We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Flying Pig Downtown

Share
Traveller (253)
Room & Suite (79)
Dining (26)
Overview
Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam The Netherlands See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
2 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (1,382)
Filter reviews
882 results
Traveller rating
429
300
95
31
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
429
300
95
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smoking room bed dorm free breakfast free earplugs the red light district person room bar downstairs train station dam square beds were comfortable central location amsterdam centraal hostel lockers padlock bunk cereal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 882 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff very welcoming, easy check-in. Room nice, we shared with 2 others and had a private bathroom which was cleaned daily. Bar nice and warm and drinks not too expensive, they have a happy hour too. Located next to Vondelpark which is nice for a...More

Thank WilliamH1479
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It’s the ideal place for who is in their 20 and enjoy spending a wonderful time in Amsterdam. Staff is very friendly and also young. The hostel is amazing to make friends and enjoy a good stay, it has a smoking room that is open...More

Thank Vitor G
Response from FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig DowntownResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey there! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We are pleased that you had a good stay and appreciated our nightly events in the hostel :) Our showers should always be hot! We will take a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is rude and does not care about guest experience. I had to ask the front desk maybe 6 different times for a new card key. That means getting locked out of my own room and hostel at 3 AM in the cold. No...More

1  Thank alexandraabrol
Response from FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig DowntownResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience here, but we were shocked and sorry to hear that it was not what you had expected it to be. Your comments are extremely important to us as they help...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm currently here now for ADE... place is great for people looking to socialise- it attracts a lot of like-minded, friendly folk who are looking for a good time in Amsterdam. Good showers (a must if you're going to ADE!) nice staff and reasonable drinks...More

Thank Darryl R
Response from FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig DowntownResponded 3 weeks ago

Wooohooo! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay! We are over the moon to hear that you are loving your stay and appreciated our social atmosphere! Great that you also found us a cool spot to stay over ADE! We...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best hostel I've been too!! Friendly engaging staff, awesome bar with good selection of drinks at a reasonable price, clean rooms and facilities, good location, would stay there again on a return trip to A'dam.More

Thank Michael P
Response from FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig DowntownResponded 4 weeks ago

Yaaay thank you so much for an awesome review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the Piggy bar and the cheap drinks and all the facilities. Thank you for complimenting our staff- we are always happy to hear such kind words! Till next time! Happy...More

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Multilingual Staff
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
25
Price range
USD 37 - USD 158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam
Location
The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum / Dam Square
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
25
Price range
USD 37 - USD 158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam
Location
The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum / Dam Square
Photos
Traveller (253)
Room & Suite (79)
Dining (26)
Pool & Beach (1)
Amenities (37)
Family and Play Areas (8)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of
tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists
and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the
best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe.
Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops
of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones
Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods
such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 382 nearby hotels
Dam Hotel
197 reviews
.08 km away
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
1,122 reviews
.08 km away
Orange Tulip Hotel
276 reviews
.09 km away
Van Gelder Hotel
142 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 4,593 nearby restaurants
Burger Bar Kolksteeg
1,492 reviews
.08 km away
Yu Family Kitchen
348 reviews
.09 km away
Prix d’Ami
394 reviews
.08 km away
Pasta Bar
527 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 2,055 nearby attractions
Sexmuseum Amsterdam Venustempel
3,773 reviews
.08 km away
Vodka Museum Amsterdam
28 reviews
.08 km away
Museum of Medieval Torture Instruments
361 reviews
.10 km away
De vermoeide Reiziger
6 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Curiosity18687211024
16 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Sabbs12 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there is one for each bunk
0
Votes
Trail68060928880
6 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from FlyingPigDT | Property representative |
Hey! Thanks for your question and interest in coming to stay! Indeed, we are a 2 minute walk from the Central Station! Amsterdam is relatively small so you can walk to the other end in about 30 minutes. We are at the top of... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Don't Stay Here, Period!"
alexandraabrol
3 weeks ago
Read review
"Treat yourself to a Private Room, having the extra space and private bathroom is worth it!"
PMaria219
16 Apr. 2018
Read review
"Try to get a room on the 1st floor"
uriyaba
13 Mar. 2018
Read review
"Large range of options from girls only rooms, 4 person to a room up to 32 in a room, even options of queen..."
beekay16
29 Dec. 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing