We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bulldog Hotel

Hostelworld.comUSD 82*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 82*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Bulldog Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

994 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 652: English reviews
Start your review of The Bulldog Hotel
 Click to rate
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hostel is really good for young people travelling on a budget. The beds are a little small but the rooms are clean and you get exactly what you pay for. Situated in a really good location it's easily walkable to many areas in Amsterdam. I would definitely recommend this and would probably stay here again if ever in Amsterdam...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived at the bulldog and it was National Weed Day, from the moment we arrived we felt like family. The staff were so accommodating and friendly.We were a party of 23 older and younger ladies on a hen weekend so as you can imagine it was a bit noisy at times, At no time did we feel unwanted. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison W
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in a triple room as part of a group with the rest in one of the dorms. The bets part of this is the location; we were in walking distance (less than ten minutes) of everything we were planning to do. The rooms are pretty basic with beds, a desk and some wardrobe space. and if you are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lozzarose
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fantastic hotel, excellent location. Staff really helpful . Lovely continental breakfast. Bar brilliant, lovely music. We got a three day ticket at the airport, which you can also use on trams and buses, very easy to get around. The hotel was right in the centre of everything. People were lovely , never saw any trouble. Would go back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christina p
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

And we hope you do come back soon :) thanks for the kind words.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went here for a stag the location is fantastic right in the centre of the action. The coffee shop and restaurant is nice and chilled out. Rooms were big enough beds ok... only issue is the shower keeps changing from hot to cold without warning!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murphy415
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback and kind words. We are checking the water as i write this.

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at the Bulldog with a group of friends, and I was in a twin room on the 4th floor. Room was clean, beds comfy, towels in room if needed. Room was basic but that was all you needed. Continental breakfast every morning included in price. ALL the staff were really friendly and helpful, nothing was too much...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lynda S
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

That is very kind of you to post. thanks! We would love to have you back sometime :)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have stayed here over 10 times now,from private room to dorm room and recommend both and try the cheeseburgers downstairs Nicely located in the red light district and not too far from Central Station See you next time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antony I
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Really nice mate, cheers! Please send us an email when you've booked your next stay , we love to do something nice for our regulars!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Really nice place to visit and smoke, free wifi and really cheap food and drinks which is near central Amsterdam Would 100% come again and would recommend to fellow travelers especially due to the location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chess1989
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words :)

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

dirty room, shower was just a hole in the floor, staff was rude, wi-fi was slow/non-existant, we were given one 10gr soap for three people for 4 nights, and expensive. i have travelled a lot and this was by far the worst hole i have stayed in

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank slianos
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

If you read our reviews here you'll know we appreciate constructive criticism and some guests do point out areas that need improving and we use this information to try and make ourselves a better hostel for everyone. Vindictive,spiteful and untruthful comments, really dont serve any value to us or your fellow travelers. Im really not sure what we did to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights, and while it is slightly pricey, it was worth it for the experience of staying somewhere with such a reputation. Disappointingly, the staff in the bar were slightly rude, and the rooms were certainly not as clean as they could be, however, the location is excellent and the experience is great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beckycoughlan
BulldogFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There, In defence of our housekeeping, they clean everything, top to bottom everyday and I assure you that your room is cleaned properly. That being said, I am so sorry that the bar staff were a bit rude to you. but really, who has time for rudeness? you dont, we dont, so please feel free to tell us,we can...

606 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (271)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (325)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Dorm (55)
Viewed
Luxury Twin Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (45)
Viewed
Standard Quad Room (52)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,150 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 227 in Amsterdam
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighbourhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: $55 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bulldog Hotel staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from The Bulldog Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“front rooms are quite noisy.”
christinap854, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front overlooking the street/canal could get noisy late at night”
lyndas59, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“if you respect your holiday dont stay here”
slianos, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best to get the higher floors as it will be quieter and less of a smell of weed.”
Z7660TGcolinh, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The free wifi is on the main floor, but doesn't reach the upstairs rooms. Also don't bring any outside food in, its not allowed upstairs.”
digitala2017, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
USD 82* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates