We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Amsterdam Escape

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Amsterdam Escape
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Amsterdam Escape
See the most recent reviews
Showing 118: English reviews
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Me and my fiance stayed at the Hollywood apartment for 9 days and loved it!! The apartment is really spacious, and filled with all sorts of cool and funny stuff. The decor is really uniqe, and not what you get in a regular hotel etc. We spent a long time just looking at everything :) Loved the bathroom window, and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank fasttravellers
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My wife and I have rented several flats from Amst. Esc. in the past, including 3 at one time when we got married. The most recent, Holywood, was really bad. Our "innkeeper", Mo, was very responsive but there wasn't much he could do. The place was dirty and the pictures were not representative of it's current condition. When I tried... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Oxsomio
AmsterdamEscape, Manager at Amsterdam Escape, responded to this review

Hello there Sorry to hear Hollywood was not up to our usual Escape standards during your last stay. You were actually the last guest to stay there before we closed it for a refit, returning it to its former glory The problem was we had a leak from the apartment above , which caused quite a mess for us and... More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Five of us (2 couples and 1 more) rented the Coca Cola apartment for a week. The flat itself is full of character with LOTS of Coca Cola memorabilia to look at and play with. A typical dutch town house, the floors are a bit wonky and there are beautiful wooden beams on the ceilings. The view is lovely too,... More 

Helpful?
Thank nomi_1303
London, UK
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Just returned from a brilliant stay with Amsterdam Escape. We stayed in the Hideaway Apt which is in a great location and is a perfect alternative to a hotel. Apt Hideaway is very clean and tidy and has everything you could wish for - particularly for the smoker. The quirky decor and eclectic knick knacks scattered all over the apartment... More 

Helpful?
Thank GaryHLondon
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Some friends and I found Amsterdam Escape in 2005 and have been staying there ever since. I make 3 or 4 trips a year to Amsterdam and this is the perfect retreat. It's just outside of the RLD with little noise. I believe by now I've stayed in almost all of the apartments and never had a problem with any.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ams-ibz
Charleston, SC
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I stayed at the Home apartment, which is a beautiful canal house with two floors and plenty of space. For the value, I believe is is even better than renting a suite at a 4 or 5 star hotel. Mainly because of the great location (Nieuwmarkt), the multiple bedrooms and sleeping couch. Can't forget about the 2 toilets and separate... More 

Helpful?
Thank gage88
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Stayed in the 'Hideaway' mid-week. Quiet and clean and well equipped for two. More like being on a galleon than in an attic, the space has been used to its maximum potential to create a cosy, comfortable living area. Euro for Euro, this beats any hotel - it's a penthouse suite for the price of a standard twin!

Helpful?
Thank Amsterdamit
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

I stayed with Amsterdam Escapes (IN THE HOME APARTMENT) in May of 2007 during Queens Day with a buddy. Brenden and crew, you were the best back then and now in June 1st-4th, 2009 repeat peformance. Home is a very nice apartment and Hollywood as well. My girlfriend and I stayed at HOLLYWOOD this time around---just a few blocks down... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank willicarj
Birmingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

I popped over to Amsterdam midweek for a few days R&R with an old school chum, and had secured the Amsterdam Hideaway (aka Amsterdam Mad) apartment. Staying in Hideaway is a bit like staying in a mate's flat: An arty mate, who's a little bit bonkers. The apartment is compact, but comfy and well equipped - brightly decorated and clean:... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doctor_When
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Just got back from an amazing stay in the Hideaway apartment. Its a real home from home and so much better than staying in a bland hotel room. Arrived and were met immediately by Mo. He showed us straight to our room and was an absolute star. So friendly and helpful. The whole apartment was immaculate - and i have... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Scallycat

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
#252 of 362 in Amsterdam
43 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#225 of 362 in Amsterdam
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,311 reviews
Centrum
Artist House Apartments
Artist House Apartments
#24 of 221 in Amsterdam
113 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B
Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B
#86 of 221 in Amsterdam
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighbourhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amsterdam Escape offers a selection of vacation rental accommodation with a difference. Live like a real Amsterdammer with the keys to your own luxury apartment or canal house. Catering for large or not so large groups from 1 to 50 people. If your escaping for a romantic getaway we have some of the most romantic places to stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amsterdam Escape

Address: Geldersekade Nieuwmarkt, 1012 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: $142 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Escape Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amsterdam Escape staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Amsterdam Escape staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“hollywood room on the street”
 of 5 bubbles 33eddiea, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“One property backs onto Buddhist temple”
 of 5 bubbles howardl957, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Coke apartment is situated on the very top floor. so quite a few steep narrow steps. Bare this in mind”
  • I loved the quirky artwork (hollywood)
  • View whilst sat outside the apartment
 of 5 bubbles Leximus_prime1991, 12 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Have tried SNUG and now Hollywood and both were wonderful”
 of 5 bubbles kobthailan, 27 Dec 2013 | Read review
“Great canal view. Not suitable for small kids as the bedrooms are up a steep set of steps. Ideal for a group of friends. Great Location Different decor to normal places”
 of 5 bubbles kobthailan, 15 Oct 2012 | Read review
5 of 5