.We have been 30 years established hotel owners.This building is a goverment historical listed building. From june 2013 we have eight new ensuite rooms with lovely new bathrooms, some are smaller than others and the price is adapted to the size of the room. We also offer low rates room only and our clients can buy breakfast if they wish.Our ground floor has been totally renovated as well as all our public bathrooms. We hope you will enjoy your stay at the kooyk hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kooyk Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: $96 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Kooyk Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Kooyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kooyk Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kooyk Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Depends what your seeking. I was a solo traveler and had a small double with en-suite in 14.”
 of 5 bubbles Caroline52013, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Excellent, managed very well and looked after.”
 of 5 bubbles 623edb, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 6, it didn't have the canal views like the rooms at the front but we only used the room as a place to sleep or get changed and ready between day and night activities. It would be my reccomendation.”
 of 5 bubbles EddiefromLeeds, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Disappointed and very bad value for the price”
 of 5 bubbles gaborg587, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a ground floor room if you struggle with steep stairs”
 of 5 bubbles byron1384, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5